Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This box set has all the BBC Up Pompeii episodes ever made, along with two other DVD's
The Frankie Howerd Collection, a rather vague title and not a thing written on the front of the box to spell out what it contains. For years I had been waiting for Up Pompeii to come out on DVD and it had been here all along.

The Box set has the pilot episode made for the comedy playhouse, both series one and two in full, and the one off episode 'Further up...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Naughty Boy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointing
Up Pompeii was ok, quite amusing but hasn't aged very well, as for the other two series we found them weak having flogged the Frankie Howerd formula to death and with, we thought, weak scripts.
Published 22 days ago by Jessica


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars frankie howard collection, 19 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
My wife and I are long time favorites of British Comedy and Frankie Howard is one of the best.He's a comedy great,that does no how to please his audience and enjoys talking to his captive audience with his more than adequate wit.He has a fine example of reading his audience and playing to them.Frankie Howard is perfect to acompany a British comedy FiX.
Cheers
Reg and Alina Smith,Surrey,British Columbia,Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointing, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Up Pompeii was ok, quite amusing but hasn't aged very well, as for the other two series we found them weak having flogged the Frankie Howerd formula to death and with, we thought, weak scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much material for so little money, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Hours of top notch fun, complete series of up pompei not just the movie,
Great value for your money,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Titter ye do", 27 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
What a great set for anyone who loves FH's comedy this is.

For the age of the material, the BBC have done an excellent job in this set, the quality is great, and it look brilliant even on todays bigger sets.

This is Frankie at his sublime best, with all the gags we know and love, and for those who want to know what all the fuss is about Frankies comedy, this is the set for them. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frankie howerd collection, 26 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i have been after the series of up pompei now for some time,i was pleased to find all the episodes in this dvd collection plus 'best of' and 'churchill said to me'.i watched the first 3 episodes of 'up pompei' straight away.i will be buying more of frankie howerd's dvd's.brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Frankie Howerd Collection DVD, 11 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Frankie Howerd Collection dvd set on this dvd set you have
up Pompeii .complete Seasons 1 & 2 .1969
Further up Pompeii 1975
Then Churchill Said to Me . complete Season.

and -- DVD
the 'Best of Frankie Howerd' which is available seperately; a worthwhile DVD with snippets of all Frankies best sketches and TV appearances over the years, .if your a Frankie Howerd .fan then this dvd set is for you .and at a very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fhumorous glimpse at ancient Rome through the eyes of a fool (a great comedian) who gets the laughter flowing., 19 Jan 2013
By 
ERROL GEAR (STOKE - NELSON - NEW ZEALAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A true Frankie Howerd laugh fest.
In all a very good collection of British humour looking at ancient Rome through the eyes of a good comedian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD. Great!!!, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I thought I was the only one too miss Up Pompeii. Bought the VHS version years ago but, no longer have this device to see programs. Frankie can go on and on about nothing and you NEVER stop laughing OR waiting for the punch line(s). Great program and it's good to have this part of his history preserved. A real keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooooohhh, 9 July 2011
By 
V. Kumaraswami "Venks" (Chennai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see Frankie in Up Pompeii again. I felt the film never really did justice to the TV series. Would be great if "Whoops Baghdad" could also be brought out on DVD soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prsent, 31 Dec 2013
By 
mrs e johnson (Ashby de la Zouch, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
the recipient seemed pleased with it but I cant say anything personal about it I just hope it was enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed8fb28)

This product

The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD]
The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] by David Croft (DVD - 2006)
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews