Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


136 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This box set has all the BBC Up Pompeii episodes ever made, along with two other DVD's
The Frankie Howerd Collection, a rather vague title and not a thing written on the front of the box to spell out what it contains. For years I had been waiting for Up Pompeii to come out on DVD and it had been here all along.

The Box set has the pilot episode made for the comedy playhouse, both series one and two in full, and the one off episode 'Further up...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Naughty Boy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointing
Up Pompeii was ok, quite amusing but hasn't aged very well, as for the other two series we found them weak having flogged the Frankie Howerd formula to death and with, we thought, weak scripts.
Published 8 months ago by Jessica


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This box set has all the BBC Up Pompeii episodes ever made, along with two other DVD's, 14 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Frankie Howerd Collection, a rather vague title and not a thing written on the front of the box to spell out what it contains. For years I had been waiting for Up Pompeii to come out on DVD and it had been here all along.

The Box set has the pilot episode made for the comedy playhouse, both series one and two in full, and the one off episode 'Further up Pompeii' which was made about a year later, not to be confused with the dissapointing 1991 Further up pompeii, which wasn't made by the BBC but ITV.

Along with The Complete BBC Collection of Up Pompeii, it has the 'Best of Frankie Howerd' which is available seperately; a worthwhile DVD with snippets of all Frankies best sketches and TV appearances over the years, and the last DVD is 'And Churchill Said to Me' another series Frankie did for BBC TV.

All in all this is a great collection of Frankies best stuff all in one Box set but lousy marketing by the BBC, they should have made it more apparent just what was in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the BBC 'Up Pompeii' episodes, not the film., 2 Mar 2013
By 
C. E. Taylor (Warwickshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
.
The Amazon description of this "Collection" is misleading.
It actually contains

Slipcase 1
The pilot 'Up Pompeii' for Comedy Playhouse
'Up Pompeii' the BBC series 1, Nos 1 - 7
'Up Pompeii' the BBC series 2 Nos 1 - 6
'Further Up Pompeii' a one off BBC episode
In all three discs, 452 minutes

Slipcase 2
'Then Churchill Said To Me' - 6 episodes
One disc, 158 minutes

Slipcase 3
'The Best of Frankie Howerd'
Compilation taken from various sources, including 'An Evening woth Frankie Howerd', interviews with Parkinson,Russel Harty and Wogan. Also clips from 'Up Pompeii' which are already on one of the other discs"
One disk, 65 minutes

Despite Amazons description above,it does NOT contain the full lenght feature film 'Up Pompeii'

Well worth the modest price of the Collection for the BBC "Up Pompeii" episodes - the rest please regard as a free bonus !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The frankie howerd collection, 20 Sep 2009
By 
R. Elias "Ron" (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I remembered watching the show 'Up Pompeii' when I was younger and how much I loved it. Hadn't seen it for years and it dd not appear to be available - however it makes up 3 of the 5 discs of this collection. So far I have not been disappointed. Frankie is awesome and watching it now I still laugh at the jokes and double entendres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still hilarious after all these years, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I had only ever seen clips of "Up Pompeii!" prior to getting the DVD. Judging it by the clips it seemed quite funny, but after watching the series, I realised the series was hilarious and is definitely up there with the likes of "Dad's Army" and "Blackadder". The collection also includes "Then Churchill Said to Me", which, while not as good as "Up Pompeii", it is still a really funny sitcom, with another excellent performance by Howard. I hope we might get "Whoops Baghdad" released on DVD someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long wait!, 7 July 2011
By 
M. G. Goodson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Magical! For a long time, the originals were only available on NSTC format (from CBS); the BBC having trashed their PAL originals in the 'Great Clear-Out'. It was only after the BBC had success with computer contolled conversion with a Dr Who series which was also only available on NSTC format that it was decided to convert all the N American tapes. That's why it has taken so long to appear. As a fifteen year old, how I used to look forward to Monday at 9.00pm, BBC2. Never was so much cleavage displayed by so many to so few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 14 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
"Up Pompeii!" is one of the best sitcoms ever made. It is undoubtably Frankie's masterpiece. It is also one of the best things Talbot Rothwell (Carry on films) ever wrote. What I think is amazing is that ALL the episodes are hilarious! If you like films like "Carry on up the Khyper" and "Carry on Cleo" then you will love this. Buy it and see the comic genius of Frankie Howerd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Oh, please yourselves!", 11 Nov 2013
By 
I. Vincent (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Frankie Howard single-handedly made 'Up Pompeii' the success it was. You knew what was coming; Nauseous always presented ode, Senna the sooth-sayer would spell out the plot and Lurcio (Howard) would never finish the prologue. Howard making fun of the plot at times (and the acting!) and his unique style of humour made it all very watchable.
More politically incorrect than it was when originally screened, some of the script will raise your eyebrows.
Probably only for people in their 50's as they will understand the humour (e.g. wonder if younger people will know what clinker is). The first series had Willie Rushton appear as a greek god of some sort which was disjointed and does not work for me but the 2nd series took this out and became the better for it.
A blast from the past but still a blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy, 1 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have been looking for "Up Pompeii" on DVD for years. It isn't available in Australia but found it at last on Amazon. It is excellent value and postage costs very reasonable, took 2 weeks to get here and well worth the wait. Now we're enjoying a good laugh, there's nothing like the older British comedy and comedians. Thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brit Humor At It's Best!, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Trapper60 "trapper60" (Pullman, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
There's something about the British sensibility regarding humor that really appeals to so many of us Yanks. Maybe it's the extremely tongue-in-cheek wickedness that seems to be lacking in most, if not all, our own comedic efforts on television. Not to say there hasn't been some successful efforts, but we here in The States rarely can compare to the sly wink-wink, nod-nod type of naughtiness that the Brits seems to get away with so wonderfully.

Likely, for us Americans, much of it has to do with that wicked naughtiness so often said in those classic United Kingdom accents, the James Mason type of upper crust, the classic Cockney or The Beatles Liverpool. Or perhaps all those Scots and Irish dialects we're all so familiar with. From greats like Alec Guinness, Peter Sellers, Sean Connery, Peter O'Toole or Tom Jones to the Python and Are You Being Served? gangs to the definitive Jeremy Brett Sherlock Holmes or Miss Marple ladies to The Last Of The Summer Wine, Mr. Bean/Thin Blue Line/Black Adder, Heartbeat or Little Britain, we Americans (and undoubtedly others across the globe) have been enthralled with the voices of the U.K. for decades, even centuries.

The list of great United Kingdom authors, musical performers, actors and comedians and their written, audio and visual efforts is endless and so much appreciated by so many outside the bounderies of the U.K.

Frankie Howerd's work is right up there with my vision of classic British humor at it's peak best. This collection is one I highly encourage my fellow Americans (and all others) for excellent classic British Isles humor. I've seen Mr. Howerd a few times in small roles in major films before, but never had the pleasure of watching Up Pompeii before. I was absolutely delighted and will be looking forward to buying the films from that line as well. I was also taken with Then Churchill Said To Me. The Brits seems to make war time of those WW1 & WW2 times so funny, pithy and surreally heartwarming. America, too, has a number of items that match the British comedic take on war time such as the M*A*S*H efforts (film and TV show) and Clint Eastwood's Kelly's Heroes, McHale's Navy or Jack Lemmon's The Wackiest Ship In The Navy, all great. But there truly is something about the classic Birtish stiff upper lip thing combined with rapier wit regarding war that really appeals. To me Frankie Howerd did the job in TCSTM perfectly.

I have yet to get to the last disc as after finishing up with TCSTM the other day I received in a 11 disc DVD collection of my own country's Our Gang/Little Rascals shorts and have been catching up on these which I've not seen since my childhood in the early '60s. If you U.K. folks have never seen those I would urge you to pony up and buy a collection. Great stuff!

In the meantime, I will be ordering up the further Up series adventures done in major cinematic form, as well as collecting his other filmed works including his first, The Runaway Bus.

Frankie Howerd was one of Britain's comedic greats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Howerd, 11 April 2014
By 
Dennis L. Williams (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember watching Frankie Howerd in the early to mid 1970s (yes, I am old). He was a wonderful, late night treat on the PBS/BBC in America. I still enjoy his performances today. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD]
The Frankie Howerd Collection [DVD] by David Croft (DVD - 2006)
£14.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews