Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLAST FROM THE PAST
Here is another bargain from amazon. The likely lads , the first two dvd's, is the old black and white episodes . Although a little tame, they break you in gently, for the later series. Series 1,what ever happened to the likely lads (now in colour) is much more refined and the comedy much more in your face, but still good for all ages. Series 2 and now we are talking...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by M. Brierley

versus
126 of 148 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Nowhere Near Good Enough
Well this is a dubious release, it's nice to have but it could have been a whole lot better. The BBC missed off the episode THE OTHER SIDE OF THE FENCE on the 1960's original series single release and I, having bought that disc was extremely angry at being forced to shell out extra money to effectively buy just one episode, an episode that should have been on the original...
Published on 26 Jan 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BLAST FROM THE PAST, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Here is another bargain from amazon. The likely lads , the first two dvd's, is the old black and white episodes . Although a little tame, they break you in gently, for the later series. Series 1,what ever happened to the likely lads (now in colour) is much more refined and the comedy much more in your face, but still good for all ages. Series 2 and now we are talking comedy! line after line of classics, and still everybody can watch - the whole family will enjoy them. Keep them comming amazon - yet another from the bbc comedy archives! Couple this with a great delivery service from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Happened to Sitcoms like this ???, 19 April 2007
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
They don't write 'em anymore unfortunately. Possibly the best conceived, scripted, cast and acted sitcom ever. The situation is so simple, so true, so honest and so funny. The "Whatever" series (most of the collection) features the reunion of 2 north eastern working class pals, who meet by chance on a train. 5 years previously the best mates decided to join the army but Bob was rejected due to his flat feet and Terry had to serve his nation alone and bears a grudge, a mysterious wound on his hip that he "doesn't like to talk about" and a tattoo on his buttock (apparently). Meanwhile the 60's have become the 70's, Bob has got a good job and a middle class fiance, become a member of the squash club and gets his hair styled, while Terry is a bit of a dinosaur, jobless and finds it hard to adjust. The comedy ingredients in the 2 series that follow are the tensions between Bob, Terry and Thelma (Bob's fiancee) in a classic love triangle, with Terry tempting Bob with their former laddish bachelor lifestyle and Thelma trying to "civilise" him - Bob is like a ping pong ball in the power struggle. Yes, Men Behaving Badly may be a more modern version but it lacks the timing, depth, subtlety and power to move that characterises the Likely Lads. Like The Royle Family but more universal in scope, more profound in its themes. Why is this great comedy? The script and the acting - fantastic, Bewes and Bolam are a dream team, they ARE Bob and Terry and we share every one of their ups and downs. Their expressions, mannerisms are so natural, the lines so perfectly delivered, the action so uncontrived, the social comedy is so refreshingly non-PC, the comic timing amazing, the storylines so well crafted. In all important respects this has not dated at all, the themes are still as relevant today - I mean there is still a battle of the sexes; we all cling fondly to our past memories and resist change. Bob and Terry were grumpy young men ahead of their time and there is a piece of them in all of us. So whether this is a nostalgia trip or you're too young to remember the series first time round, this is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1970s BBC comedy series that 40 years later is still extremely funny and applicable to present day societal issues, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Having grown up in America, I had never seen The Likely Lads until buying this DVD box set a couple months ago on the recommendation of my English husband. He wanted to revisit a television series he remembered from his elementary school days (specifically the later series that aired in the 70s) and I wanted to see what the fuss was all about. I absolutely love this collection, particularly the later shows in colour. It's amazing how relevant the financial, personal, political and societal issues, that are covered in this series, are to today's same problems/issues in Britain! (I've lived in Britain since university). Even though the show primarily revolves around these two close friends and their conversations...it's never boring. I like the contrast between the two and the comedic tension it causes in their relationship(s). They both represent varying aspects and opinions of British society: one aspires to middle class life and all it's trappings while the other firmly holds onto his working class ideals and "old" Labour Party sentiments.....and they take the "mick" out of each for it and it's hilarious...self effacing English wit and humour at its best! I had never heard of these actors before...they're fantastic! I've watched the DVDs twice already! This particular set has all the series. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Gem, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This a fantastic bargain. Arguably the best written TV Comedy series ever...bar none. I guess that many of you will be shouting Fawlty Towers at the screen now (or Dads Army, or The Office or Blackadder or countless others) Yes I agree they are all brilliant and probably funnier if I'm honest. But I am specifically thinking about the dialogue. Bob and Terry's conversations are so cleverly structured, so full of character, so funny. Every line is crafted superbly. Example: 'It's never not busy in here, it's never not busy' Isn't that more interesting than the normal expression, 'It's always busy in here'. That fine attention to detail is applied throughout every episode. You are not necessarily aware of this but it lends a measure of authenticity to the whole proceedings.
A 6 disc set for such a low price makes this a must for every comedy lovers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy - Northern style, 25 Oct 2008
By 
The Reviewer (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I think the word classic is mis-used most of the time. For anything to be classic, there needs to have been a passage of time, so that it can be compared in a different context with other comedies of the time or more modern offerings

A lot of comedies have long been forgotten about, this though is a different matter. Bob and Terry are two working northeners. Bob is a lot more straitlaced than Terry, becoming white collar, suburban middle class in the follow up "Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads?"

What works well for this show is the difference in character been Bob and Terry, kind of like an early Men Behaving Badly. There are three dvds in the package with two discs for each. The first dvd contains the original Likely Lads series, or what is left of it. There were 30 episodes made but only eight survive. This is due to the BBC wiping a lot of programmes back in the 60s and 70s. Similar fate bestowed Dad's Army, although thankfully for that series all that is missing is three episodes from series 2 and with Steptoe and Son as well, certain colour episodes have been lost, only leaving black and white versions

The follow up Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads? ran for two series and 26 episodes and one Christmas special in total. This is superior to the original series, but as I said with so many original episodes missing, it does make it slightly harder to compare. Controversially, this set contains an extra episode from the original series entitled "The Other Side Of The Fence". This was not in the first release for some reason. Hancock also suffered the same fate with an episode only available in the boxset, and annoyingly the discs for that aren't in individual cases, unlike this which is a nice touch

I have mentioned these other comedies as they can also be rightly regarded as classics and should be in anyone's collection

Buy this and then seek out other comedy from the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Likely Lads Collection, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyable series as funny today as it was thirty years ago and without any of the foul language that belittles the comedy of today. I found the earlier black and white series a bit dated but to anyone who has never seen any of the follow up series of "Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads", the earlier shows will give an idea of where it all began. The series includes actors who in a few cases have become well known in their own right and some who were always good character actors but who are no longer with us. Interesting too are the styles of clothing worn through the sixties and seventies. For the price, a first class piece of entertainment which will last through several days as I don't imagine anyone would watch it all in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a review - a critique..., 4 Sep 2012
By 
Alex (no relation) (MAIDSTONE, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I'm a big fan, possibly an addict, but I'm gonna try to be a bit more objective than some of the reviews here (the only review of less than 4 stars so far is complaining that there's not MORE).
TLL Series 1-3: Studio-bound, somewhat grainy (as might be expected), and the occasional fluffed or mistimed lines indicate a lack of rehearsal time. More importantly, Clement & La Frenais seem to be learning their trade. Gags and good lines are much scarcer than in WHTTLL, and much of the humour is as sexist / nudge nudge as the standard 1960s fare. Possibly the writing gets better through the 3 series, but with only one (quite poor) example from Series 2, and two shows from Series 3, it's difficult to tell. Worth watching, if only to see the root from which the mighty oak of WHTTLL sprang, to spot names like George Leyton & Wendy Richard, and to take pleasure in the continuity: Thelma mentioned in a couple of episodes (she appears in one of the missing ones), and the same actresses playing the parts of Terry's sister (the exceptional Sheila Fern) and mum.
WHTTLL Series 1: For me, the highlight of the box set. The twin plotlines of Terry's isolation and Bob's impending wedding give it a strong frame from which the writers hang plenty of setups and one-liners. Brigit Forsyth as Thelma - often strong, sometimes as perplexed as the Lads - adds a balancing presence. Where episodes (e.g. No Hiding Place) stray from the plots (and Thelma), they lose something. What I really love is the continuity: names and events from early episodes (and even TLL - e.g. Cloughie and Maurice Hardacre) appear in later ones as a matter of course. Not only does this show great attention to detail by La Frenais & Clement, it is also the essence of Bob and Terry - shared experience and memories.
WHTTLL Series 2: Starts off fine, with two episodes involving Thelma's sister, Susan; picks up again towards the end with a four parter when Thelma goes back to her mother, and ends with the excellent, if slightly gloomy, "Shape of Things to Come". In between, a little disappointing, but still very good by the (high) standards of the day. Stopping here showed good judgement.
Xmas Special: Better than most examples, especially for 1974. A fitting epitaph, except for the fact of...
Film (not included, for which most will be grateful). Typical of the genre, where a bigger budget spent on outside locations does not excuse a 30-minute episode stretched out to 90 minutes. Some good lines, most memorably Thelma's gag while playing cards.
n.b. I possess most of WHTTLL on (home recorded) VHS (with nothing to play it on), most of the radio series and (hell's teeth) even the paperback. The latter 2 continue to give pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Likely Lads, 12 July 2011
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Old black and white BBC video comedy program, probably one of their Great hits. I remember that I was about the same age as the likely Lads but those things didn't happen to me or my friends. Although we all wished that they would. What memories.

Good innocent fun...loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nostalgia, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This box set comprises the eight surviving episodes of the 1960's sitcom "The Likely Lads"; the 13 episodes of Series One of "Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads" from 1973; the 13 episodes of Series Two of "Whatever Happened to ..." from 1974; and the 1974 Christmas special.

I don't agree with another reviewer that it is the best written comedy ever. The 1960's series is very much of its time and of interest mainly for reasons of nostalgia. Series One of "Whatever Happened to ... " is patchy with some very good episodes and some very dull ones. Only in Series Two does it achieve greatness. The writing is much sharper and the stronger role given to Thelma adds much needed a frisson. The 1974 Series Two is pure gold, and the 1974 Christmas Special is probably the best episode of the lot. Indeed, if you do remember anything at all of the Likely Lads it is probably from that episode.

So if it's only comedy you are after, just get Series Two, with the Christmas special - all the best laughs are there. If you are here for nostalgia - of the north east, or the 1970s - you'll need this box set. (The Likely Lads film is good too by the way !).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless british comedy., 24 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
what a brilliant show this was and how these two enscapulated the times.
i enjoyed every episode and at less than 30p an episode its unbeatable value.
in more than 17 hours of dialogue not one swear word just great use of the english language.
it takes great quality to be still funny several decades after the event, but the likely lads are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Likely Lads Collection (6 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD]
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews