Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly simple
A digital watch brilliant in its simplicity. It has been a faithful and dependable companion to a wide range of outdoor activities. A simple, user-friendly, rugged and dependable time-keeping machine, a no-nosense digital watch free of unecessary gimmickry. The original DW-5600 G-shock remains the best of the Casio G-shock line after all those years.
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by Anastasios Papatsoris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Casio DW-5600E-1
A tantalizingly attractive watch. Unfortunately one important feature was useless: I couldn't hear the alarm even when the watch was help a couple of feet in front of my face. So I had to return it.
Published 2 months ago by P. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly simple, 29 Mar 2012
By 
Anastasios Papatsoris (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
A digital watch brilliant in its simplicity. It has been a faithful and dependable companion to a wide range of outdoor activities. A simple, user-friendly, rugged and dependable time-keeping machine, a no-nosense digital watch free of unecessary gimmickry. The original DW-5600 G-shock remains the best of the Casio G-shock line after all those years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, simple and very robust., 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
Well, I have been using Casio G-Shocks for quite a lot of years. I replaced the first one (another DW-5600) because the strap was destroyed and, at that time, replacing it was almost as expensive as a buying a new watch. Moreover, the battery was almost empty and I also had to replace the seal. Considering this, I decided to buy a new fancy GW810D-1V G-Shock that was much more expensive and had many additional functions (it was solar, had Wave Ceptor, etc.,). That clock was OK but, by far, no as good as the first one. At some point, the buttons (made of plastic) started to fail and show deep marks caused by my nails (I use the timer many times a day). On the other hand, the clock used to reset itself every time that a synchronization was attempted (basically, every night). So, after that relative "bad" experience (I say relative because the guy lasted more than five years), I decided to go back to the "original" model, this one. Overall this is a really robust watch that features nothing fancy but all the essential functions that 99% of the people need: chronograph, timer, time zone and alarm, and that is it. I expect it to be as sturdy as the first one, that lasted more than ten years. The only complain I have is that Casio removed the option of having two time zones at the same time in the watch. This function was present in the previous model and is the only thing that makes me give it four stars and not five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic G-shock, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
Good basic G-shock , thinner than most so won't stand out as much + will fit better under shirt sleeve.

Basic features - alarm stopwatch and timer - basicly all you need without extra trinkets.

Good value in Amazon sale at 25
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Functional Watch, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
The watch is suitable for use while gardening, building work etc .It is clean and accurate and not to large.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love my new G - Shock, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
High quality and durable, very accurate and practical. Had my G - Shock for a while now and am 100% satisfied with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch, quiet alarm., 8 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew Parkin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
Good solid digital watch, with some useful functions. Iv used the countdown timer more than I thought I would. The display is very clear even in bright sunlight conditions and the back light is bright and illuminates everything.
The only minor downsides are the recessed adjust button, which is really quit difficult to press on the wrist, and for me the beeber sound is fairly quiet, the kids have the casio f-91 watches which cost 7 and they are louder. Good watch all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quintessential G-shock to the best price on the Internet, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
The quintessential G-schock, only essential functions and toughness, no frills. The color is matt black. It is not as big as some of the new sport wacthes, and I like this. Amazon sells it to the best price on the Internet. The 1ver is the European version of the black DW5600 ( as far as I understand).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic G-Shock!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
Can't really add to what's been said in many other reviews. Robust, lightweight, easy to use/read and fits under a cuff easier than many other G-Shocks. Haven't worn any other watch since this arrived, yet it still looks as good as new despite a fair bit of abuse! Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
This is a great everyday watch that sits well on the wrist and doesn't weigh too much. Would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice start of the line classic G-Shock, 7 July 2013
By 
japc (Ericeira, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio DW-5600E-1VER Digital Quartz Multifunction Sports Watch with Chronograph, Timer, Time Zone Alarms and Black Rubber Strap (Watch)
This watch has the look of the original G-Shocks from the late 80s and hasn't aged a bit, it feels and wears cool now as ever.

The pros and conns follow, just notice that although the conns look as much or more than the pros they are highly subjective.

Pros:
- clean display (no unneeded info like year or passive lettering on the display)
- looks (though, classy, and kind of stealthy)
- feel (though, right weight)
- functions (24h stopwatch and countdown timer, current time shown on all modes)
- Being a common model the replacement parts are easy to find (for when the strap breaks or the bezel start to get resin rot)

Cons:
- advertised two year battery lifetime (though it has been reported as conservative and most people mention over 5 years)
- the ultra recessed adjust button is kind of weird, moreover when you're supposed to use it to operate the stopwatch
- the non-casio position of the light and stop+start buttons (they are swapped compared to most other casio models)
- no way to disable the button press sounds
- no vibration alarms

Been wearing this daily for the last couple of months, it's THE daily beater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews