Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ocean's Five.
John Bridger's gang of thieves are double crossed and left for dead after a daring gold raid in Venice. The surviving members regroup and convene in L.A. to enact revenge and recapture their gold.......the job is on!

This could have been a complete disaster, I'm British and the wave of revulsion that boomed in my homeland upon hearing of this remake was...
Published on 10 Jun. 2012 by Spike Owen

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, but still a fun ride
Lacking the style and heart that made the original such a firm favorite among film fans and also without the talents of Noel Coward - who gave such a nicely humorous touch to the classic - was this weak 2003 remake.
In truth this movie is more of a sequel than a remake. As most film fans will know the original movie concluded with the gang of bullion thieves stuck in...
Published on 21 Nov. 2004 by Darren Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, but still a fun ride, 21 Nov. 2004
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Lacking the style and heart that made the original such a firm favorite among film fans and also without the talents of Noel Coward - who gave such a nicely humorous touch to the classic - was this weak 2003 remake.
In truth this movie is more of a sequel than a remake. As most film fans will know the original movie concluded with the gang of bullion thieves stuck in a rather precarious situation atop one of the Italian Alps. The remake however includes the actual "Italian Job" of the title at the beginning of its movie and then weaves a tale of betrayal and payback that has one of the thieves double-crossing his partners and taking off with the gold himself.
In this respect the movie probably would have been better off not adopting the name of its illustrious predecessor. In fact, in talks with the director to promote this movie, it was revealed that Italian authorities were less than happy to hear that Hollywood planned to remake a movie - that is such a "national treasure" in the hearts of Italy - that they almost refused the team to film in Venice. Only when they were able to convince the Italians that it was a homage and that they intended no disrespect to the original that they were allowed to continue.
Fans of another remake (Ocean's Eleven) will no doubt lap this movie up. This production has another hip cast and the same slick method of storytelling. It was pleasing to see the return of the Morris Minor car as one of the holdovers from the original movie and I thought Charlize Theron was a welcome addition to the cast as the beautiful daughter of one of the original thieves. What was most disturbing though was the fact that the original Italian Job was an eclectic collection of British thieves, whereas here they are American - not sure why they made that change since the humor employed in the original was so British.
Still, as heist movies go this film is a success and a lot of fun. If you enjoyed Clooneys version of OCEAN'S ELEVEN, then chances are you will enjoy this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the original, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Nothing like the original. It lacks a lot. Michael Cain is much better in the original. This one doesn't match up at all. The music is totally different and doesn't come at the right time. I don't like Charlene Theron being in it. There wasn't a female in the first one, so I don't know why they have changed that. Mark Whalberg as Croker is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ocean's Five., 10 Jun. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
John Bridger's gang of thieves are double crossed and left for dead after a daring gold raid in Venice. The surviving members regroup and convene in L.A. to enact revenge and recapture their gold.......the job is on!

This could have been a complete disaster, I'm British and the wave of revulsion that boomed in my homeland upon hearing of this remake was explosive; "how dare they remake a British institution" was the cry. Things were not helped in the run up to the film's release by it's main star {and drawing card} Edward Norton, proclaiming that the film was a contractual obligation and that fans of his work would be better advised to give The Italian Job a miss!

Had to be a stinker then surely? Actually no it isn't. Director F. Gary Gray hasn't remade the Italian Job of 1969, in fact he hasn't even re-imaged it, the minis are in there, the gold is in there, but all the stand out moments so beloved by many in the 69 film of the same name are not to be seen at all. So what we get is a very cool heist-come revenge movie-that's maybe a tad too glossy at times, but it's got a pretty sharp script, tight action sequences and a group of actors working very well as a team. Mark Wahlberg, Mos Def, Jason Statham, Seth Green and the delectably delicious Charlize Theron all come out smelling of roses, whilst Edward Norton really had no cause for concern because his portrayal as Steve is a smarmy delight.

I have jokingly titled this film Ocean's 5, but that is in no way detrimental to The Italian Job, it lacks the jazzy coolness of Soderbergh's Ocean's 11, but its a fun and enjoyable picture all in its own right, its rating of just under 7 here on IMDb is actually spot on. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BAD JOB, 15 Mar. 2015
By 
MR SCULLY (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is a rubbish yanks version of a British iconic film, for me this film was a disgrace and should never have been made, why do they have to make it so over the top? it's as if they have to do this to make the American public watch, the only positive thing I can say is, I downloaded it from sky, and had great pleasure in deleting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
So, a job set in Italy? Hence The Italian Job? No. Utterly charmless, set in the USA, no humour etc etc. everyone remembers "You were only supposed to blow the bloody doors off". Cannot remember anything from this rubbish. Only called The Italian Job to trick us into going to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor imitation, 23 April 2014
Not much more to say really. Lacks all the charm of the original and near unwatchable for me! I wouldn't recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film worth watching, 6 April 2009
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
For all the fans of the original Italian job who think that this isn't going to be very good. I assure you that you are wrong. When i first saw this version i was skeptical because i believed that it was just a re-run of the original, but when you watch it, it is a completely different film. The main links between the old and new version is that they both have mini's and in the new one it makes a reference it 'do it like the italian job'.
I now love both films because you can't make a straight comparison between them both and say one is better than the other. If you are debating whether to buy this or not i would say it is totally worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Highly Enjoyable, 7 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The Italian Job was released to cinemas back in 2003 and, personally, I did not see it. When it came out on DVD, it was the same: I put it off for a good while until the heat died down, to use that context. See, my dad is a huge fan of the original and, with that, Michael Caine, so I really hadn't a choice but to wait until the heat cooled off. Was it worth the wait? Read on.

First thing, you may be wondering, have I seen the original? The answer is yes, I have seen it, but waaaay after watching the remake first. Am I a fan of the original? The answer is no, I'm not (I'm gonna be heckled for that, no doubt, by you Brits LOL), and I reckon it's because I saw this one first and I'm too big a fan of this one to like the original. Oh, well, that's my opinion. Now, let's move on with things.

The plot of this film begins in Venice, Italy. Charlie Croker meets up with John Bridger, an old time crook about to pull off one, final heist in order to retire in peace with his daughter, Stella. What's the target? It's 35 million dollars worth of gold bricks that the crew intend to steal without even holding a gun!!!
Either way, they succeed; they pull off the heist of a lifetime and believe that they've planned everything. The only minor detail that wasn't planned out: getting double-crossed! That's where Steve comes in - played brilliantly by Edward Norton - who steals all of the gold bricks for himself and leaves the rest of the crew for dead.
So, after this, the film focuses on Charlie and the crew as they relocate to Hollywood and attempt to reheist the bricks back from Steve. What follows is an entertaining, great and highly enjoyable film... one that should not be missed, in my view.

Despite this, the film does have flaws. For example, I'm not sure if the rest of you will agree here, but it seems that the crew have it all too easy when it comes to retaking the bricks back from Steve. If you watch the film and scan for all the details, this flaw becomes really obvious, in my opinion.

However, a big pro is the excellent cast of characters and the actors that portray them. Each of them provide a perfect mix of comedy, action and a slight hint of seriousness every now and then.

Bottom line is, buy this film. Money well spent!

Thanks for reading this. I hope this review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, an action movie with a great plot!, 9 Nov. 2007
By 
E. Overington "Travis McGee Fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I love the original italian job movie and so was wondering how they would approach a modern remake. Well i have to say that this is NOT the italian job. that is to say it is not a remake of the original film, it is simply inspired by the original in as much as minis are used and it copies the idea of a great plot and lots of action. Other than that, there is no similarity. The plots of both movies are entirely different, the charactors are completely different and this movie stands on its own two feet as a great family action movie.

I would urge you to buy this at the great price ive seen it for sale at, before the shops realise what a great movie this is and put their prices up! Seriously, get some pop corn, some friends or the whole family, pull up a sofa and settle in for the ride. Action, Laughs and a great story, what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Italian Job ???, 9 Aug. 2004
By 
J. Glen "Jeanette Glen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is supposedly a remake of the Michael Caine film of the same name. It is not, it uses the title of the original, some of the big set pieces, the gold heist, the armoured car, the getaway and let us not forget the Mini Coopers.
It does not however have the charm of the original, Mark Wahlberg does not have the same cheeky chappy persona that Michael Caine gave his Charlie Croker, but he gives a good performance nonetheless, as do all the other actors. Donald Sutherland steals every scene he is in, which is not many unfortunately.
This is an entertaining, glossy, well scripted, well acted romp. I do not think that it is really a remake though, the entire ethos of this film is different from the original. The original was a celebration of all things English (English not British, there is a difference)Noel Coward after all was the quintessential Englishman.
Even the ending is different, in the original the thieves lost the gold and were left hanging over a precipice, and all the gold was scattered down a mountain, never did crime pay less. In this new and revised version they do, eventually, get away with it, should crime pay just because we like the criminals?
That all said, this is worth watching, there is very little violence and no bad language, which makes a refreshing change, watch and enjoy, just do not expect a modern updating of the original, you will not find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews