Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40,000 Things
That will be the title Of Steve's new Album.

"Then There Were None" is a song on the new album, listen for a clips on Steve's MySpace page: [...]

A single will be released on the 18 September called Fighting Butterflies.

From the clips i have heard it will be a album that's written from the heart with mostly original songs with a few...
Published on 19 Aug. 2006 by Trix71

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
There was only one song on it I quite like it was a boring album,I won't be buying any more of his albums
Published on 30 May 2013 by Lorraine Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40,000 Things, 19 Aug. 2006
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
That will be the title Of Steve's new Album.

"Then There Were None" is a song on the new album, listen for a clips on Steve's MySpace page: [...]

A single will be released on the 18 September called Fighting Butterflies.

From the clips i have heard it will be a album that's written from the heart with mostly original songs with a few covers with Steve's own "stamp" on it.

Steve was dropped after winning the X-Factor because he refused to do another album of covers.

I say good on him for standing his ground and releasing another album with his own music and own sound.

Good luck with the album Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steves coming back, 29 Aug. 2006
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
as soon as you hear any of the songs on this album you will fall in love!

Steve was dropped after winning the X-Factor because he refused to do another album of covers.

Im so glad that as a fan ive had to wait what seems like eternity to hear his music - rather than what Simon thinks is good......when its just covers!

yes a couple of covers on this one but steves chosen to do them!

love it :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40,000 Things, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
Lynn (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
Have heard clips from many of the tracks on Steve Brookstein's forthcoming new album. Only one word - excellent! The difference between the two albums is astounding. Obviously he was wise to dump Cowell and gain artistic freedom, the self-penned tracks are fantastic and the 'covers' have such a different treatment they are not immediately recognisable as such. His voice seems to have gained maturity since X Factor and you can tell that he has put his soul into the tracks. Outstanding to me are Gone too long and Turned out nice again. I would recommend to anyone who isn't sure whether Steve is their cup of tea to listen to a few tracks. They cannot fail to be impressed. ~This is an album to treasure and I would advise pre-ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40,000 Things, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
Jenny Fortnam (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
After what seems like an eternity Steve Brookstein is back with his self-penned album, '40,000 Things'. After being privileged enough to see Steve perform songs from this new album live over the last few months I can't wait to finally get my hands on a copy.

Steve has a distinctive, soulful voice that portrays the emotion behind each song that comes from the heart. From the beautiful 'Then There Were None' to the upbeat 'This Love is Alive', there is something for everyone on this album.

I wish Steve every success with this new album and for the future. He really deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., 13 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
I have heard most of the songs on his album through his myspace [...] & I have to say that they are all beautifully sung & all so catchy. This album is by far the best album Ive heard in a long time & alot better than the first, you can tell from this album that he had no choice in the making of his first album.

Id say if you are a Steve fan to definately buy this album & tell all your friends about it, If your not give the album a chance its wicked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Then there were none, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
Ms. N. Barnes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
Having listened to the tracks on steves myspace, I can truly say that it has been worth the wait. Steve took the brave decison to leave Simon Cowell to be able to write and record his own songs. They are a refreshing change, Cant wait for my copy and looking forward to the upcoming single
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new album from Steve Brookstein!, 21 Aug. 2006
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
Having had the privilege of hearing a number of the tracks from this, for the most part self-penned, second album from Steve Brookstein, I can truely recommend it. The title track 'Then There Were None' is achingly beautiful and is worth the purchase alone. But there are other great tracks too. Steve Brookstein is not only a singer who is able to portray the emotion of the song with his evocative and unmistakable voice but he is also a gifted song-writer and this album shows that his ambition to record and release his own work was more than justifiable. I hope he has the success and recognition that he deserves with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album, 9 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
Steves voice seems to touch the core of me. It is so sincere and full of love. You can understand why he was so frustrated about doing another album of covers with so many wonderful songs up his sleeve.

He is able to convey sadness and longing with tracks like Then There were None and Cant get any Worse than this and also bring joy and hope with Cant Last a Day and This Love is Alive.

It is definately worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth waiting for, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
L. Goldfarb "Linda" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
Mr Brookstein has proved with his second album that, sticking to your guns and doing what you believe in pays off. It's plain to see why he would be frustrated with doing an album of covers with so many original tunes waiting to be heard.

40,000 Things is really the album that reflects this man's songwriting talent and brings together a collection of songs penned over the last ten years, written and sung from the heart.

Steve has one of the most soulful voices around today with its depth of feeling, texture and tone, it is mellow, soothing and molodic, touchingly sad and haunting to upbeat and funky.

A quality album well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve, 7 Sept. 2006
This review is from: 40,000 Things (Audio CD)
It has been a long time coming but oh boy was it worth it.This love is alive is my favourite and must surely be the next single.The tour starts soon and look foreward to seeing Steve on the 28th at the 606 club and on the 29th in Kings Lynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40,000 Things
40,000 Things by Steve Brookstein (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews