Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
69
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2009
The Victorian Garden series takes you back to the days when the BBC made so many great programmes. This is one of the best. No violence, sex or even excitment. Just a relaxing programme to watch at the end of a busy day. To see the victorian garden transformed during the series is marvellous. A set of DVD's we've watched a few times since buying it. Along with the "Green Valley" it does it for us.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
A real gem from the past! Makes it all the more sad that the modern-day BBC serves up wide-appeal Barratt-home dross to its gardening audience.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
I can't fault these DVDs and agree utterly with the 2 previous reviewers: this is the stuff the Beeb should be making. The number of people I know who loved the series when it was on is considerable. I was only 6 at the time, so I can also vouch for its appeal to a somewhat younger audience than its original viewers! It hasn't dated at all. Dodson, Mott and Thoday are all engaging and the material is well-presented and fascinating whether your route into the series is through the garden or the kitchen. One of the best buys I have ever made.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
I missed this when it was on the TV. It is quite marvellous - it is a real eye-opener as to how British TV has gone downhill over the last ten or so years. BBC produced this kind of quality product with consummate ease for years, and they still can when they realise very few are obsessed with gormless celebrity culture. Anyway - my wife has really been inspired by the series to grow veg. and the series is beautifully produced and shot. What an amazing man Harry Dodson was - talented, self-effacing and completely at ease with himself. A rare series - losing nothing over the last twenty-odd years.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Although getting old now, this is not only a fascinating and lyrical examination of a grand Victorian garden, its plants, tools, architecture and technology and its relationship with the "big house"; it is a valuable historical record which preserved one man's priceless gardening knowledge. A real treasure.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
I recently bought this dvd set and shall watching it over and over. It is very informative and is a must for any gardener especially those who are proud of being english
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2008
I agree totally with everything that DWM says. The 'Victorian Kitchen/Garden' series were superb productions by the BBC, something that they sadly no longer make. They are such a pleasure to watch and are NOT dumbed down in the slightest; instead they are informative, entertaining and a most relaxing experience.

Wonderful. 10/10
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2010
I have nothing new to add to the accolades that have already been lavished on this wonderful set. The settings, the people and the content of the programmes are all beyond reproach. I wanted to add my five stars to show to others how good the DVDs are.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
This is ideal for someone who really enjoys their garden and is interested in how a garden was maintained in the forties and fifties and before especially a large garden attached to a 'mansion'. If I were a younger person I do not think this would appeal to me as it does not contain any of the modern garden features and structures that may appeal to that age group. The videos are a very much hands on type of gardening ie high maintenance with regards to manual work ie digging, planting and harvesting in all seasons. We liked it very much. Would like to see more of this type of dvd would love you to recommend. What about the Victorian Kitchen \garden with Ruth Mott?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Peter Thoday and Harry Dodson have a wonderful interaction which combined with dodsons pleasent way of presenting things makes this a wonderful experinence. THe presenters know what they are talking about and every minute is filled with facts both with regards to practical gardening and its historical context. Even if you do not have a garden you should watch this series simply because of its high quality and emphasis on actual facts.
Its more than 20 years old but far superior to contemporary shows whre presenters just run around shouting without relaying anything usefull to the audience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)