Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wellsian view of the future, from 1936
This is based on H.G Wells novel of the same name. It is split into three sections - the "present" - an English metroplois called "Everytown" at peace, but with war coming. Then the war itself, and finally the far future (still in our own future).
The "Present" is 1936 - Raymond Massey plays a man with a far-seeing spirit, aware of...
Published on 7 Feb 2001 by Jonathan Bryce

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great image restoration, screwed up processed sound
I have this move in a few other editions on DVD and this is the best copy picture wise, hats off, but they obviously messed the sound up badly in the processing.

All through the movie there is an added flanging effect not heard on my other copies (even though they are probably from degenereated 16mm copies). The background noise sounds like a bumble bee in a...
Published on 12 July 2010 by RogerJoensson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wellsian view of the future, from 1936, 7 Feb 2001
By 
Jonathan Bryce (Kapiti Coast, NZ) - See all my reviews
This is based on H.G Wells novel of the same name. It is split into three sections - the "present" - an English metroplois called "Everytown" at peace, but with war coming. Then the war itself, and finally the far future (still in our own future).
The "Present" is 1936 - Raymond Massey plays a man with a far-seeing spirit, aware of what effects a war will have and talking in oratory tones to his friends and family. When the war comes, it is totally believable - London in the Blitz, seen a few years before it happened. There are several excellent scenes - artillery being set up in town squares, bombs falling on cinemas (remember that this was watched from those originally), the death of children under rubble. There is a sequence where an enemy pilot gives up his gasmask to save a child from his own gas, after his plane has crashed.
The second section is thirty years after the start of the war - England has splintered into separate city-states, little more than tribes. They now fight each other, believing that's how it has always been. Ralph Richardson plays the "Chief" of one tribe, who came to power by his ruthless attitude towards sufferers of a late-war plague. The "Chief" meets Massey's character - a visionary from a state far to the north, trying to re-establish order and a world state. In the conflict - of wills only, not fists - Richardson dies - as does his state.
The third section is with the descendants of the original families, now looking at the first moon rocket. The public are driven to rise up against this kind of progress, stampede for the rocket base.
All-in-all, an excellent view of the way the world could have developed from 1936 onwards. It sags at moments - Wells used the Massey character as a mouthpiece, and his viewpoint is fairly myopic, and given in a preachy, unbelievable style. It's not the film at fault though, and still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great image restoration, screwed up processed sound, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
I have this move in a few other editions on DVD and this is the best copy picture wise, hats off, but they obviously messed the sound up badly in the processing.

All through the movie there is an added flanging effect not heard on my other copies (even though they are probably from degenereated 16mm copies). The background noise sounds like a bumble bee in a long pipe. -An extremely annoying, garbling and hypnotic side effect.

The sound is plain awful, and it has nothing to do with the DVD-player (as someone suggested).
It is obvious that the restoring engineer can not handle digital editing effects. I am pretty sure that he/she/they added some editing plugin and then mixed the delayed and processed sound with the unprocessed (which is a big no-no) and got these terrible flanging/reverb effect.

I spent several hours trying to cancel out this bad side effect, but it can only be done partially. It is obvious that there is more than one of these delay effects layered over each other also they vary dynamically. The main one has a fixed delay of x samples, that does not vary at all through the movie, proving that it has been added in the digital editing, after transfer from the original film.I suspect it has to do with noise reduction, that they tried to touch up by mixing with some of the untreated sound. Obiously they were too dumb to understand and deaf to hear what happened. Bloody amateurs if you ask me.

I had a long conversation with Network and they finally gave up the arguing when I presented short sound clips from their version with a clip from an older DVD (probably from a 16mm copy!). It is quite obvious that the sideeffects are not there in the degraded(!) 16mm copy. So how could it be in the 32mm original!
They also said that they'd take the DVD back and that they just bought the rights to sell it on DVD and that it was the BRITTISH FILM INSTITUTE that did the actual restoring. If it is them they obviosly hired darn incompetent people. That is for sure.

I kept the DVD, though, because the picture is pretty good. I took the sound of what I think is from that 16mm copy (another DVD), processed it to get rid of the audio compression added in that copy and edited it in with the Network DVD picture.
I guess I now own the best audio/video combo of this movie (not counting the not accessible 32mm original)...

It is darn irritating to know that the movie has better sound on the 32mm film source, but that someone screwed it up completely and the unprocessed sound will probably never be accessible for someone like me to enjoy. I doubt there will be a another restauration made and that is a great pity.
It would have been a lot better if they had not processed the audio at all. Incompetent bastards.

-Sorry for the hard words, but in this case I don't think they are too hard...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to buy!, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Guy Mannering (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
At the time this movie was made (1935) many British studios were churning out quota quickies, cheaply made movies that were guaranteed distribution because the British government, concerned by the dominance of Hollywood movies, had decreed that British cinemas should show a given quota of British-made movies. The result was the law of unintended consequences - low budget efforts that were pretty feeble but didn't lose you money. Two studios bucked the trend with lavish productions - Gaumont British and Alexander Korda's London Films. And was there any movie of the 1930s that was more ambitious and spectacular than Korda's Things to Come? I first saw this movie as a kid when it was first shown on TV circa 1957 and although most of the movie's ideas went over my head the awesome spectacle left a lasting impression, as did Arthur Bliss' great music. Having seen this DVD release I can confirm that the spectacular sequences have lost none of their visual power - the Christmas-time prelude mixing yuletide revelries with forebodings of war, the destruction of Everytown, the building of the underground city (a visual and musical tour-de-force) and the detonation of the space gun. Alas the passing years magnify the faults. H.G. Wells vision of the future was a curious mixture of spot-on and wildly off-beam, but that's you're average visionary for you. If only Wells had been less concerned with "big ideas" and more concerned with establishing flesh-and-blood characters and a gripping story line. Raymond Massey had read Wells' original book and was well aware that the clunking script conveyed none of its qualities and yet he still delivers a performance that is stagey and hammy as does Ralph Richardson who I've always found less than convincing as the dictator of Everytown (in fairness to these fine actors Wells' ponderous and preachy dialogue does not lend itself to natural performances.) And 50 years on I still find myself asking questions like who exactly are the enemy, why is the organisation that eventually restores civilization based in Basra (of all places!) and why is Everytown rebuilt as a subterranean city? Perhaps these things were made clearer in Wells' novel (which I confess I haven't read) and in the 30 or so minutes of running time lopped off the movie shortly before its premiere (signs of frantic last minute tinkering are evident in the opening credits where Margaretta Scott, who plays the dictator's moll, is credited with playing two roles, as did Massey and Edward Chapman, but her final scenes in the Everytown of the future, as Massey's estranged wife, are missing. And when actor Ernest Thesiger turned up to the premiere he was shocked to find that all of his scenes had been reshot with Cedric Hardwicke.) And then there's that curious phenomonen of English accents which 70 years after the film was made now sound so dated to us whereas American accents sound pretty much unchanged. But whatever the faults, I know that if I'd sat and watched this movie in a cinema in 1936 it would have scared the daylights out of me.

I recorded this movie off the TV about 12 years ago and there's no doubt this remastered version with some lost footage inserted is infinitely preferable to previously available versions. I encountered no significant problems with either the picture quality or the sound, I found just one ot two scenes sub-par. There are some valuable extras. Movie buffs will appreciate the alternative version of the movie with the action interspersed with caption cards supplying the dialogue of the lost scenes.It has to be said that much of this dialogue is ponderous, didactic and quite unnatural and clearly demonstrates why Wells wasn't a man of the cinema and why the scenes ended up on the cutting room floor. They would have aided the viewer's comprehension but at the risk of trying his patience. There's also an informative essay on the making of the movie by Nick Cooper although in my view he takes a rather lenient view of Wells' incessant meddling in the production (and refers to Cedric Hardwicke as Edward.)The only dud is Russell Harty's interview with the aged and eccentric Richardson which is not devoid of interest but of no relevance to the movie.

If you want to acquire Things to Come this release in my opinion is easily the best to date and I give it top marks. (Mr Cooper has taken issue with me on the matter of how far Wells interfered in the production - click onto the comments if you're interested.)

A final note about the music. Arthur Bliss' score is, in my opinion, one of the finest movie scores of all time, indeed it has virtually acquired the status of classical music, but the surviving cut of the movie doesn't always do it justice, the famous march, for example, being heard only in fragments. Bliss composed much of the music and the tracks were commercially released before production began and these can now be obtained on the inexpensive Naxos label (linked with other golden movie oldies like the Warsaw Concerto.)Inevitably the sound is a tad muffled and boxy but the choral climax still creates that unique frisson I experienced as a kid watching the movie for the first time. A more extensive selection in a fine modern recording is available on the Chandos label. If the movie stirs you, buy them both.

Postscript. Revisiting my review after a couple of years I note that Amazon are mixing up reviews for the Network/Granada 2 disc black and white version originally released in 2007 (the subject of my review) with the Ray Harryhausen colourised version which is well done but lacking the additional scenes and extras. Readers should excercise care when placing an order to ensure they get the version they really want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H. G. Wells' prophetic vision of the future, 1 Feb 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Things to Come is an unusual film with an unusual history. It plays on several levels, the most important being its anti-war message. H.G. Wells, from whose book The Shape of Things to Come this film was adapted, was a man deeply opposed to war. As the twentieth century progressed, Wells worried greatly about the future of man and society; he studied the past, publishing the impressive nonfiction book The Outline of History, and he began imagining the future - as it might be and how he might like it to be. His embrace of science remained true, but it was a more tenuous embrace, one espousing both fear and hope. Things to Come, released in 1936, takes up these ideas - some of them, anyway, as some of the more controversial aspects of the novel The Shape of Things to Come were ignored in the emphasis on the horrors of war.
The movie opens on a Christmas night in 1940; the residents of Everytown argue the possibility of war among themselves, only to have the holy night shattered by a bombing attack on the town. The world quickly descends into major warfare, and we are treated to a number of images of the spreading conflict. The war is made to look as frightening as possible, featuring frightened masses, decimated buildings, and the curse of gas warfare. Then the movie shifts to the year 1970. Three decades of constant warfare have brought civilization to its knees, and the Wandering Sickness has wiped out half of the human population. Local warlords rule their own little fiefdoms, and the Chief we are introduced to is still dangling the prospects of peace in order to sell continued warfare. The weapons of mass destruction are in short supply now; his only mechanic has been unable to repair the few remaining airplanes, and there is no petrol for them even if they could get airborne. Into this backwards world of modern barbarians comes John Cabal - arriving in a modern airplane, of all things. Cabal represents Wings Over the World, a new society made up of airmen and scientists committed to remolding the world (and social order) and eliminating war. The Chief, naturally, rejects Cabal's overtures, refusing to give up his hard-won authority and martial aspirations. Cabal's friends soon come to rescue him, flying in on a fleet of impressive airplanes armed with "the gas of peace."
The final third of the movie takes place in the year 2030. John Cabal and his scientists succeeded in their mission to reshape human society under their influence. The futuristic city is impressive - immaculate, gleaming white, and technologically rich. Cabal's ancestor now holds the position of authority, and he is totally committed to a new course of space exploration. The "Big Gun" is built and ready to send two intrepid young explorers around the moon. You might expect the citizens to be shining, happy people - but they're not. One man in particular, an artist named Theotocopoulos, leads a reactionary people's revolt against the follies of "progress." He says the time has come to rest on society's laurels, not waste the people's money and energy on frivolous projects such as the Big Gun. Suddenly, it's a race against time to fire the Big Gun before it is destroyed. The drama draws a sharp line between the two choices for the future. Cabal actually comes across here as slightly mad in his final "Which will it be?" moral speech, daring to dream of conquering the entire universe in the name of science, resulting in a sense of ambivalence toward science I found a little confusing.
The filmmakers had no fear of melodrama, as several scenes essentially drip with sappiness. The dialogue is somewhat stilted, as the important characters, particularly the Cabals, give speeches rather than merely speak. As for the look and special effects of the film, we're talking about some amazing stuff for the year 1936 - the film company spent a bundle on this film, and it shows. The scenes of warfare are particularly impressive -so impressive and disturbing that the movie-going public did not really warm up to the film - after all, the horrors of war were still rather fresh on their minds. As things turned out, Things to Come would play better to future generations than to its contemporaneous one. What does the film's lack of success in 1936 mean to you, the viewer? More than you might think. The film was not preserved the way it might have been, and the prints that fell into the public domain were of disappointing quality. I can't speak to the merit of this DVD, but I can say the print of the film I saw was exceedingly dark, making much of the first third of the movie very difficult to see.
This film is a true time capsule, though, and it works much better than most "prophetic" movies of its kind. Much of the acting and dialogue appears quite dated, but the themes of this movie are eternal - in fact, they are probably more important and applicable now than they have ever been. Its endorsement of a one-world government will not go over well in many places (especially my house, as the very idea is anathema to me), and I find its rejection of warfare quite naïve (especially in the world of today), but this is a very important, instructive look at man and society (as well as an underappreciated masterpiece of science fiction).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disgraceful, 18 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
This first portion of the review applies only to the Network/Granada remastered 2-disc set.

This is an important movie in the history of cinema and a decent DVD is needed in view of the many poor-quality versions available. Unfortunately, this is not it.

The first impression is encouraging - nicely presented 2-disc set with an excellent booklet of informative notes. The contents list of the second disc raises expectations - interviews with Ralph Richardson and Brian Aldiss.

To be fair, the visual appearance is not bad. The scratches and fuzz of other currently circulating versions have gone and the optical "print" is crisp and bright, though there is still too much flicker than would be expected from a good remastering, let alone one "painstakingly restored in High Definition".

But the sound is absolutely abysmal, so bad as to prevent any real enjoyment of the film. It is badly muffled, boomy, echo-y and accompanied by overwhelmingly loud background roars and hums. At times it is so bad that the dialogue cannot be heard. The important film music by Sir Arthur Bliss is especially badly served - it is so muffled and boomy as to be impossible to hear properly, let alone enjoy. It is obviously not the fault of the original film sound track because the same faults exist (admittedly to a lesser extent) in the accompanying special features disc. The beginning of the second half of the interview with Ralph Richardson is particularly bad and the interview with Brian Aldiss has a continuous background roar which occasionally makes him impossible to hear.

To put out a DVD "remastering" with sound faults like this, when today even old mechanically-recorded 78s can be made to sound presentable is unforgivable. I would imagine Dolby would be horrified to see their logo on the case.

It is disgraceful that the opportunity to create a definitive record of this important movie for posterity has been wasted. And also disgraceful that I have laid out £16.98 on this atrocity. Network/Granada (whose names appear on the case and are therefore presumably responsible) should be thoroughly ashamed.

Since writing the above, I have complained to Sony UK who imediately and without question sent another copy, saying that my original must have had a "one-off fault".

The replacement has far less bass boost on the sound track. Dialogue and music can be heard, though at times indistinctly. It is a big improvement, but still nowhere near the sound quality one would expect of a film "remastered in High Definition" and carrying the Dolby logo. There is still no excuse, given the number of sound recording experts around capable of extracting excellent quality from old recorded media.

IMPORTANT

Amazon is lumping together reviews of this Network remastered 2-disc set with reviews of Ray Harryhausen's colourised version, which must be very confusing for anyone coming fresh to buying a DVD of this classic movie.

Since writing the above review of the Network version, I bought the Harryhausen colourised version so that I could watch the film without the awful sound. I was prepared to be sniffy about the colour - you know, classic film buff's admiration of the purity of the black and white image and all that. Well, the colourised version is fine. If you expect the super-saturated Technicolor colours you are accustomed to, you probably will be disappointed, because colourising an existing b&w image doesn't work like that. It produces a more natural, watercolour-like image which I find more lifelike. While I frankly prefer the original b&w, I find this version very acceptable. Furthermore, the image is very stable, without all the flickering and rapid changes in brightness of the Network 2-disc version. Most of all, the sound is good, in contrast to the appalling sound of the Network b&w remastered version.

If you just want to watch Korda's classic version of H.G. Wells' 'Things to Come', and you are not bothered about all us geeky classic film buffs nerdy prejudices, the Ray Harryhausen colourised version IS THE ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper plot and no CGI, 4 Jun 2010
By 
P. Barnes (Malta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
Alexander Korda's "Things to Come" is a film condensation of H.G.Wells's long dissertaion/novel "The Shape of Things to Come". There are strong performances throughout, although a bit histrionic by today's standards, by such luminaries as Ralph Richardson, Raymond Massey and Margaretta Scott. But it is the special effects that astound; from the bombing of Everytown in 1940 (prophetic indeed as the film was released in 1936) to the breathtaking panoramas of a 23rd Century world - and all before CGI was even thought of. Strange how the costumes and make-up are solidly 1930's, just as the cast of 'Star Trek' looks relentlessly 1960's on TV today. "Things to Come" is a true classic from every cinematic point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things that did and did not come, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
A wonderful view of the future from the stand point of pre World War 2 England with clipped accents. The predictions of technology with hind sight of 70 years are interesting to say the least. Ralph Richardson gloriously over acting. This film has many contemporary themes of decent into warring factions as we see around the world and attempt of imposition of one view of utopia on that society.
The colour remastering is a little obvious at times, but not overly distracting.
For lovers of the older film this is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, yet Strangely Prescient, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a review of the two-disc special edition DVD.

When I was a kid in the 1970s, there were occasional welcome seasons of classic science fiction films on television, which is where I first became acquainted with the likes of `The Time Machine' and `Forbidden Planet', and `The Day the Earth Stood Still'. However, `Things to Come' was never among them, probably due I now realise to the incomplete nature of the available edit and the fragile nature of the film itself. (It was released in 1936.) But my curiosity was aroused by the noble march-theme to the film appearing on an old Geoff Love Orchestra LP compendium of science-fiction soundtracks.

So it was a pleasant surprise to finally find that the film had been released on DVD in an edition that was as lengthy as possible (there are still edits missing) and with much additional information provided besides. Much of this supporting information has been supplied by Nick Cooper, who seems to have become obsessed by the work. But before I come to the extras on this DVD set, what of the movie itself?

Working to a script based on HG Wells's writings, it opens in a typical English city of 1940 where Christmas is being settled in an atmosphere of warmongering. Part two of the film sees the results of the war as they might have appeared in 1970. The final part takes us on to the year 2036 with a society where war has been banished and where preparations are in place for the inauguration of a `space gun', which to me seemed like a rehearsal for `Thunderbirds' of the 1960s.

The film is imaginatively shot and there are some fantastic sets. Some ideas are, with hindsight, plainly laughable - as Nick Cooper says in his commentary, "Nothing dates more than a vision of the future" - but others are strangely prescient. This is not the place to elaborate further on this: it recommended you watch the film yourself. But the acting is often wooden (apart from the bravado of Ralph Richardson as Rudolf the Victorious, a cross between Falstaff and Macbeth: the commentary explains that the part was based on Mussolini.)

The main part in the film is played by Raymond Massey, and if someone conversed with you the way he talks in the film, you would laugh at him (or hit him). In the detailed twenty-two page booklet that comes with the discs, Massey is quoted as saying, "The picture was fantastically difficult to act. Wells had deliberately formalized the dialogue ... we delivered heavy-handed speeches instead of carry on conversation."

The extras are generous. Not only is there Nick Cooper's commentary and the booklet, we are also provided with an image gallery that includes shots from missing scenes as well as extracts from contemporary press cuttings. The second disc in the set attempts to show the film as complete by inserting into the reel information cards showing what is missing from the edit. All well and good, but this `virtual extended edition' is really only for the obsessives.

This second disc also has an edition of a `Russell Harty' show from 1975 in which it is unsure as to whether Harty is interviewing Ralph Richardson or vice-versa. Then there is a twenty-three minute programme from 1971 entitled `On Reflection: Brian Aldiss on HG Wells'. Neither the Harty nor the Aldiss programmes refer explicitly to `things to Come', but both are valuable nevertheless.

I enjoyed watching this film, but my other half sat on the sofa next to me was not so enamoured. It appeals, then, I would say, more to those interested in film history, science fiction generally, and those interested in how the past has envisioned the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Piece of Cinema, 14 July 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
I finally got round to seeing this and am ashamed that I left it so long. This is what the golden age of cinema is all about. Based on the legendary sci-fi classic by H.G. Wells who also wrote the screenplay, this is set originally in 1940 and an unidentified enemy is about to unleash war on `Everytown' which is a substitute for London - complete with the Underground. This was released in 1936 when the Germans were helping the fascist Franco unleash a wave of terror on Spain and air raids on Guernica not to mention what was unfolding in China. As the scenes of aerial bombardment begin they are strangely prophetic of what is to befall London within five years, so the impact of this can only be imagined on the audience with the benefit of hindsight.

I was gob smacked at how accurate it was. The Characters in this surround John Cabal (the absolute legend that is Raymond Massey) who is a spirited pacifist and the coterie of inhabitants. Once the war comes it does not stop. The film is set in three time zones, the initial out break of the war and then taking us through decades of fighting, where mankind is quite literally bombed back to the dark ages. Then we hit 1966 and with the ending of everything except aggression, medicine is all but non existent and a strange plague befalls the Earth, this is `The Wandering Sickness' and as the previously mentioned Dark Ages, this is like the Black Death and wipes out half of humanity. Everytown is now in ruins but is used as a microcosm of what is taking place in the rest of the World.

Soon the disease burns itself out and what emerges and dictatorial leaders that rule their fiefdoms, in this case it is Rudolph, played completely over the top by the marvellous Ralph Richardson who is now at war with neighbouring tribes. The future comes in the shape of a strange aeroplane which leads us on to the final of the three parts of the film and the existentialist dilemmas of progress versus contentment.

This is visually stunning especially given when it was made, depending on the version you get, the sound quality is a bit dated too, but a fully restored version is available which is umpteen times better, so if you are buying then that is the one to go for. There are some brilliant touches in this, almost iconic shots, such as the child buried under the rubble, the cinema blowing up, the Rolls Royce being pulled by horses and the scenes of the future where fashion has been lost along with old world architecture - marvellous.

This is for all serious fans of cinema and especially those with an interest in the history of cinema, I was transfixed and I know this will be one of those rare films that stay with me for a long while I utterly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great picture, poor sound, 2 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD] (DVD)
Just here to echo RogerJoensson's review - the restored picture of this SF classic is superb given its age, but to my far-less-than-perfect-ears the audio frequently sounds like it's being relayed through a warbling frog that's simultaneously being gargled by a flatulent bulldog. There's a severe reverb effect going on, which frequently makes voices incredibly difficult to distinguish over the background hum (and there are no subtitles available either). This is present in the soundtrack itself (I watch these things through my computer and went to the bother of pulling the audio to bits to figure out what's wrong with it) and I've not found any post-processing that'll negate the frankly incompetent audio mix. Like him, I'm going to have to source an unprocessed soundtrack and combine it with this video to get a "cinematic" version of this little gem.

Make no mistake though, I won't be returning the DVD since the sound is at least serviceable and if you're on the fence I wouldn't suggest missing out on a great film solely because of it (judging from the comments a lot of people don't notice the poor sound anyway), but it's a shame that in doing such a great job on the image restoration that the sound has been messed up. As a brit SF fan I also found the commentary and extra features on the second disc very interesting, and it's a shame in these days of CGI-anything-you-want that there are few studios displaying the amount of ingenuity apparent here.

A great film for all fans of SF, marred by a dodgy audio job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Things To Come (Special Edition) [1936] [DVD]
£11.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews