Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars52
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2006
Armando Iannucci is well known for his role in some of the best recent British comedy (Alan Partridge, The Thick Of It etc) but a lot of people seem to have missed this series. That's a shame as when he does his own stuff it's often brilliant, with a bit of a surreal edge. I watched most of the series when it was on telly and some bits stuck in my head for years so I was really pleased when it came out on DVD.

Each of the episodes is sposed to be on a particular theme, but you don't really need to know that! What is important is that some of the stuff in this series is genius. A common themes is people basically being rubbish and/or naff. The first episode has two brilliant bits - the witty bloke at a dinner party being literally fed his funny lines, and the 'tw*ts' bit (especially the bloke singing his song about Princess Anne's birthday). Other highlights are Armando The Great Adult, and when he does a comedy slot at the end of a conference using powerpoint slides to get across his jokes.

Sometimes - a bit like his Observer column! - the joke doesn't quite work or it goes on too long. So it's definitely a hit & miss DVD. But the best stuff is so good it's worth ploughing through to get to. And the extras are pretty good too - the commentaries are pretty funny. One word of warning - if you don't want to know the result of the Arsenal-Barcelona Champions League final don't listen to the commentaries...
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I don't want to bang on and on about this show like a twit so I'll keep this short. I bought this DVD purely as I was keen on getting hold of a copy of Brass Eye and this was in the recommendations. I'd never even heard of it before. This was in 2009.

It turned out to be probably the most informed piece of TV I have ever seen. Abstract yet relevant. I honestly felt a tiny bit changed as a person after watching this. And it's hilarious to boot.

Amazing. Fantastic. Brilliant. Genius. Everyone should watch this series, it should be available on TV on it's own channel all day for everyone in the world to watch. Except for viewers in Scotland.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
Like most people I think I was out when this was on first time round (I assume it was put in the graveyard slot) so brought this on faith based on his previous work. I was not disappointed! There are moments of pure genius in this series and Armando Iannucci's delivery is fantastically dry. You get a real sense of a great comedic mind at work finding humour in everyday life and then transferring that into some of the most ridiculous situations imaginable and blowing it out of all proportions. If like me you missed this the first time round then make sure your mistakes are not repeated! However don't expect the controversy or shock value of his works with Chris Morris, the humour here is far more subtle but no less amusing.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
Perusing the 5-star reviews of 'Little Britain' and the latest Michael McIntyre DVD in an act of cultural masochism, complete with the classic 'all those fans can't be wrong' comments, I remembered the genius of the Armando Iannucci Show. Popularity is sometimes the sign of quality, sometimes a sign of accessibility, and mostly a case of the lowest common denominator. What separates throwaway popular comedy, and music for that matter, from the deeper art is longevity. While Michael McIntyre's DVD will be snubbed by even car-boot sales in 10 years, something tells me that this show will only get more popular as its inherent quality is discovered. Part of the reason for this is that the show does not focus on obvious observations of current cultural phenomena, but takes a systematic and complex comic look at the human condition, which never changes. Every joke in the show starts with a basic idea and develops it, connecting it to the greater theme of the episode and Iannucci always pushes a joke to its comic conclusion. If anyone suggests watching Michael McIntyre, show them instead this, particularly the Ibiza Uncovered Opera, with iannucci's hilarious reactions from the balcony, or better, the PowerPoint presentation stand-up routine.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
I am tempted to give this 5 stars as when these irreverent sketches work they really work. But some are intrusive and seem very long. But still, buy this for a number of quality moments such as the barber that talks drivel to a bemused Armando, the 'nostalgic' witterings of old man Hugh, racist police horses, an entire congregation that seduces the local vicar and many more. Surreal, random and very funny this is a forgotten gem that will appeal to anyone with a sense of humour that appreciates the absurdity and futility of the modern world. And if you've ever discovered your house is riddled with wombles.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2006
Underrated, undershown, and finally released genious. There is no-one quite like Armando in the comedy world, and although the more recent 'Time Trumpet' was a little disapointing, don't let that put you off buying this masterpiece. Highlights include the East End Thug being deployed to solve fairly mundane problems, such as threatening a washing machine into working, Lucar the barber, and his bizarre tales of clangers and screaming fire, and the revelation that everyone with knowledge is being tipped off, either via bits of paper in their pies, or earpieces spewing football trivia.

Armando, we applaud you.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
15 years on this show has not dated. It is very funny indeed.
Armando Iannucci (along with Christopher Morris) is the creator of "The day today" - the show that revolutionised satire in the 90s and took it away from embarrassingly blunt rubbish (Rubberish?) Tv like "Spitting Image" and the ,frankly, dull "please-let-john-fortune-and-john-bird-be-on-soon" Rory Bremner (I'm not even gonna mention Ben Elton...damn).
He also (along with Patrick Marber and pop star Lulu) created Alan Partridge - The character who ruined and then revolutionised chat shows & then went on to revolutionise sitcom.
Tired of constantly spinning Iannucci came to rest here and created 8 shows based (awfully) loosely around themes that affect our modern lives. It is brilliantly funny, macabre and sometimes sad (You know, 'uncomfortable truths' n that). Like a Home For Middle Aged Men. OR a middle aged woman who, tragically, only has another 38 years to live. Please give - just Two pounds a week can keep this woman in sanitary wear for an entire week. Direct debit preferred.
It is not satire in a straight mold but I mention Peter Cook because Cook created work with very much the absurdist/surrealist attitude that Iannucci shows.
If you liked Chris Morris' "Jaaaaaaaaaam", "Brass Eye" or "Nathan Barley" you WILL enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Outside of the first episode of Veep, I was mostly unfamiliar with Armando Iannucci's work. I was convinced to give it a try based on reviews and word of mouth, and I can say that it's well worth the buy. It's not always "laugh out loud" funny, but it is always entertaining. It's often very funny, but even when it isn't, it's still fascinating to watch. As Iannucci points out, it is a very personal viewpoint that's being presented, and watching his thought process unfold on the screen is very interesting to watch. It's especially fascinating for people who are into the creative process itself. I'm a big fan of long-form improv, and while this show is scripted, watching how ideas form and build off each other based on an initial idea is really cool to watch.

It's best watched one or two episodes at a time, over a short period of time. It can begin to feel a little claustrophobic, as you're basically inside Armando's head for the entirety of the show. Still, it's an excellent show, and though it probably isn't to everyone's taste, I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
I watched this show on its initial run, taping it as it went along. Over the next few years there was rarely a that month went by where I didn't watch an episode. That video was accidently crushed underfoot, and I was devastated. Months later I discovered that it was (finally) being released. For those of us who saw it at the time, this DVD was a very important release, the result of much campaigning. For those of you who missed out or haven't seen it, this is the best comedy series ever, probably the best TV show ever. Now, if only they'd release Time Trumpet!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For any Armando Ianucci fans, this is a must have DVD.

You don't always get to see much of our man Armando, he writes on some of the best loved and well known of comedies and so it is great to see the man himself.

The series itself is a narrative on modern day life, it focuses on social issues by using comedy sketches - many of them fantastically surreal.

Some sketches feel a bit drawn out, it varies from amusing to laugh out loud hilarious - but all good material. This show contains some of my favourite sketches/comedy moments of all time. I love it when he talks about his disappointing trip to Disney World on dress down Friday, giving a seminar on the construction of his jokes, and the sketch about being fed lines to say at parties was genius.

I have used the word genius a few times in this review, in fact, I did it just then. But in this case it is well warranted. His observations are told from an intellectual perspective, yet they don't feel patronising. In fact, Armando uses himself as an almost social retard in many of the programmes to show how he struggles with the modern world.

Eight fantastic episodes and some nice extras.

Want to know the answer to the question:

What's both big and small at the same time?

Then watch this and find out!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.