Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good bits are very good indeed
Armando Iannucci is well known for his role in some of the best recent British comedy (Alan Partridge, The Thick Of It etc) but a lot of people seem to have missed this series. That's a shame as when he does his own stuff it's often brilliant, with a bit of a surreal edge. I watched most of the series when it was on telly and some bits stuck in my head for years so I was...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by tomsk77

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite weak
Not as funny as I remembered and often quite weak. Hardly the cutting edge satire I hoped for. He haa done much better things.
Published 3 months ago by Brian Sheeran


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burning Genius, 1 Aug 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
For any Armando Ianucci fans, this is a must have DVD.

You don't always get to see much of our man Armando, he writes on some of the best loved and well known of comedies and so it is great to see the man himself.

The series itself is a narrative on modern day life, it focuses on social issues by using comedy sketches - many of them fantastically surreal.

Some sketches feel a bit drawn out, it varies from amusing to laugh out loud hilarious - but all good material. This show contains some of my favourite sketches/comedy moments of all time. I love it when he talks about his disappointing trip to Disney World on dress down Friday, giving a seminar on the construction of his jokes, and the sketch about being fed lines to say at parties was genius.

I have used the word genius a few times in this review, in fact, I did it just then. But in this case it is well warranted. His observations are told from an intellectual perspective, yet they don't feel patronising. In fact, Armando uses himself as an almost social retard in many of the programmes to show how he struggles with the modern world.

Eight fantastic episodes and some nice extras.

Want to know the answer to the question:

What's both big and small at the same time?

Then watch this and find out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 26 April 2014
By 
Jonathan Southgate "Jonny" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Iannucci very funny man. Me laugh much. DVD secondhand less than 1 so did not need to be this funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE Satire -absurdism without dead parrots- "...brilliantly funny, often macabre, and sad...", 11 April 2014
By 
Robin J. Thomson (Scotland - Home of the English language) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
15 years on this show has not dated. It is very funny indeed.
Armando Iannucci (along with Christopher Morris) is the creator of "The day today" - the show that revolutionised satire in the 90s and took it away from embarrassingly blunt rubbish (Rubberish?) Tv like "Spitting Image" and the ,frankly, dull "please-let-john-fortune-and-john-bird-be-on-soon" Rory Bremner (I'm not even gonna mention Ben Elton...damn).
He also (along with Patrick Marber and pop star Lulu) created Alan Partridge - The character who ruined and then revolutionised chat shows & then went on to revolutionise sitcom.
Tired of constantly spinning Iannucci came to rest here and created 8 shows based (awfully) loosely around themes that affect our modern lives. It is brilliantly funny, macabre and sometimes sad (You know, 'uncomfortable truths' n that). Like a Home For Middle Aged Men. OR a middle aged woman who, tragically, only has another 38 years to live. Please give - just Two pounds a week can keep this woman in sanitary wear for an entire week. Direct debit preferred.
It is not satire in a straight mold but I mention Peter Cook because Cook created work with very much the absurdist/surrealist attitude that Iannucci shows.
If you liked Chris Morris' "Jaaaaaaaaaam", "Brass Eye" or "Nathan Barley" you WILL enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quite weak, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Brian Sheeran "Brian S" (Warrington, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Not as funny as I remembered and often quite weak. Hardly the cutting edge satire I hoped for. He haa done much better things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Master Lovely Special, 27 Feb 2014
By 
David Fuller (Kentish Town, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Armando Iannucci is a wonderful man and this DVD is a wonderful thing.

Carefully studied whimsical, profound and startlingly original ideas strung together on fragile threads of the human experience ( ! )

It was brilliant when it first aired on TV and it gets better every time I re-treat myself to it, every year or two.

I also dig out Bach's St Matthew Passion or the Well-Tempered Clavier at similar intervals, both of which have more than a couple of things in common with this DVD - see above.

They did go largely unnoticed outside Bach's hometown until about 200 years after his death.

I'm not sure how big Armando Iannucci is in Leipzig, but I truly hope he knows how well appreciated he is by the lucky 'few'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic comedy series, much underrated compared to some of the more well known British series.
Witty, surreal, containing poignant themes which still seem current.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
The sketches are a bit hit and miss, but the funny ones make me laugh time and time again. He is usually behind the scenes as a writer, so its good to see Armando Iannucci on screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grab This -He Has Moved On, 25 Oct 2013
By 
heretic666 (High Dudgeon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
The time of surrealist humour like this when he could hold up a mirror to everyday life and project the kind of distortion you would only see at a fairground is over. The call of Partridge, DOSAC and The Thick Of It, and the departure from these shores for Veep mean we shall not see the like of this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and funny, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Outside of the first episode of Veep, I was mostly unfamiliar with Armando Iannucci's work. I was convinced to give it a try based on reviews and word of mouth, and I can say that it's well worth the buy. It's not always "laugh out loud" funny, but it is always entertaining. It's often very funny, but even when it isn't, it's still fascinating to watch. As Iannucci points out, it is a very personal viewpoint that's being presented, and watching his thought process unfold on the screen is very interesting to watch. It's especially fascinating for people who are into the creative process itself. I'm a big fan of long-form improv, and while this show is scripted, watching how ideas form and build off each other based on an initial idea is really cool to watch.

It's best watched one or two episodes at a time, over a short period of time. It can begin to feel a little claustrophobic, as you're basically inside Armando's head for the entirety of the show. Still, it's an excellent show, and though it probably isn't to everyone's taste, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to his recent work, 13 Jun 2013
By 
R (Llanon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
That says it all, there are a few gems but I won't be bothering to watch this again - offers welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD]
The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] by Armando Iannucci (DVD - 2006)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews