Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good bits are very good indeed
Armando Iannucci is well known for his role in some of the best recent British comedy (Alan Partridge, The Thick Of It etc) but a lot of people seem to have missed this series. That's a shame as when he does his own stuff it's often brilliant, with a bit of a surreal edge. I watched most of the series when it was on telly and some bits stuck in my head for years so I was...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by tomsk77

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite weak
Not as funny as I remembered and often quite weak. Hardly the cutting edge satire I hoped for. He haa done much better things.
Published 8 months ago by Brian Sheeran


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good bits are very good indeed, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Armando Iannucci is well known for his role in some of the best recent British comedy (Alan Partridge, The Thick Of It etc) but a lot of people seem to have missed this series. That's a shame as when he does his own stuff it's often brilliant, with a bit of a surreal edge. I watched most of the series when it was on telly and some bits stuck in my head for years so I was really pleased when it came out on DVD.

Each of the episodes is sposed to be on a particular theme, but you don't really need to know that! What is important is that some of the stuff in this series is genius. A common themes is people basically being rubbish and/or naff. The first episode has two brilliant bits - the witty bloke at a dinner party being literally fed his funny lines, and the 'tw*ts' bit (especially the bloke singing his song about Princess Anne's birthday). Other highlights are Armando The Great Adult, and when he does a comedy slot at the end of a conference using powerpoint slides to get across his jokes.

Sometimes - a bit like his Observer column! - the joke doesn't quite work or it goes on too long. So it's definitely a hit & miss DVD. But the best stuff is so good it's worth ploughing through to get to. And the extras are pretty good too - the commentaries are pretty funny. One word of warning - if you don't want to know the result of the Arsenal-Barcelona Champions League final don't listen to the commentaries...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously Informed, hilarious - Armando Iannucci's best work, 2 May 2010
By 
S. Gilbert "Gil8ert" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
I don't want to bang on and on about this show like a twit so I'll keep this short. I bought this DVD purely as I was keen on getting hold of a copy of Brass Eye and this was in the recommendations. I'd never even heard of it before. This was in 2009.

It turned out to be probably the most informed piece of TV I have ever seen. Abstract yet relevant. I honestly felt a tiny bit changed as a person after watching this. And it's hilarious to boot.

Amazing. Fantastic. Brilliant. Genius. Everyone should watch this series, it should be available on TV on it's own channel all day for everyone in the world to watch. Except for viewers in Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely overlooked - where is the justice?, 11 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Like most people I think I was out when this was on first time round (I assume it was put in the graveyard slot) so brought this on faith based on his previous work. I was not disappointed! There are moments of pure genius in this series and Armando Iannucci's delivery is fantastically dry. You get a real sense of a great comedic mind at work finding humour in everyday life and then transferring that into some of the most ridiculous situations imaginable and blowing it out of all proportions. If like me you missed this the first time round then make sure your mistakes are not repeated! However don't expect the controversy or shock value of his works with Chris Morris, the humour here is far more subtle but no less amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sketch show ever, 18 Dec 2010
By 
D. Rowthorn (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Perusing the 5-star reviews of 'Little Britain' and the latest Michael McIntyre DVD in an act of cultural masochism, complete with the classic 'all those fans can't be wrong' comments, I remembered the genius of the Armando Iannucci Show. Popularity is sometimes the sign of quality, sometimes a sign of accessibility, and mostly a case of the lowest common denominator. What separates throwaway popular comedy, and music for that matter, from the deeper art is longevity. While Michael McIntyre's DVD will be snubbed by even car-boot sales in 10 years, something tells me that this show will only get more popular as its inherent quality is discovered. Part of the reason for this is that the show does not focus on obvious observations of current cultural phenomena, but takes a systematic and complex comic look at the human condition, which never changes. Every joke in the show starts with a basic idea and develops it, connecting it to the greater theme of the episode and Iannucci always pushes a joke to its comic conclusion. If anyone suggests watching Michael McIntyre, show them instead this, particularly the Ibiza Uncovered Opera, with iannucci's hilarious reactions from the balcony, or better, the PowerPoint presentation stand-up routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TV Un-Reality Shows, 21 July 2009
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Iannucci's persona in the series is UK's version of a Woody Allen narrator - a physically insignificant, neurotic, socially inept victim of soundbyte culture relieving himself of his social and political hangups and obsessions through a series of mockumentary sketches and interviews. It's an extremely surreal but sharply satirical world that he inhabits and the fresh spin he puts on modern life is extremely amusing. Each show has a loose "theme" but involves Iannucci and other characters turning up in a variety of ridiculous situations to make a very silly point or just be pointlessly silly in a Pythonesque way. You'll love his mad hairdresser and the two racist police horses, his pensioner neighbour Hugh or the reserved English style Columbine shoot up in a restaurant but there are too many sketches to describe and lots of laugh out loud moments. A sort of Thinking Man's Little Britain for fans of Private Eye or The Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's good at telly., 17 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
I am tempted to give this 5 stars as when these irreverent sketches work they really work. But some are intrusive and seem very long. But still, buy this for a number of quality moments such as the barber that talks drivel to a bemused Armando, the 'nostalgic' witterings of old man Hugh, racist police horses, an entire congregation that seduces the local vicar and many more. Surreal, random and very funny this is a forgotten gem that will appeal to anyone with a sense of humour that appreciates the absurdity and futility of the modern world. And if you've ever discovered your house is riddled with wombles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butter brings me out in ghosts., 9 Nov 2006
By 
P. Sturges "Ponder" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Underrated, undershown, and finally released genious. There is no-one quite like Armando in the comedy world, and although the more recent 'Time Trumpet' was a little disapointing, don't let that put you off buying this masterpiece. Highlights include the East End Thug being deployed to solve fairly mundane problems, such as threatening a washing machine into working, Lucar the barber, and his bizarre tales of clangers and screaming fire, and the revelation that everyone with knowledge is being tipped off, either via bits of paper in their pies, or earpieces spewing football trivia.

Armando, we applaud you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best TV show ever, 22 May 2008
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this show on its initial run, taping it as it went along. Over the next few years there was rarely a that month went by where I didn't watch an episode. That video was accidently crushed underfoot, and I was devastated. Months later I discovered that it was (finally) being released. For those of us who saw it at the time, this DVD was a very important release, the result of much campaigning. For those of you who missed out or haven't seen it, this is the best comedy series ever, probably the best TV show ever. Now, if only they'd release Time Trumpet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burning Genius, 1 Aug 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
For any Armando Ianucci fans, this is a must have DVD.

You don't always get to see much of our man Armando, he writes on some of the best loved and well known of comedies and so it is great to see the man himself.

The series itself is a narrative on modern day life, it focuses on social issues by using comedy sketches - many of them fantastically surreal.

Some sketches feel a bit drawn out, it varies from amusing to laugh out loud hilarious - but all good material. This show contains some of my favourite sketches/comedy moments of all time. I love it when he talks about his disappointing trip to Disney World on dress down Friday, giving a seminar on the construction of his jokes, and the sketch about being fed lines to say at parties was genius.

I have used the word genius a few times in this review, in fact, I did it just then. But in this case it is well warranted. His observations are told from an intellectual perspective, yet they don't feel patronising. In fact, Armando uses himself as an almost social retard in many of the programmes to show how he struggles with the modern world.

Eight fantastic episodes and some nice extras.

Want to know the answer to the question:

What's both big and small at the same time?

Then watch this and find out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This changed my brain, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. D. P. Carter "Davey C" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] (DVD)
Armando Ianucci is responsible for so much excellent comedy. This is hilarious. I find myself rationalising day to day affairs in a different way since watching this. A much better way. I don't know how he got funding for this as it is very strange and yet seems to have quite a large budget. I'm very glad it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD]
The Armando Iannucci Shows [DVD] by Armando Iannucci (DVD - 2006)
£5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews