Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enemy State Of Mind
I've lost count on how many times in the past a flick has been labelled a sexy thriller only to discover, to my utter dismay, that it's totally un-sexy and not in the least bit thrilling. Next Door not only manages to tick all the right boxes in said description, in some scenes it crosses the line and enters the horror zone and if your not expecting this to happen it...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by The Critic Ali Insane

versus
40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lesbian? No. Gay? No.
Yeah, Next Door was an exciting, fast-paced, eerie film with good twists and turns. but what i'd like to know is, why on earth is it listed in the gay and lesbian section? there is nothing homosexual about this film whatsoever! so, to those of you who are going to purchase this film in the hopes of it being gay/lesbian, don't bother.
Published on 14 Mar 2008 by Emily


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enemy State Of Mind, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I've lost count on how many times in the past a flick has been labelled a sexy thriller only to discover, to my utter dismay, that it's totally un-sexy and not in the least bit thrilling. Next Door not only manages to tick all the right boxes in said description, in some scenes it crosses the line and enters the horror zone and if your not expecting this to happen it heightens the effect, leaving you the viewer, feeling slightly paralyzed. Imagine a Hitchcock style narratives of suspense shot with the eerie cinematography style of David Lynch, now throw in some violently erotic sex scenes and you will be somewhere close to what you can expect from this unmissable Norwegian gem.

Kristoffer Joner is cast as John, a man who has recently split with his live-in partner, Ingrid. Shortly afterwards he meets two attractive women, Anne and Kim, living in the apartment next door to his own. Initially, John goes round to help but is soon drawn into a risky game of arousal with Kim. The tension slowly escalates between both parties with savage blows being delivered to one another which serve only to ignite the fundamental instincts of human desire and passion. The apartment shared by the very strange, psychosexual sisters resembles the most powerful entity on the planet, the human mind, consisting of maze-like corridors with numerous locked doors where dark, disturbing secrets of the occupant lie hidden.

It is within these corridors that John will meet the terrifying Ake, his ex-lover's new partner, and play out one of most electrifying scenes of pure nerve shredding, pencil breaking brilliance I've seen in many years. Usually, when I've successfully foreseen the ending it fills me with disappointment due to the lack of originality in the script, but the build-up in this one is so beautifully crafted I would've been more annoyed if the ending wasn't so, but instead, replaced with some ill conceived last minute red herring that clearly didn't work. So, if you like psychological themes that accurately display why the mind can be your best ally or your ultimate enemy, then give the undiluted quality of Next Door a viewing - it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut Norweigian thriller, 7 April 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A very good Norwegian psychological thriller about a man in the midst of personal crisis and emotional upheaval and his encounters with the increasingly bizarre two women who live next door to him. Really well filmed and I didn't think there was a dull moment in all of its admittedly slim running time.
The portrayal of the lone man was very good indeed, balancing vulnerability and detachment from reality with the whole spectrum of human emotions of someone in turmoil. Likewise the two women next door were sexy, provocative and scary in turn with an inordinate interest and knowledge of the mans circumstances and psyche which lent an effectively sinister edge to the proceedings.
The subtext to the film and a lot of the imagery were done with some style and the Polanski/Lynch comparisons aren't far wrong though perhaps it was maybe more Polanski-ish given the thematic storyline at its heart.
Certainly recommended. There are scenes towards the latter end of the film depicting quite explicit violence towards both women and men (not too explicit to horror fans I should add) but if psychological thrillers are your bag this European offering is refreshing in its approach and better than a lot of similar English language efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable viewing...., 30 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, it has a strange pace to it and some very interesting twists and turns. The main actor is excellent and his performance carries you through a maze of events with rare intensity. I enjoyed the other performances also. But it is the director and the photography which sets this apart from other films of a similar budget. It looks very stylish and the use of camera is at times mesmerising, with some wonderful use of lighting. But aside from the technical workings, the film is worth a watch and i would recommend it to most people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neighbours From Hell, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
John(Kristoffer Joner) is recovering from an acrimonious break up with his ex-girlfriend Ingrid(Anna Bache-Wiig). He sort of exists rather than lives in his apartment until one day his neighbour(Cecilie A. Mosli) asks him to come and do a favour for her next door. John reluctantly agrees. Then, the neighbour called Anne returns to ask another favour. Could John possibly come and sit with her sister Kim whilst she goes out for a few minutes. John makes the mistake of agreeing to help again as soon he finds himself sucked into a nightmare world where nothing is as it seems and the lines between fantasy and reality are blurred.
This excellent little psychological horror is a chilling treat, an example of sometimes less is more, as the claustrophobic interiors of the two apartments transform into very sinister, almost otherworldly places. There is of course a very important reason for this, but not one I shall reveal here.
The conversations between John, and the two sisters, if they are indeed sisters, are laced with barb wire, with every seemingly innocuous comment carrying a hidden threat. The distorted passages that take place in the second half of the film are made all the more frightening by the fact that John always seems one step ahead of the audience, with the camera almost afraid to follow him around the corner to reveal yet another atrocity. I think the viewer will share the cameras reticence.
The performances are uniformially excellent with Julia Schacht probably the standout as the unhinged Kim. The film itself is a real triumph and I would recommend it to everybody who enjoys slightly murky and intelligent psychological horrors. Highly recommended. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lesbian? No. Gay? No., 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah, Next Door was an exciting, fast-paced, eerie film with good twists and turns. but what i'd like to know is, why on earth is it listed in the gay and lesbian section? there is nothing homosexual about this film whatsoever! so, to those of you who are going to purchase this film in the hopes of it being gay/lesbian, don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How many Norwegian horror films have you seen?,, 13 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Well for me this is my first and I enjoyed it very much thanks to my Amazonian friends who had already seen this and recommended it to me. As beautiful as the direction and cinematography is this story revolves around the office employees John (Kristopher Joner), whose girlfriend Ingrid (Anna Bache-Wig) is recently separated from him. This has its already fragile psyche another missed kick. His life still revolves entirely to the woman who left him; withdrawn, he now lives alone on the top floor of a tenement house. His tidy, clean, even sterile housing is a desperate held upright on the contrast of dark labyrinth, which is its soul. Suddenly he meets two mysterious neighbors, which he has never noticed, even though they live right next door. When visiting the two women Anne (Cecilie A. Mosli) and Kim (Julia Schacht), a strange interest in having him appear, he loses more and more in the long, winding corridors of his comfortable environment to a sinking nightmare of sex and violence.

This movie's does have one of the most violent and vile consensual sex scene in movie history, containing a beating that only leads to more arousal. It's pretty ailing stuff, and you'll be just as disturbed as John is when he looks in the mirror afterwards, and sees himself covered in his mishap.... that's not all his. It really is an unsettling moment, and probably the defining one of the film. Julia Schacht and Ceclie Mosli did a great job in their roles even though I don't know much about them.. The lead character of John is not only convincing in the role, but you find yourself as a viewer putting yourself in his shoes. I was very sympathetic with John throughout this film and pretty much had no feelings towards Kim/Anne's except for their maze-like apartment which I fine really cool and something I like to invest in.

Other reviewers had mention the pacing of this film and that too is my only problem with it. Though it's over 70 minutes but somehow manages to drag. Sure, mood permeates most of it, but it doesn't help once you realize that nothing much happens throughout the film. This could've been a great short film. Those who want to sit through it will ultimately be satisfied by the atmosphere, but it will be a little hard at points. The film ends on the interesting note, a nice, mind-bending twist that might be somewhat obvious but is no less effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everybody needs good neighbours....., 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A startling Scandinavian thriller that ends up being nowhere near as straightforward as I expected it to be when I read the description. It turns into a twisted Lynchian nightmare that pulls no punches with its narrative, and was one of the best DVDs I saw in 2010. Hopefully this marks director Pål Sletaune out as a major talent to watch and I'm thoroughly looking forward to Babycall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the squeamish, 22 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
An intense and claustrophobic psychological thriller set in an apartment. Shot in a grimy reduced tonal range that adds to the overall feel and supports the excellent performances from the small cast. The story line takes us along a confusing track but, as the clues build up subtly at first, the outcome becomes clearer. The end should have had more pace but that is a small criticism of an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unpleasantly creepy scandi classic, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Dont watch this last thing at night or if you happen to live in a flat alone , this is just the old school horror than america cannot do any more [ note there are no knives out of walls or ghosts of teenagers or talking dolls. Just a man who is struggling now his girl friend has left him and 2 odd women who have moved next door . Yes the violence is hard to watch [ it is only a film I kept saying to my partner ] and I wouldnt class the sex as erotic although is ott packing a punch . But the twists and the turns and the psychological stuff was brilliant . Very Polanski repulsion . To me a real classic , so many films I watch , sleep and next morning cant remember , not this one , we talked about it all day . Plus it stars Michael Nyquist [ original dragons tattoo] and he is always good to watch . If you are a fan of scandi dont let the horror tag put you off this is quality scarey .Watch now before the remake staring Nicole Kidman and Zak Effron and Richard Gere [ joke ] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars disturbing viewing, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Next Door [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I described this film to a new work colleague and as I spoke I realised just how strange he thought I was. I realised it even more the next day when he said '& you go home at night to watch screwed up porn'.
There are needless to say some disturbing scenes in this film & a very strong focus on sex. However there is also a story, twists & plenty to make you want to see what happens next.
I have watched disturbing films before for example serbian film which includes incest, newborn porn, gay rape etc but found this film just as disturbing to watch. Infact it probably had more impact due to the way it is filmed which does leave you asking yourself 'do people really enjoy that sort of thing??'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Next Door [2006] [DVD]
Next Door [2006] [DVD] by Pål Sletaune (DVD - 2007)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews