Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Greater Good of God
And God it's good! Not just good, it's flippin' awesome! As a die-hard Maiden fan from Powerslave - Fear of the Dark, I lost interest after Bruce left. I tried out the Blaze material (was a Wolfsbane fan back in the day), but couldn't get into it. Brave New World and Dance of Death were excellent, but not enough to draw me back into my frenzied old state! A Matter of Life...
Published on 2 April 2007 by Mr. I. J. Evans

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, lots of sound problems with the vinyl edition
I was thrilled to see that Iron Maiden offered their new album as a limited edition, vinyl picture disc. I have a number of other Maiden albums on vinyl and have always thought that their crisp sounding heavy metal lended itself very well to the vinyl format. In general, this is a great album; the best of their recent offerings (post Seventh Son) in my opinion. A bit...
Published on 29 Sep 2006 by J. Johnsen


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Maiden Album Since Killers, 1 Sep 2006
By 
Sue (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
I bought this highly anticipated album having been a fan of Maiden for 4 years, and the hype surrounding it was incredible, with some calling it Maiden's finest work. I however, beg to differ.

This is Maiden's at its very worst with Bruce Dickinson, in fact the poorness of this album is only surpassed in Maiden's discography by Paul Di'anno's Killers (their 2nd album).

Without going in depth, These Colours Don't Run is probably the best track, but this is still a very average song.

Having expected the album to be better than the outstanding Dance of Death, I was very disappointed with the drab, thrilless dross that Maiden have produced this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the millenium albums....., 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
....but that isn't saying much as they're all pretty pathetic.

Hard to follow what has already been said, I suppose one word sums it up BORING.

Bruce needs to do himself a favor and return to his solo career as it looks as if Arry and co are never going to change those stripes. And who can blame them, as long as the die hard fans rush out and buy anything with the IM name on they'll keep topping up their bankrolls.

Advice? Retire Boys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maiden put the pretenders back in their place!, 30 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. Sjs Poulter (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dance of Death, i felt, was a mile stone for Maiden, it marked the rebirth of the best british metal band in history. AMOLAD makes DOD look average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Steve used to write great tunes, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Daniel Ratner (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Steve Harris says he wrote this album with Adrian Smith in one day,recorded it 8 weeks - and that is exactly how it sounds - musically tight but with no "tunes" in sight. Harris has written some of the greatest heavy metal songs over the last 26 years but there are no classics here - just listen to Bruce Dickinson's last album to a track called "Devil on a hog" - a real tune! - you remember it! - but on this new Maiden cd with 3 songs at 9 minutes long - there's nothing worth remembering. Maybe Steve and Adrian should have spent maybe 2 days on it instead of one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but please get rid of Gers, 18 Aug 2010
By 
BP1 "BP1" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Gers was the equal worst thing to happen to maiden along with loosing Smith. OK they've got Smith back and it certainly helps... some of the songs are good and theres a bit more class to the playing and writing. However, Gers is a technically able guitarist who is no songwriter and is every rock cliche. 3 guitarists in one group is 1 too many and sometimes creates a soup of too many flavours whereby you can't discern 1 from another. Come on Steve, do us a favour and drop Gers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
The songs on this album are far too long.Went to see them on this tour and they played the whole album live.Not a good thing when you consider all the decent stuff from the past that was'nt played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please read this before you review!!!, 8 April 2008
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Any one that gives this album more then 3 stars is a deluded liar.
At the same time, anyone who gives it less has no ear for music.

Yes maiden have become stuck in some sort of "rut" since the departure of blaze bayley but at the end of the day they are still writing 4 or 5 Good songs an album.

They still write singles that will take your breath away, in this case the standout is Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg, which would not sound out of place on any album, but then again I suppose that is the Problem.

They have a found a formula that works and are far to set in there ways to change it. But if this formula has brought us songs like can I play with madness, hallowed be thy name, The Trooper etc then I say long may it continue.

Yes this a mediocre album but maiden are no longer the innovative pioneers of metal and I think they have earned the write to release solid rock albums of positive metal music rather then inspirational Masterpieces.

Fianl thing to say is that while there is only a few good songs, there isnt any bad ones. You can still hear mouth watering solos on top of bass heavy riffs and all the old cliches of iron maiden and thats good enough for me.

I accept though that some people are board of hearing these middle of the road tracks time and again but unless they write a bad album, then long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Booooorrrrrrrinnnnggggg Paint by Numbers Maiden, 7 Dec 2006
By 
P. A. Ferguson "Porl!" (Cleckheaton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Time will tell on this one. A couple of years ago I wrote to the Queen to ask her to knight these stalwarts of excellent British heavy metal. and true gentlemen at that. but this stinks. how many songs from the back catalogue can you hear here. and unfortunately a lot of it is from the last 'great' maiden album 'dance'. it is just overlong, directionless shite! sorry to one of the reviewers who mentions 'killers', but that was a great record. Wrathchild is a stormer. I've only had this 2 days, but keep skipping past tracks and puttin on real maiden albums. I am due to see em in Newcastle shortly (Dec 06) but I am ready for a load of twaddle. Maiden should have changed their name after Di'anno left to the 'Stevie Harris run out of ideas band'. I even prefer old Wolf's efforts to this bollocks. It is so over produced that when you get a decent riff you hear this gloss paint instead of the raw power that I used to love. Bow out lads or make another 'Iron Maiden' or 'Killers'. Jeez, I could write for hours about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i ahve only heard one song from this and it was the best ever, 7 Sep 2006
By 
i heard one song and i found it better than most iron maiden songs they are just getting better since they slowed down it is much better(they started slowing down in brave new world and since have massively improved there music)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Matter of Life and Death, 10 Nov 2006
By 
maidenmillom (Millom, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
If you are a Maiden fan, you will enjoy this one! Admittedly, not in the same league as some of the early stuff - ie, The Trooper, Hallowed be Thy Name, Number of the Beast etc, but still a really good play. Brighter Than a Thousand Suns, and Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg are fantastic. Really enjoyed this album - as soon as you hear the opening chords, you just know it's Maiden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Matter of Life and Death
A Matter of Life and Death by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews