Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intellegent and beautiful
well if you know anything about electronic music you will know that wendy carlos was one of the pioneers. she worked closly with mr moog to develop the early analogue synths. and her work with synthesised clasic compositions and sound creation was just revolutionary. nobody seems to have taken the torch from her and built on her work and in many respects we have taken...
Published on 24 Sep 2008 by Virtual Ron

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tron
Despite never having seen the movie, I bought this CD to complete my Wendy Carlos collection. The music represents Carlos' early excursions into the realms of digital synthesis and musically is very similar to 'Digital Moonscapes' which I don't really like. Despite featuring live musicians it sounds a little sterile. Perhaps it needs to be heard in context with the moving...
Published on 3 April 2010 by D. A. Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intellegent and beautiful, 24 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
well if you know anything about electronic music you will know that wendy carlos was one of the pioneers. she worked closly with mr moog to develop the early analogue synths. and her work with synthesised clasic compositions and sound creation was just revolutionary. nobody seems to have taken the torch from her and built on her work and in many respects we have taken many steps back from the fronteirs that she created. even with the all the modern forms of electronic music and software synthesis nothing has yet surpassed her creations using harware sequencers, rooms of analogue synths and her majical understanding of composition and sound creation. tron is some of best work, but dont ignore her other stuff which is just as brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tripping the light fantastic, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
If you are a big music fan, sometimes it's nice to have a change of pace from studio/live/compilation albums & soundtracks fill that niche quite nicely.
It is always interesting listening to a movie soundtrack for the first time, as you've probably seen the film already, but now you judge the music without the distraction of the visuals to see if it can stand up on it's own merits as a body of work.
"Tron" achieves this feet with spades, using a full orchestra as with the Star War/trek movies, but Wendy Carlos adds synthesizer giving the mood of the scores a much darker almost sterile feel.
It's a shame that soundtrack can't be re-recorded as one continual piece, instead of having to finish at the end of every scene (which unfortunately causes the album to constantly lose momentum).
As for the three extra tracks, "Anthem for Keyboard Solo" is strongest, a stripped down version of the song, but with Carlos playing a solo synthesizer, but programmed with a harpsichord, giving the piece an interesting classic/modern style.
So as a Sci-fi soundtrack (& film) "Tron" is pretty unique & stands proud as an ambitious & sometimes brutal work (I still can't believe Walt Disney financed the project), although the two Journey tracks could have been omitted (they hardly bring anything interesting to the table).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tron, 3 April 2010
By 
D. A. Campbell (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
Despite never having seen the movie, I bought this CD to complete my Wendy Carlos collection. The music represents Carlos' early excursions into the realms of digital synthesis and musically is very similar to 'Digital Moonscapes' which I don't really like. Despite featuring live musicians it sounds a little sterile. Perhaps it needs to be heard in context with the moving image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as I remembered from the film, but still great, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Adt (Bucks Village) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
Listening to this as an album is a mixed fair...
... there are some pieces that feel real odd when not in the context of the Tron movie. However, other tracks are just amazing music played perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Access code 6 - reindeer flotilla, 29 Nov 2013
By 
S. Lake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
I've been a huge TRON fan ever since it first came out. I've always loved the music, so this CD was a necessary purchase. It would've been a 5 star rating, but some of the tracks do sound a bit dated now - not in terms of the music itself because you'd expect that to sound very 1980s - but more in terms of production quality, perhaps it could do with a bit of remastering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On CD at long last!, 8 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Disney's Tron (Audio CD)
For many years I was looking for the soundtrack to the original Tron film and could never find it, so sadly I gave up. Many years later, then one day I happened to be looking on Amazon for the soundtrack to the sequel and this came up! I bought the two soundtracks and they're both excellent in completely different ways. This brought back all the memories of analogue synths from the 1970s that I love so much. Definitely recommended for the fans! :^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disney's Tron
Disney's Tron by Wendy Carlos (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews