Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rarity , a brilliant album re-issued with genuinely worthwhile bonus disc
In much the same way that a parent, although they love their children unconditionally, has a golden period of their kids childhood (usually the post toddler phase when they are forming their own distinct personality but still retain that cherubic cuteness) so it is the same with music. Pulp, as everyone should be aware, were around for a very long time before they broke...
Published on 17 Aug 2006 by russell clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Great LP marred by a serious warp.- 180g vinyl not all it's cracked up to be?
Published 9 days ago by P. C. Bairstow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rarity , a brilliant album re-issued with genuinely worthwhile bonus disc, 17 Aug 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
In much the same way that a parent, although they love their children unconditionally, has a golden period of their kids childhood (usually the post toddler phase when they are forming their own distinct personality but still retain that cherubic cuteness) so it is the same with music. Pulp, as everyone should be aware, were around for a very long time before they broke through and I saw them live several times just as they were on the cusp and you could sense they had something special about them. Though I am intensely fond of the "Separations" material ("My Legendary Girlfriend" is the first Pulp song I ever heard and is still one of my favourites) there is no doubt for me that "His N Hers" released in 1994 is their finest moment. It catches them while they still had a certain eccentric gaucheness about them but had written songs that clearly showed an acute pop sensibility with an burgeoning perverse yet mature awareness of social minutiae. Pulp more than any other band around at the time and indeed since sang with eloquence and no little humour about the lives they , or rather Jarvis, had lived.

Of course in raconteur, clown, comedian, social commentator and singer Jarvis Cocker they had a front man who you just knew would be a star the first time you laid eyes on him. Exuding discounted faux glamour their synthetic mini operas were witty, clever, sometimes audacious and nearly always as catchy as a summer cold. Their sound was given an organic base by Russell Seniors pullulating violin and scabrous guitars. Candida Doyles lurid keyboard, piano; synthesizer lines give the music the grimy yet alluring quality that made it so intoxicating. Most importantly Pulp had the songs.

"Babies" is the absolute pinnacle , an absolute maelstrom of repressed desire and misdirected lust, the way the chorus pivots on that Line "I want to take you home , I want to give children " is just magical. And of course there are all those yeah yeah yeahs. One of the great pop songs of the last twenty five years (Pulp are responsible for three- "Babies", "O.U." and naturally "Common People") it is by no means, though the only great pop sing in "His N Hers". "Do You Remember The First Time" revels in its vertiginous melody and tiny dramatic impasses. "Joyriders" is replete with stuttering rhythms and tremendous peaks and contains the terrific line "Hey you in the Jesus sandals/wouldn't you like to watch some vandals ". "Lipgloss", another single and another glorious pop nugget. "Acrylic Afternoons " has that mock lothario sibilance that Jarvis used often at this stage in Pulps career but segues into another pop moment like a packet of sherbet dips exploding. His vocals on "Have You Seen Her Lately" are ohh so slightly dodgy but the song is wonderfully balanced between anxiety and desire while "Pink Glove" builds portentously like a pop Wicker Man. A couple of tracks -"Someone Like The Moon" and "She's A Lady"- lack the instinctive dynamics of the finest material here but Pulps often amusing and sometimes poignant observations on class, sleazy assignations , voyeurism , frustrated desire and sex are never less than pleasing.

What makes this so utterly essential are the tracks on the extra CD.These bonus discs are often so superfluous as to be meaningless but this one has genuine interest with demo's, b-sides and session material. It's actually worth owning for "Deep Fired In Kelvin" alone, a labyrinthine semi-funk workout with Jarvis narrating and cooing like "Jackanory" written by Mike Leigh. "Street Lites", "His N Hers" is also excellent while I'm very fond of "Space" because it brings back memories of seeing Pulp live in my home town of Halifax some time before they broke in the national consciousness.

It's almost impossible to believe that this album lost out to the execrable coffee table soul of M People for the Mercury music prize (a decision that must haunt those judges now). This album stands alone atop the pinnacle of the scree sloped mountain that was Brit-pop, a lamentable genre now in danger of being resurrected thanks to the Artic Monkeys, Kaiser Chiefs etc. Pulp did it first though and what's more they did it so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulp's finest album, 2 May 2008
By 
Maclennane (Horsham, Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
Somehow more raw, more angry, more honest than Different Class; I found it harder to get into at first, but after a few listens, there simply isn't a weak song on there, and there are angst-ridden haunting tracks aplenty. It has something of an eighties feel, but Pulp were never quite at home with the shoutiness of Liam or the inanity of Country House, just as they didn't know what to do when they got properly famous.

If you've got into Pulp through Disco 2000 or Es and Whizz, this wil be a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whew!, 15 Mar 2003
By 
Chris "babyblue999" (Clydebank, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
An album full of dizzying emotional intensity as Jarvis gasps and groans his heart out to a succession of screwed up characters. The result is an immensely enjoyable listen - and they make it sound easy.
The album opens up a storm with Joyriders, a portrayal of a certain type of youth which instantly leaps out as authentic to anyone who wasn't born with a silver spoon in his/her mouth. Lipgloss is engaging but the touching Have You Seen Her Lately? and She's A Lady prove more ultimately satisfying on repeated listenings. Lust asserts itself as the major theme, yet it is usually coupled with hang-wringing emotionalism (the simultaneous innocence and perversity of Babies and the hunger and urgency of Do You Remember the First Time? and Pink Glove being highlights) - apart from the thwarted longings of Joyriders' thugs!
If I could change anything, it would be the running order. I'd prefer to finish with a flashier number rather than the low-key Someone Like the Moon and David's Last Summer, but that's what the programming function on the CD player's for.
In spite of some of their headline-hitting scenes, Pulp are musically unpretentious. Almost all of the songs have some element of a poppy hook to keep you screaming along with the ever wonderful lyrics. The balance struck between the cheery and the bleak contributes to making His 'n' Hers an unfailingly convincing collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Equal of Different Class, 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
Prior to 'Different Class', Pulp had previously released four other studio albums. 'It' is very tuneful if a bit MOR; 'Freaks' makes very difficult listening, though it is not without merit; and 'Separations', Pulp's attempt at Acid House, contains some excellent disco tunes and poignant lyrics. But it is His n' Hers that stands out. From the opening lines of first track 'Joyriders', you know you are in for a treat. The album is a seemingly endless sequence of superb songs, combining touching and entertaining lyrics with killer tunes. If this album had come after 'Different Class' when Pulp were well-known, it would have been mega. Still, if you in any way like Different Class, I suggest you contribute to the sales it has acheived now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulps finest, 1 April 2002
By 
michael william cain (liverpool, merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
Superior to 'A different class', in many ways. Lyrically and musically it seems more genuine and sophisticated. 'Lipgloss' is one of the finest songs of the 90's, along with 'do you remember the first time'. Brilliant fusions of 'upbeat', seemingly disco beats with aching, melancholic lyrics. Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Different Class", 28 Mar 2009
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
My first review for Amazon! Just had to say how much I love this album. It brings backs so many lovely memories of the mid 1990s, and is wonderful in all respects. Clever, intelligent, melodic, it just hits all the right notes even now in 2009. The opening chords to "Babies" still makes my spine tingle 15 years later every time I hear it, and remains one of my all time favourites. Just sit back with a beer, low lights and enjoy - Jarvis just exudes smoothness and intelligence, and it's a pleasure to listen to. Just enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime album from a fantastic band, 20 Feb 2009
By 
BabyLamb (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
I'll get to the point here. His 'n' Hers is an utterly fantastic album in every possible way. The songs are tuneful, meaningful and heartfelt and are beautifully played and sung all the way through although it does sound ever-so-slightly dated today. The production is a bit flat compared with Different Class and This Is Hardcore but this disc has more longevity than the former yet more accessibility than the latter.
Anyway, the songs themselves; unfortunately the album opens with arguably the weakest track (weak being a relative term) in 'Joyriders' which is short and rocky enough for one not to mind but the tracks that follow are all in a different class (it's been a long day). 'Lipgloss' is a Pulp classic, as are 'Babies' and 'Do You Remember The First Time?' and all rightly so; catchy but perverted, prime Pulp material. On a personal note though the tracks 'Pink Glove' and 'Have You Seen Her Lately?' are for me some of the best numbers the band has ever recorded, from the irresistible hooks right down to the tuneful wail of Mr. Cocker. The tenth track, 'Someone Like The Moon', is much-maligned by Pulp fans and I cannot see why; it is slower than the preceding tracks but is almost tragic and mournful, a different direction from the band here. The final track is probably longer than is necessary and a bit uninspired when contrasted with what has gone before but it is a grower.
My only complaint is that 'Razzmatazz' is not on the CD (at least the British version of it) which is a shame since it would make an outstanding album unbearably and overwhelmingly amazing.
Five stars awarded, easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to do just about anything by, 27 Dec 2007
By 
J. R. Turner "Jenny" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
I bought this when it first came out. I was in Virgin and a song was playing in the background (Lipgloss). I bought the album without listening to anymore and have never regretted it.

Jarvis Cocker's voice is distinctive and edgy. The songs are contemporary with subjects such as anorexia and joyriding being tackled in a non-confrontational yet non-glorifying way.

Every song on this album makes me sing along to it and I bought my next Pulp album - 'A Different Class' - because I loved 'His 'n' Hers' so much. For those of you who don't have this album yet but have heard 'A Different Class', you can expect a less commercial pop flavour from 'His 'n' Hers' and this is what gives it the edge for me. I just love 'His 'n' Hers' and never tire of hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slice of the real 90s, 19 Mar 2010
By 
P. Lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
I thoroughly agree with a previous reviewer's comments that this is somehow more raw, more angry than Different Class; the bassline of Bodiesand refrain of Do you remember the first time/I can't remember a worse time say it all (does anyone remember the accompanying vid?!). Although often seen as a 'breakthrough' album I'm quite pleased it doesn't feel like mainstream BritPop...it's a great slice of the mid-90s - hard to believe it's 16 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Equal of Different Class, 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: His 'N' Hers (Audio CD)
Prior to 'Different Class', Pulp had previously released four other studio albums. 'It' is very tuneful if a bit MOR; 'Freaks' makes very difficult listening, though it is not without merit; and 'Separations', Pulp's attempt at Acid House, contains some excellent disco tunes and poignant lyrics. But it is His n' Hers that stands out. From the opening lines of first track 'Joyriders', you know you are in for a treat. The album is a seemingly endless sequence of superb songs, combining touching and entertaining lyrics with killer tunes. If this album had come after 'Different Class' when Pulp were well-known, it would have been mega. Still, if you in any way like Different Class, I suggest you contribute to the sales it has acheived now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

His 'N' Hers
His 'N' Hers by Pulp (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews