Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sandy A critical analysis
This DVD contains some footage I had not seen before - understandably, given the times when Sandy performed, video footage was rare, no doubt helped by the TV companies habit of re-using tapes now and again! Some very straight talking by Martin Carthy about Trevor Lucas, good value from Gerry Conway and Dave Mattacks. all in all a balaced view of Sandy Denny, warts and...
Published on 21 Oct 2006 by Mr. Charles Treen

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice try, but could be so much better
I have been looking forward to a Sandy dvd for ages so snapped this up as soon as it came out.

If you want other musicians stories relating to Sandy's career then you will find this a good dvd. But for every 10 mins of talking to people who knew her, all you get 30 seconds of video footage of her.

If they had taken all the video clips they show and...
Published on 3 Sep 2006 by Mr. D. Ombler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice try, but could be so much better, 3 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. D. Ombler "omby" (n.lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have been looking forward to a Sandy dvd for ages so snapped this up as soon as it came out.

If you want other musicians stories relating to Sandy's career then you will find this a good dvd. But for every 10 mins of talking to people who knew her, all you get 30 seconds of video footage of her.

If they had taken all the video clips they show and shown the full footage for each song, I would quite willingly paid three times the cost of this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sandy A critical analysis, 21 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD contains some footage I had not seen before - understandably, given the times when Sandy performed, video footage was rare, no doubt helped by the TV companies habit of re-using tapes now and again! Some very straight talking by Martin Carthy about Trevor Lucas, good value from Gerry Conway and Dave Mattacks. all in all a balaced view of Sandy Denny, warts and all. Pretty much what it says on the tin.

The whole DVD just reinforces the sadness at her untimely demise - she had so much more to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping this is any good? Believ me, it is!, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw a poster for this dvd when at the 2006 Cropredy festival, and thus ran off to buy it at any market stall I could find that sold it. It's cover suggests a probably poor quality piece of journalism, but if, like me you think that you are wrong! It is quite an academic piece, which suits her story beautifully, it covers her career quite closely and, lets be honest, it contains several snips of footage that have laid dormant in some television archives somewhere under layer of dust. Notable examples are of the one in ten programme, showing snips of Late November, Crazy Lady Blues and The North Star Grassmen and the Ravens. I've had this footage for a while, but it's always nice to see. The other outstanding footage is of Fotheringay, playing Too Much of Nothing and Gypsy Davey. Wow! Where has this been all these years and how much not more is there? Sorry, I'm going off at a tangent. Oh, there's a snip of Fairport in Rising for the Moon lineup, doing Downb in the Flood, Like and Old Fashioned Waltz and Solo (in grainy b&w). So, lots to get fans' lips smacking.

Also, there are lots of intelligent and, essentially for such a product, interesting interviews with people who knew her; John Renbourne, Dave Swarbrick, Martin Cathy, Dave Mattacks and some academic, but none the less thought provoking interviewing interviews with music journalists who clearly display a knowledge and deep love of her work.

I think many who see this product is out to buy, after no televisual documentaries of her have ever been produced, either for vidoe/dvd release or television, will be nipping themselves and hoping it is worth the time spent to investigate. I am a looooong term Sandy fan, a completist of her work and have spend years trawling the internet for anything new (or old!) and this is an excellent documentary and hopfully will generate soem new fans. If it does that, and nothing else it will have done it's job. Whoever is behind it, well done! It's a peach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A flawed documentary but a brilliant subject, 6 Oct 2006
If, like me, you are a massive Sandy Denny fan who laments the lack of video footage available to supplement her catalogue of solo and Fotheringport material, then you will almost certainly jump at the opportunity to see, in this DVD, some new material.

Unfortunately, what we have is a meander through Sandy's recording career in the company of three windbag journalists, without the benefit of any sensible editorial control. I am sure that in the written medium their discourses would be cut-down and more to the point, and they clearly know their subject, but here they are just left to waffle on and this detracts from the messages they are trying to convey. Some tracks are analysed in the minutest detail and some equally important material does not get a mention.

There a few of Sandy's musical collaborators on hand to add their opinions and insights, but there is the impression that these were just the few that happened to be in town the week that the interviews were recorded. Martin Carthy is impassioned as always, most notably in defence of Trevor Lucas who has had some bad press for his "desertion" of Sandy prior to her death. A rather camp-looking Dave Mattacks and fellow-drummer Gerry Conway are again afflicted by the absence of editing, which is a shame as I think Gerry gives the most credible explanation of Sandy's career dilemmas. Dave Swarbrick's comments have a certain poignancy; not enjoying the best of health, himself, it seems especially sad that he can't listen to Sandy these days because of the emotions her voice evokes.

As for the music footage, well there is very little and nothing in-full. In summary, for die-hards and completists only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten talent, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Sandy Denny now seems to have been largely forgotten, but in the 1970s she was a major star in the folk rock world, and is the only guest vocalist to have performed on a Led Zeppelin track.She wrote some wonderful songs, but seems to have suffered from a lack of confidence in her own ability.
The DVD is mainly composed of recollections from people who knew or worked with her, and there is surprisngly little footage of her performing.
I've given it 5 stars as it is an honest attempt to give a balanced account of a woman, who could have achieved so much, but whose life was tragically cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping this is any good? Believe me, it is!!!!, 28 May 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I saw a poster for this dvd when at the 2006 Cropredy festival, and thus ran off to buy it at any market stall I could find that sold it. It's cover suggests a probably poor quality piece of journalism, but if, like me you think that you are wrong! It is quite an academic piece, which suits her story beautifully, it covers her career quite closely and, lets be honest, it contains several snips of footage that have laid dormant in some television archives somewhere under layer of dust. Notable examples are of the one in ten programme, showing snips of Late November, Crazy Lady Blues and The North Star Grassmen and the Ravens. I've had this footage for a while, but it's always nice to see. The other outstanding footage is of Fotheringay, playing Too Much of Nothing and Gypsy Davey. Wow! Where has this been all these years and how much not more is there? Sorry, I'm going off at a tangent. Oh, there's a snip of Fairport in Rising for the Moon lineup, doing Down in the Flood, Like and Old Fashioned Waltz and Solo (in grainy b&w). So, lots to get fans' lips smacking.
Also, there are lots of intelligent and, essentially for such a product, interesting interviews with people who knew her; John Renbourne, Dave Swarbrick, Martin Cathy, Dave Mattacks and some academic, but none the less thought provoking interviewing interviews with music journalists who clearly display a knowledge and deep love of her work.
I think many who see this product is out to buy, after no televisual documentaries of her have ever been produced, either for vidoe/dvd release or television, will be nipping themselves and hoping it is worth the time spent to investigate. I am a looooong term Sandy fan, a completist of her work and have spend years trawling the internet for anything new (or old!) and this is an excellent documentary and hopfully will generate soem new fans. If it does that, and nothing else it will have done it's job. Whoever is behind it, well done! It's a peach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sandy Denny Under Review DVD, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Still not arrived, no update on delivery expect for what appears on my account

Bought as a birthday present and the birthday has now gone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, and worthwhile, 6 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I am a huge admirer of Sandy Denny's beautiful voice, but I didn't know much about her life, or her work. I bought this DVD more in hope than expectation, but once I had put it on, I couldn't leave it. It seems a very comprehensive account of her life, backed up by interesting interviews with those who knew her. Having seen the DVD I bought half a dozen CDs (from Amazon) that I hadn't previously been aware of.
There is limited footage of her performing but that didn't matter to me as I wanted to learn about her story. It would have been nice to have heard from a wider range of people including more of the original Fairports, but nevertheless it seemed well researched and, running to around two hours, felt like good value. At the end, I felt I had a much better understanding of what had happened and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth having because there's little choice BUT..., 27 April 2008
By 
P. Nixon "Born 2B Mild" (North Yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With good editing, this could have said what was worth saying and seeing/hearing in half the running time. It's almost worth having an abridged version released. Too much weight is given to journo pundits compared to those who were close to her, such as the other surviving Fairport'ers like Richard Thompson. Get it if you have nothing else, but if there were other rockumentaries of Sandy, this would probably be the weakest of the bunch. As a fan, I was lucky to meet her, but to those who weren't so lucky, I hope a better DVD comes along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is This For Real????, 4 July 2006
Am I seeing what i think im seeing - a sandy denny dvd???? well if it is on the way it gets 5 stars from me just for existing - and if it has one note of her musci in i'll double that to 10, but come on, do I really have to wait til end of august to see it?

anyone out there know anything about this???

if so please tell all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006]
Sandy Denny-Under Review [DVD] [2006] by Sandy Denny (DVD - 2006)
9.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews