Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Garden Lawn Dies
They just won't go away, will they. I thought they wouldn't be able to follow the last album 'Inferno' too easily but once again the 'Head have produced another quality album. Standout tracks are Trigger, Under The Gun, God Is Never On Your Side, Be My Baby and the best of all Kingdom Of The Worm. Definetly an album that grows on you, the first time i heard it i thought...
Published on 15 Sep 2006 by Tattooed Marauder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No Inferno...
I like it, BUT I dont love it!
It lacks the punch, production wise of 2004's Inferno - slightly too clean. Also the songs aren't quite as good.
Having said that there are 3 REAL standouts here:
Living In The Past - A real slow groover, a bit like In The Year Of The Wolf from the Inferno album.
Kingdom Of The Worm - Very heavy, ala Sacrifice - great...
Published on 14 May 2008 by Adam Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Garden Lawn Dies, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
They just won't go away, will they. I thought they wouldn't be able to follow the last album 'Inferno' too easily but once again the 'Head have produced another quality album. Standout tracks are Trigger, Under The Gun, God Is Never On Your Side, Be My Baby and the best of all Kingdom Of The Worm. Definetly an album that grows on you, the first time i heard it i thought it was a bit of a let down but repeated listens and the tracks start opening up, just like Inferno. Can't wait for the November UK tour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorhead ARE rock n' roll. Simple fact., 3 Sep 2006
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Not only does Lemmy's physiology continue to defy medical science, but his Band, who should have long since began to run out of ideas and sound stale, continue to come up with slabs of the rawest,catchiest,loudest, dirtiest rock imaginable. Best thing they have done since 1916 - the album not the year ;-) . LONG LIVE LEMMY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 15 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
as a long time Motorhead fan (I'm on No Sleep 'til Hammersmith...no really I am) I can confidently say 2 things;
1. this is one of the best albums anyone has ever done...ever
2. Lemmy is wearing considerably better than I am!
buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiss of life, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
This was the first proper Motorhead album that I bought, even though I've been a fan of their stuff for years. This album rocks, and it rocks hard.

This album only lets up once throughout and apart from that Ian, or Lemmy and the gang show no mercy. It's all good old-fashioned Metal.

The album opens up with 'Sucker', which is, in my opinion the album's weakest track. The songs are played mostly at breakneck speed and that's how Motorhead are at their best. Nevertheless, 'Sucker' merits 8/10.

Track number two, 'One Night Stand' is a faster, heavier track, and it's from now onwards that things begin to get interesting. 'Love at first sight, love of the travelling man, I've been a slut all my life, wish every night was a one-night stand.' Lemmy grunts. Indeed. 9/10.

Track three is ferocious. It opens up with a rip-roaring riff and a cracker at that. This one is called 'Devil I Know'. I love Lemmy's lyrics here: 'I might be a dog, but honey, you're a b****.' If one thing is clear, it's the fact that this album needs to be played loud. If it ain't loud, clearly you shouldn't be listening to it. This rocks. 9/10.

Track four, 'Trigger' is another brilliant track. How the 'Head maintain this consistency is beyond me. It must be Lemmy's indestructibility or something. Kilmister's roaring, rasping vocals combined with chugging, crunching riffs make for a fantastic metal track. And that's exactly what you get here. Top track. 10/10.

Track five, and the longest track on offer here, 'Under The Gun', is a down-tempo track. Don't let that fool you though. It still rocks hard. Especially the chorus- crunching riffs and rasping vocals. Brilliant. 9/10.

Track six is where things do actually slow down. The ballad, 'God Was Never On Your Side' is the softest thing heard since 'Inferno''s 'Whorehouse Blues' back in 2004. This, however is a much stronger album than 'Inferno' ever was, and this song is a brilliant song, so much better than anything the 'Head have done in years. Listen to it and you will not be disappointed. 10/10.

Track seven, takes things back to normal. 'Living In The Past' is a normal, metal track as they were before track six. Not the strongest track, but strong enough, and Motorhead are doing what they do best- rock hard. 8/10.

Track eight, 'Christine', believe it or not, could have been written by Guns N' Roses. The guitaring is quite bluesy-rock, and you can just imagining Slash playing these riffs. Even the drumming style is similar. Maybe even Velvet Revolver could have written it. Quite different for Motorhead, but a possible release and why the hell not? It's brilliant and very catchy. 9/10.

Track nine, 'Sword Of Glory' is much more like usual Motorhead. Back to the grinding riffs and unmistakeable rhythm. This is Motorhead, alright, although not their strongest. 8/10.

Track ten, 'Be My Baby' is outstanding. The opening riff is astoundingly heavy and distinctly ferocious. Motorhead specifically set out to rock the balls off whoever listens to this song. Turn this one up to eleven and head-bang, this is is the kind of song you want. Old-fashioned Metal, about sex, drugs and so on. Fantastic. 10/10.

Track eleven, 'Kingdom Of The Worm' is very 'Ace Of Spades', in its rhythm and poise. Lemmy growls 'Do you remember?' This song oozes power and ferocity. Lemmy doesn't really sing here. He just growls to scare all the little kids who call themselves metal-heads away crying to their parents. This is proper Metal. 10/10.

Track twelve, and the final track, is called 'Going Down'. Going back to the subject of 'Doctor Rock' which, of course was a song title on a previous release so it's a bit of a tongue-in-cheek reference to exactly that. Fast-paced and hard-rocking, this is 110 mile an hour tempo to finish an already exemplary album. 'Doctor Rock' is Lemmy Kilmister and he is going to rock your socks and your feet. 10/10.

Overall, it is an astoundingly heavy album, and Motorhead are still doing what they've been doing for the past 30 years or so, just that they're more uncompromising than ever.

A contender for the Metal album of 2006, along with Iron Maiden's 'A Matter Of Life And Death' and Trivium's 'The Crusade'. This runs them both pretty close, in my opinion. And one final comment. Lemmy Kilmister just will not grow old gracefully, will he? Thank God for people like him, that's all I can say. An album deserving of a solid 9/10. Excellent effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Inferno..., 14 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
I like it, BUT I dont love it!
It lacks the punch, production wise of 2004's Inferno - slightly too clean. Also the songs aren't quite as good.
Having said that there are 3 REAL standouts here:
Living In The Past - A real slow groover, a bit like In The Year Of The Wolf from the Inferno album.
Kingdom Of The Worm - Very heavy, ala Sacrifice - great riffs, pounding drums & Lemmy's sandpaper vocals - Lyrically a bit similiar to Orgasmatron.
God Was Never On Your Side - The albums out & out killer track. Topical lyrics, starts off with cool acoustic chords, absoluteley massive chorus (great vocal from Lemmy), builds to a HUGE, OTT guitar solo! One of Motorhead's best epic/ballads EVER!

To be honest, this album only suffers a bit in my eyes because Inferno was just so damned good.

"WE ARE MOTORHEAD... AND WE PLAY ROCK N ROLL!!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kiss of Death, 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
I'm an old fan of Motorhead (On Parole was my first album) and have to admit I don't think Lemmy and the boys have ever really topped Bomber and Overkill, so I was pleasently surprised to hear this latest offering. Some great 'head tunes (tho' lemmy's lyrics are getting (even more) ridiculous in his old age!! (hence the 3 stars!)

"Be my baby","Living in the past", "Under the gun, "Trigger","Devil i know" and "Sucker" are great proper Motorhead toons and make this album worth it's asking price. Just avoid "God was never on your side" (oh dear!) but don't hold it against the big L-meister, and I have to say Sword of glory is a surprising grower. All in all it would have been a fantastic EP.Instead you get a good album but hey, you can't knock 'em too much..there a blinkin' institution! So rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'Inferno'!, 29 Aug 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Is it that Motorhead work so well with producer, Cameron Webb, or have they hit a dynamic peak of creativity again? Like our friend, The Jazz Man, someone downloaded an early copy, but I didn't wanna cheat by early reviewing it, so I'm well into the tracks by now, and must say, and it's only my opinion, it's better than 'Inferno'! Coupled with this 'official limited edition release,' we also get 'Whiplash,' the '2004 Grammy Award Winner for Best Metal Performance' as an extra track, a splendid fold-out digi-pak, a booklet, (which every release will get), and a small poster. Indeed, not only have Motorhead done the deed by surpassing themslves, so has sleeve artist, Joe Petagno, his art is superb throughout! Top notch all around - buy it now and gibber and drool at the 'Heads latest blinder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 2 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
I love this cd. Personally, I prefer it to Inferno, although I do agree with some of the other comments here. Overall, Inferno has a great sound, production-wise, and consistently good songs all the way through. The reason I prefer this one is simply because I think the outstanding tracks here stand out more than the outstanding tracks on Inferno. I would recommend both cds anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 31 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Simply the BEST Motörhead album of all times. A new classic of Rock n' Roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are eternal, 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] (Audio CD)
Personally i thought inferno was a bit over rated, but this is the ultimate. There is not one bad track on this album and the standout ones are Christine, Sucker, God was never on your side and Be my baby (I don't think kingdom of the worm is that awesome). Motorhead have proved they will always be awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition]
Kiss Of Death [Limited Edition] by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews