Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Monkeys, LMT coming thru!
Another four-piece band from Sheffield producing indie-rock to the masses. The story may sound similar, and to the average music hearer, they may just appear to be a sound-a-like to the "Arctic Monkeys", but in reality the two bands vary considerably.

Little Man Tates lyrical content is often about the following, "Sexual nature, Rock, and Parties!"...
Published on 31 Jan. 2007 by Ruberi Hodges

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lazy Review
This is a good album - 3 stars, Arctic Monkeys is a very good album - 4 stars, but Milburn is an excellent album - 5 Stars. Once you hear Well Well Well, there is comparison in sound but little comparison in quality. My advice would be that if you don't own any of the above albums, you only need to buy one and that would be Milburn. I really don't understand why so many...
Published on 9 Feb. 2007 by Keith Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Monkeys, LMT coming thru!, 31 Jan. 2007
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
Another four-piece band from Sheffield producing indie-rock to the masses. The story may sound similar, and to the average music hearer, they may just appear to be a sound-a-like to the "Arctic Monkeys", but in reality the two bands vary considerably.

Little Man Tates lyrical content is often about the following, "Sexual nature, Rock, and Parties!"

Sexual nature can be seen in "Down on Marie", about a woman who was previously lesbian, but then converts to bisexual, and Jon's experience of a threesome.

"Court Report" is about a transvestite who's also a hooligan. Great lyrical content such as "He dishes out a kick-in with a thong under his jeans" and "He's gonna score some trouble with blusher on his face"

I could talk about every song, but then I will ruin the suprise for you when you listen to this record. In general this album is immense, It contains much more complex solo's to that of Arctic Monkeys, without being over-the-top or too much.

I've seen this band twice live (Leeds festival and Loughborough University, both of which were amazing performances)and with both sets they deliver their material with enthusiasm and full on banter. They look natural on stage and you can tell they love every minute of it. I even got to meet them after. They're modest down-to-earth lads.

I prefer this album to "Whatever ppl say i am thats what im not" due to its more comical lyric content and catchier riffs. Even if you hate the Arctic Monkeys with a passion (like my flatmate does!), when I took him to go see LMT live, he loved it and thinks they are a "Top tip for the future".

You should buy this album not just because its amazing but quite simply because they're from Yorkshire, and you know it will rock your world! It's inevitable that these already 6ft tall musicians will turn into giant superstars with the release of this record alone. Tell your friends before they tell you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOP POP, 21 Feb. 2007
By 
L. R. Deane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
I think some of the reviews are a bit harsh, it is true there is a "sound" they fit into as identified by other reviewers but hey music is a genre thing. For sheer energy and enthusiasm this is a top album- irritatingly catchy at times (speaking as someone who finds sexy in latin running through the head in dull meetings). The lyrics are witty, its a much more up beat "young and partying" album than some of their contempories are producing- no northern anxt for the lads. If you fancy a sing along in the car, turn it up loud and have a good time album take a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 4 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. M. Booth (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
It's rare that I buy an album where I love each and every song as much as the last, and I was pleasantly surprised when I bought this one. I had heard other songs of theirs, and thought they were great, so when I bought the album and heard more of their music, I wasn't let down. Some of the lyrics are genius, and I would recommend this album to any fan of Indie, Rock or Alternative music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood music, 1 Feb. 2007
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
One of many bands to hone their skills by continuous live gigging, coming from the Steel City and thus drawing inevitable comparisons to other more or less successful Yorkshire bands, Little Man Tate have managed to create a sound both familiar and fresh. What can only be described as bluesy guitar indie-pop, with solid rhythms and noticeable basslines, is enlivened by zeitgeisty lyrics which hold a mirror to the youth of today, who party, have uncomplicated sex and booze the night away - sometimes at the same time, sometimes while falling in love.

The music will remind you of a million songs you've heard before, but that familiarity never resolves into a full-blown sense of deja-heard - in so doing, they are tapping creatively into a collective wealth of sounds from the postpunk era to the Manchester golden years. The lyrics and the apparent guilelessness of the singer's voice may make the wannabe sophisticated listener cringe, but behind the cover of simply writing 'About What He Knows' there is a combination of sharp observation, social critique for the playground and a deep well of sympathy for those outsider characters, the crossdressing football hooligan ('Court report'), the girls who pretend to bisexuality to make themselves attractive to boys ('Down on Marie'), abandon their boyfriends to go travelling ('European Lover') or live for the weekend or a one-night stand ('This Girl'). There is also first love ('Sexy in Latin', 'This Must Be Love') and an interesting diversion into Heat-magazine characters ('Who Invented These Lists', 'Little Big Man').

This is feelgood music that doesn't let go, from start to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheffield's underrated sons!, 17 April 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
If you like bands of the same style as Arctic Monkeys, this indie classic (but sadly underrated) album is almost certainly for you. Little Man Tate, a four-piece-group from Sheffield only stuck around for four years, but they released two good albums, and had a handful of hit singles. The sound is similar to that of Alex Turner's group at first listen, particularly on the quirky and witty (not quite) love song 'This Must Be Love', but when you spin 'About What You Know' around a few times, you'll find that this guys did have their own style.

I love simple, feel-good indie rock music with catchy hooks and witty, well-observed, and relatable lyrics, and this album certainly ticks all those boxes. The two big hits singles 'This Must Be Love' and 'House Party At Boothy's', are both engaging tunes and are my real highlights, along with 'Down On Marie', which has very clever lyrics, telling the story of one of the many young girls, the kind of which I knew, who pretend to be bisexual in order to make themselves appear more attractive to the guys.. Really though, there isn't a track on here that I ever skip pass, I was a huge fan of these men, and I still I am - the whole 'About What You Know' will always hold a special place in my heart, and on my iPod.

Lead singer Jon Windle, who has since released two solo albums, has a very prominent Sheffield accent, which is something I always find most appealing whenever I'm listening.

Track Listing:
1. Man I Hate Your Band
2. European Lover
3. Sexy in Latin
4. This Must Be Love
5. House Party at Boothy's
6. Who Invented These Lists?
7. Court Report
8. Little Big Man
9. 3 Day Rule
10. This Girl Isn't My Girlfriend
11. Down on Marie
12. What? What You Got? (Hidden Track)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yorkshire's Power Popmeisters, 8 Mar. 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
Short-lived, Sheffield-based band Little Man Tate's 2007 debut album About What You Know is a great example of a straight-ahead band doing what they know best i.e. making brilliant, unpretentious (post-punk) pop. OK, so the lyrics aren't particularly deep and meaningful, but the guitar and vocal hooks are totally infectious (providing a similar appeal to that of bands such as The Housemartins and The Undertones). Following on from (and in largely the same vein as) their Yorkshire counterparts, The Arctic Monkeys, Little Man Tate inexplicably achieved nothing like the commercial success as the Monkeys (or even the much inferior Kaiser Chiefs), and never achieved their due critical recognition (although Steve Lamacq was a big fan and played them frequently on his radio show).

This gem of an album features a string of songs whose subject matter focuses principally on the common obsessions of most young males, namely girls and partying (in outstanding songs European Lover, This Must Be Love and Down On Marie), and also covers inter-band rivalries (Man I Hate Your Band), the pretences of the celebrity A/B/C/D listers (Who Invented These Lists?) and even cross dressing (Court Report).

Sadly, Little Man Tate split up in 2009 after releasing the equally good follow-up album Nothing Worth Having Comes Easy. Main songwriter Jon Windle is now pursuing a solo career
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lazy Review, 9 Feb. 2007
By 
Keith Hughes "Kidda" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
This is a good album - 3 stars, Arctic Monkeys is a very good album - 4 stars, but Milburn is an excellent album - 5 Stars. Once you hear Well Well Well, there is comparison in sound but little comparison in quality. My advice would be that if you don't own any of the above albums, you only need to buy one and that would be Milburn. I really don't understand why so many people are ignoring them, but I'm happy for them to be a well kept secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality....., 2 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. D. S. Farnsworth (SOUTH YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
Great CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine album for fans of simple but witty rock sound, 4 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
If you like the Arctic Monkeys and maybe the Libertines and what came after it (Dirty Pretty Things and Babyshambles - in no particular order), you will probably like that, if not you should better take you hands off that: 'It's rather simple, if there's any production, it is more absent than visible and the themes and sounds are rather repetetive. That's true especially if you listen from start to finish: "Man I hate you band" has some laughs with it's observation of British music culture of recent, "European lover" and "Sexy in Latin" are, well, about a European Lover and being sexy in latin "House Party at Boothy's" is about having a House Party at a friend's. So this album is fine at certain monments, while it can be quite annoying at other's. Probably first listen to it, before you'll buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Wannabees!, 9 Feb. 2007
This review is from: About What You Know (Audio CD)
I know reviews like this usually rile people, so I appologize in advance, but quite frankly I am sick to the teeth of bandwagonner after bandwagonner of bands who think, just because they can sing with an accent, they have a right to be succesful.

Whilst I accept that such bands as Little Man Tate wrote all their songs before the Arctic Monkeys were even a twinkle in Music's eye, to be frank - it's too late. The industry does not need another fifty bands with northern accents - the Monkeys were the quickest to get a deal and release an album, and other bands should accept that and move on, or produce something with a touch of originality. It's boring. I'm dozing just thinking of the current state of Indie bands.

Their single, Sexy In Latin, was by no means a shoddy performance (note 2*s) but it just sounds so unoriginal.

Im sorry lads, but you should have moved quicker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

About What You Know
About What You Know by Little Man Tate (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews