Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Old and Grey About this DVD!
It's been a very very long time coming but finally someone has got around to releasing Martyn's BBC TV appearances on DVD - WELL DONE UNIVERSAL! This is a fantastic collection of Old Grey Whistle Test and Rock Goes To College appearances. The last BBC material was released in 1982 on Betamax video so you can see what I mean about 'not before time!' So whats on it, well...
Published on 2 Sep 2006 by Heatwave

versus
23 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glass half empty
John Martyn is without doubt one of the best singer songwriters to have ever emerged from the post Beatles era. However, whilst this DVD contains sufficient evidence of Martyn's brilliance in the 1970s OGWT shows , it also reveals his ability to let style overcome substance in the 1980s when he unwisely engaged rock bands to bolster his sound. For anyone who has ever been...
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Harvey B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Old and Grey About this DVD!, 2 Sep 2006
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It's been a very very long time coming but finally someone has got around to releasing Martyn's BBC TV appearances on DVD - WELL DONE UNIVERSAL! This is a fantastic collection of Old Grey Whistle Test and Rock Goes To College appearances. The last BBC material was released in 1982 on Betamax video so you can see what I mean about 'not before time!' So whats on it, well here we go ;

The Old Grey Whistle Test, Collegiate Theatre, UCL, January 10th 1978 - May You Never, Small Hours, Certain Surprise, Couldn't Love You More and Big Muff.

Rock Goes To College, Reading University, October 20th 1978 -

May You Never, One World, One Day Without You, The Dealer, Certain Surprise, Big Muff and Anna.

Rock Goes To College, Stirling University, March 2nd 1981

Big Muff, Some People Are Crazy, Grace and Danger, Save Some (For Me), Eibhli Ghail Chiuin Ni Chearbhail, Couldn't Love You More, Amsterdam and Johnny Too Bad.

Bonus Footage, ALL from The Old Grey Whistle Test;

March 13th 1973

May You Never and I'd Rather Be The Devil.

January 17th 1975

One Day Without You and You Can Discover.

March 1st 1977

Couldn't Love You More and One World.

October 15th 1982

Hiss On The Tape, Hung Up and Gun Money.

An absolutely essential DVD for all John Martyn fans, the animated menu is superb, the content even better and artwork excellent - a very well presented package with quality sleeve and good liner notes. Yeah, I know it's sad but I enjoy reading them!

A fantastic value release at less than £10, so waht are you waiting for? BUY IT, you will not be diappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed pleasure!, 3 July 2009
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
For someone who appreciates the work of John Martyn, this DVD is a must. Starting from the late 70's with a set from the Old Grey Whistle Test and then Reading University. John Plays a stunning, mainly acoustic performance as a soloist and includes his witty banter with the audience.

Into 1981, Stirling University; John performs with his band and uses electric for this performance. There are Extra features with other great sessions with John, from The old Grey whistle test.

154 minutes of fantastic music, showing the great skill of John Martyn's playing, his witty humour and unique voice. What is lovely, is that it is filmed in such a way, that it feels as if you could be there in front row position. It has a personal, simplistic feel, and Truly mesmerizing to watch! The quality and sound is excellent. Beautifully put together. DTS surround sound.

If John Martyn's music and playing style interests you, than quite simply this DVD will not disappoint. It is a lovely keepsake to remember this great artist. I cannot think of any negatives for this DVD, other than i wish there could be more John Martyn performances available to buy to this quality and standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and learn, 12 Aug 2008
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Anyone who wants to find out about good music played by someone at the top of their game need look no further than this DVD.

The tracklisting is top notch and the source very good to excellent. Given the BBC's poor ability to archive material there is a surprisingly large ammount of john Martyn still arrund in the archive.

This has to be one of my top 5 music DVD's beaten only by (Led Zeppelins DVD,for quality and quantity and Paul McCartneys DVD for Volume of material)

Hats off to the compillers this should be in every musicians collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John at his best, 13 May 2011
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this DVD, and it's safe to say that it exceeded my expectations. Starting off with John's early, solo work with some incredible versions of tracks including Small Hours and One World, though to his later work with his band.

I've read a review on here suggesting disappointment with the later songs with John's full band, stating that it showed "his ability to let style overcome substance in the 1980s when he unwisely engaged rock bands to bolster his sound". To my mind this is a ridiculous statement. John's work with his band showed his need to keep experimenting and developing his sound, he was certainly not the kind of musician to find his style and sit comfortably with it, he was constantly looking for new directions, and I think that even if some of these journeys have been less successful than others, it shows his creativity and unbelievable talent. The same reviewer adds "but I can't help thinking of how much better this DVD could have been", which I can only assume means that they'd have preferred a DVD of only John's early, solo work, which would have been to only see him at the very start of his amazing career and miss the fantastic developments from his further journey.

This DVD is brilliant from start to finish and hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint, 4 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD covers performances from 1975-82, when John Martyn was at his best, which is how I prefer to remember him. The performances are just so good: OK, I'm a fan. There is so much more to John Martyn than "May you never", although to see him singing that song from "The Old Grey Whistle Test" in 1973 is an intimate experience. No frills - solo guitar, voice and microphone. There are, in fact, three versions of this song on the DVD, and that's OK because it's 154 minutes long. Lots of solo stuff in a BBC studio and good live gigs as well; John sometimes playing with a band. The musicianship is outstanding, the picture and sound quality are excellent, considering that it dates from over 35 years ago. If you're my age, you'll remember and love it. If you're younger, John Martyn is one of those artists you ought to know about. His influence is still very much alive. I wish he were - I miss him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terence Speaks ..., 5 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. A. Staines (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
John Martyn is a bloody genius anyway, but to watch him actually play live on these BBC recordings takes you back to a period in time that was frequented by the likes of Nick Drake, Bert Jansch, etc etc ... You just HAVE to buy this, it's priceless. You find yourself watching his fingers intently, and trying to work out all the weird tunings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Martyn the genius at his best, 1 Dec 2006
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you like John Martyn this is heaven. He is like a nerdy guy twitching and making silly remarks between songs - his tourette-like persona disappears as soon as the music starts - his vocals and guitar playing are just incredible - he is just at one with his music, which seems to come through him, from a higher place - he may not be the best lyricist - but the lyrics are good enough to convey the powerful emotion and you could never say his music doesn't come from the heart -

on the 80's bit he has a band - to talk about this as wise or unwise makes no sense - he will always do his own thing, what he feels like doing, as geniuses do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 20 May 2008
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I love John Martyn's music and at last I've found this copy of the gig I went to when I was university. Fantastic to "re-live" it, memories flooding back. Weird seeing myself in the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of latest john martyn dvd, 26 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Martyn C. Hunt (Barnsley England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I've been a John Martyn fan for over 30 years its just great to have any dvd showing him in action as it were. Just a great collection so glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
we all adore john martyn i bought this dvd for my son so i havent seen it myself i want to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006]
John Martyn: Live At The BBC [DVD] [2006] by John Martyn (DVD - 2006)
£11.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews