Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ghost rider ignites the screen
Most reviews of this film have been apathetic at best but i'd be inclined to be a little more generous.
Compared to some of Cage's recent efforts it's a step up. He has a passion for this comic, which he mentions in interview, he even has a tattoo of it and this enthusiasm comes through in his performance. Graphic novel anoraks will tell you that this is one of the...
Published on 8 July 2007 by Mr. Tw Harrisson

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite average joe...
One star is perhaps rather harsh, but rating this as a 5 star film is more unjust and very misleading. I can only imagine that such a high rating is more related to the viewers' personal circumstances when seeing this film - their young, impressionable age (no offence, we've all been there), perhaps a nice cosy night at the flicks with a boy/girlfriend, or maybe a...
Published on 14 Jun 2007 by Funkypeace


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ghost rider ignites the screen, 8 July 2007
By 
Most reviews of this film have been apathetic at best but i'd be inclined to be a little more generous.
Compared to some of Cage's recent efforts it's a step up. He has a passion for this comic, which he mentions in interview, he even has a tattoo of it and this enthusiasm comes through in his performance. Graphic novel anoraks will tell you that this is one of the most faithful adaptations to screen yet, they'll probably also tell you that having eye-candy like Eva Mendes in the film didn't do it any harm either...and they'd be right.
Mark Steven Johnson (also director of Daredevil) has done a good job with the adaptation, but having watched either Daredevil or Ghost Rider it's obvious that dialog isn't his strong point. Despite Cage's passion for the role, if you're expecting academy award winning acting from this flick, you're gonna be sorely disappointed. That said, Peter Fonda is very well cast as Mephistopholes and Wes Bentley does a good job at playing the bad-guy particularly in comparison to his slightly wet counter-parts.
The order of the day then; sit back, disengage the brain and enjoy the action as Ghost Rider literally ignites the screen with perpetual flames, even when not literal the fire imagery is ever present.
On Blu ray this looks even sharper than in the cinema, it really is stunning.
The extended cut runs for about an extra 13 minutes, and there are some nice featurettes on the extras disc. On the whole, a worthwhile purchase if you're a Marvel fan, or if you just fancy a good action flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as other Marvel films., 18 Sep 2007
By 
S. Harris "SPIDER_FAN106" (Swindon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is fun to watch, but nothing more. It doesn't have some deep, hidden message or any plot twists.

The action in this film is well done and is probably the strongest aspect of the film. Ghost Rider faces all kinds of demons, and each confrontation is short but sweet.

The love story in this film is good but nothing you haven't seen a million times before. The villian is good but unfortuanatly feels a bit B-movie-ish because of the way he acts. I don't know if the director is to blame for this or if the actor himself is.

The special effects are top-notch and as I stated previously the action is excellent. Ghost Rider makes a good debut in this movie. I hope to see a Ghost Rider 2, but with extended action scenes and it would be nice if it was a bit less predictable.

But hey, there are some good one liners here and the actual character of Ghost Rider is an uncomprimising badass. He will punish anyone who is guilty of a crime. In one part of the film he points towards a demon and says: "BACK TO HELL!" It sends a chill down your spine as you realise how unstoppable Ghost Rider is.........

So buy this film on DVD if you like supernatural stuff, or if you just like a good fantasy film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love the Ghost Rider, 27 Sep 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Even way back during my comic-collecting days, I never really crossed paths with Ghost Rider (I've read exactly one issue), and I only decided that I like Nicolas Cage after all about a year ago - so I wasn't exactly waiting for this film (and what a lengthy wait it turned out to be) with baited breath. You know what, though? I really enjoyed this movie. OK, the first half hour is a little slow and boring, but once the actual Ghost Riding starts, the action makes up for the deficiencies in the storyline. I can't say the whole flaming skull thing looks like it could even possibly be real, but it's still a flaming skull, and that is, by definition, pretty darn cool. And we all know that you can't really go wrong with demon fighting.

If you know nothing about Ghost Rider, here's all you really need to know. As a teenager, Johnny Blaze (Nicolas Cage) sold his soul to the devil (but not for greedy or selfish reasons) - only to be totally screwed over by the evil-doer. Knowing that old Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) could show up at any time to enforce his end of the deal, Blaze leaves the love of his life behind and heads out to lead a life of relative isolation. Following in his father's footsteps, he becomes a famous motorcycle daredevil, continually upping the danger ante in an effort to prove to himself that he, not Mephistopheles, is responsible for his success. Life goes on until the day he jumps the length of a football field (goalpost to goalpost, which would actually be 20 yards further than the 100 yards described in the film). As fate would have it, Blaze's death-defying jump actually pales in importance to two other things that happen: this is the day that Blaze's young sweetheart, Roxanne (Eva Mendes), suddenly comes back into his life, and it is also the day that Mephistopheles decides to show up and put his reluctant bounty hunter to work for the first time. Turning into a flaming skeleton consumed with the overwhelming need to punish evil-doers doesn't do much for romance, especially when it happens every night. Ghost Rider's targets aren't exactly easy to kill, either, because they are a group of demons led by Mephistopheles' rebellious son Blackheart (Wes Bentley). Father and son are both after the old contract for a thousand exceedingly corrupt souls a former Ghost Rider hid away from the devil's evil clutches.

Once Blaze transforms into Ghost Rider, some heavy CGI work is used to tell most of the rest of the story. None of the special effects will make your jaw drop open, but it's all pretty effective for the most part. That whole romance thing butts in from time to time to take away from all of the demonic action, but even the plot's predictability in this regard does little to take away from the overall entertainment factor. You especially have to love Ghost Rider's trademark finishing move, the Penance Stare.

I know the reaction to Ghost Rider has been a little on the mixed side, but I for one am glad to hear that there are plans for a sequel in the works. In terms of plot and characterization, this film does leave itself open to various levels of criticism, but Ghost Rider is a great character that could easily sustain a franchise of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Nicholas Cage stars as Eddie Kidd, actually Johnny Blaze, but never did anyone look so much like Eddie the bone-breaker.
Every boy wants to ride a Harley and riding one up a building and across a river engulfed in flames is a great fantasy.
It's a ripping yarn and it's a lot of fun. If you like Marvel you should love this. Pity there is no sequel! JP ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashes of smartness bogged down by poor villains., 2 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delayed by almost a year and coming from the director of Daredevil, Ghost Rider was given the death knell by many before even having seen it. Into the equation is that it stars Nicolas Cage, a man whose star has dimmed so badly it's as if Leaving Las Vegas had never been made, Ghost Rider it seems......... had to stink? Stunt motor cycle rider Johnny Blaze sells his soul to Mesphistopheles in exchange for his Fathers good health. Some time later the demon Blackheart comes to Earth wreaking havoc and Blaze is summoned by Mephistopheles to stop him, only Blaze is transformed into the Ghost Rider, a bike riding, chain slinging spirit of vengeance.

Ghost Rider is a fun film that sadly is not without flaws, but the comic touches and all round sense of fun, however, should not be understated, so much so that if people go into it with the expectation of a light and breezy comic book picture, then there is enjoyment to be had. The character of Blaze/Ghost Rider is wonderful in the extreme, Blaze doesn't drink alcohol, he instead drinks jellybeans out of a glass. He listens to The Carpenters and gets much amusement from watching chimps doing karate, this is a man who on his motorbike leaps the length of a football field over rotor whirling helicopters! Then Blaze becomes Ghost Rider, a maniacal mass of flame and one liners, an odd character when one thinks he works for the devil and makes his mantra one of striking down evildoers! And it's with that cheeky daftness that one needs to view this movie.

Nicolas Cage actively sought out the role of Blaze due to his immense love of the source, and there is no denying that he puts guts and kudos into the portrayal. He perfectly camps the comic book nature of Blaze, whilst revelling in the devil may care side of the Ghost Rider persona. However, Cage is the only one who can come out of the picture with any credit, female love interest falls in the hands of Eva Mendes, perhaps her Roxanne Simpson character is a little underwritten, but her screen presence is more annoying than memorable. Peter Fonda is very poor as Mephistopheles, about as scary as someone making Easy Rider 2, yet compared to Wes Bentley, Fonda looks like Oscar gold. Bentley is Blackheart, and he struggles with delivery and any sort of nasty aura in which to breath life into a potential bad guy to savour, and as for his cohort minions? The less said the better I think.

It's a shame the villains are so poor because there is a lot of care and attention here from Cage and director Mark Steven Johnson, both men whom are clearly in love with the source material. Ghost Rider is certainly a fun experience, and it scrubs up well on Blu-ray, but you may want to repeatedly punch the casting director in the face come the end of the picture. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable bit of nonsense., 12 Jun 2010
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Not generally being great fans of comic book adaptations, we got this to use up some loose change at the end of a gift voucher splurge as we usually like Nick Cage and it looked like a bit of fun.

I'm sure the comic purists can pick holes all over the place, but this film is not pretending to be anything other than what it so obviously is - namely a bit of amiable nonsense full of iffy dialogue and standard comic book caricatures (just like a comic book). Nick Cage is plainly having a great time playing Johnny Blaze and I suspect he took on the role as a bit of fun (perhaps also as a fan of the original Marvel comic). The great Sam Elliot, equally, didn't take his role as the previous Ghost Rider too seriously either - it looks like the whole cast were just having a bit of fun. And why not - it is a highly watchable, unpretentious and brainless romp with great special effects and a harmless way to while away a couple of easy hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Rider, 5 Aug 2009
By 
J. Vermeer "JJCP" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good movie, nice special effects, and picture and sound on this blu ray are very good. Recommendable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicolas Cage, I misjudged you, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'm as guilty as anyone of letting my preconceived ideas about an actor or actress put me off watching a film on general release, and though Nicolas Cage is a reasonably competent actor (about half of the time), at the time I pictured him in my head as Ghost Rider and thought, "Hell no". But I wish I'd given him a chance now, as the other day, and with nothing else on television, I gave it a try and he was really good in it.

The graphics for this film are so good I have to use clichés to describe them - the bike, the flaming skull, they rock. They look awesome. The story is better than I thought it was going to be, and it doesn't dwell too much on the necessity of Blaze's inner pain, as we've come to see again and again in 21st C superhero / antihero films. Cage does a great job of conveying a depth to the character that negates the need for tedious introspection padding out the cool bits. Well, okay, the fight scenes I do have to complain about, as they're over too quick and lack the imagination you're seeing at the same time in the graphics - so your first thought is, this looks fantastic, but underneath you're wondering, is that it? The best bits of this film are, quite understandably, the parts with the flaming bike and the equally hot Eva Mendes, but for two hours of escapism, there's enough enjoyment in this film not to have to mind too much about the lack of any depth in the plot. If you're getting it, get it on Blu-ray, as it's one of those films that paying more for in high definition will really pay off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 17 Feb 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I hated the Ghostrider comics (though I am a Marvel fan) and I had dreaded watching this film after all the bad reviews, but I found I liked it. It's a simple, doesn't require too much thinking, piece of escapism. I would have prefered the great (and very underrated) Sam Elliot - seen here as the gravedigger - as the Ghostrider of the title.

I have to declare now, that I am anything but a Nicholas Cage fan, I've always considered him more wooden than our kitchen table, but that doesn't matter with this film as the love interest is worse and makes him look almost animated (yes, she really is that bad). Fortunately she's not in it that much.

This would have been the perfect opportunity to use a little known or unknown actor, but they went with Francis Ford Coppola's nephew. Well, never mind.

If you're looking for a film that you can sit in front of that doesn't require any deep thought, and you have no preconceived ideas, then this might be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MARVEL-ous!, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Angela Matthews "angie, mum of 2 boys" (suffolk, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Expected nothing , got loads from this film! My hubby generally dislikes the comic-book genre but he loved this too. Nic Cage is a wee bit Elvisy at times but that soon changes when he becomes.....oh, no! I mustn't spoil it! We loved the kitchy cheesiness and giggled all the way through. Thouroughly entertaining movie...fun,fun,fun!. Worth watching just for the gorgeous Eva Mendes who is as red-hot as the special effects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007]
Ghost Rider - Extended Cut [DVD] [2007] by Nicolas Cage (DVD - 2007)
2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews