Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NACHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
Well.
Where to begin... I dislike Jack Black. Well, used to anyway. Hated School of Rock and never bothered with Tenacious D.
Then I saw this movie at the Cinema.
Nacho Libre.
Ok ok, not going to be everyone's cup of tea but boy, I love it. I love everything about. There are so many GREAT one liners dotted throughout the movie too, barely a day goes by...
Published on 2 July 2009 by Robert Lawrence

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing rather than laugh out loud...........
This is an ok movie and Jack Black shows the promise he started in movies like School of Rock but the end product is more amusing than laugh out loud funny.

Black plays Ignacio the good hearted friar in a Mexican orphanage who has been a fan of the 'luchadors'since he was a child and now is the cook but has no money to feed the orphans and other monks...
Published on 10 Dec. 2006 by shansu69


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NACHOOOOOOOOOOOOO!, 2 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well.
Where to begin... I dislike Jack Black. Well, used to anyway. Hated School of Rock and never bothered with Tenacious D.
Then I saw this movie at the Cinema.
Nacho Libre.
Ok ok, not going to be everyone's cup of tea but boy, I love it. I love everything about. There are so many GREAT one liners dotted throughout the movie too, barely a day goes by without me crying out "Nachoooo" or "I believe in Science".
See, none of that will make any sense to you until you see this movie.
I really do love it.
As for it now being on blu ray, great. The colors are fab, Ramsey looks bigger than ever, Steven looks more of a tramp.
You'll either love it or hate. Go on, take a chance.

XXoxXoox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing rather than laugh out loud..........., 10 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is an ok movie and Jack Black shows the promise he started in movies like School of Rock but the end product is more amusing than laugh out loud funny.

Black plays Ignacio the good hearted friar in a Mexican orphanage who has been a fan of the 'luchadors'since he was a child and now is the cook but has no money to feed the orphans and other monks properly.

The best parts of this movie are the wrestling sequences and Ignacio and his skinny partner are beaten regularly by different tag teams but he manages to make cash to buy better food.The script by School of Rock scribe Mike White and director Jared'Napoleon Dynamite'Hess is good and does portray the masked lucha libre as something honourable and not too jokey.

Black is good and is funniest when dressed in his wrestling garb but the film itself isnt the all conquering laugh fest it sits sometimes a bit uncomfortably in not knowing what it wants to be a comedy or drama.Worth watching for Black alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best comedy role, 1 Jan. 2010
His best serious role is in Peter Jackson`s King Kong as Carl Denham. His best comedy role must be NACHO. It is really funny and has it`s touching moments. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars El gordo es gracioso, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Another quasi-indie hit that was really always set for success due to the inclusion of the comedy antics of Jack Black. This is closer in tone to Be Kind Rewind and it is a testament to Mr Black that these otherwise under-the-radar gems would go unnoticed if not for his involvement. But these kinds of films were always where he cut his teeth as an actor and he should be duty-bound to champion their obvious worth. That said, the film itself is no classic but it does exactly what it should: it's very funny and it's very quirky.

Wonderfully shot and acted it feels like a conventional heartwarmer, which it is in some ways. But it's the oddness that offsets this and makes it funny. It is the classic deadpan style that Black has adopted for this and it works as most of the laughs are at him trying to be serious. The triumph of the film is the charcter's stalwart adherence to his goal and his simple kindness that ultimately overcomes all obstacles. So we may laugh but he wins in the end.

But even on a truly base level, it's just a really funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NACHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!, 22 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Nacho (Jack Black) is a young man who was raised in a monastery in Mexico and now works there as the cook. Fueled by his passion for wrestling, he dons a mask and cape and picks up a partner to compete in a local Lucha Libre tournament to try for the $200 prize so he can buy better food for the kids and achieve respect. When a new nun, Sister Encarnacion (Ana de la Reguera), arrives at the monastery, he tries to win her adoration as well while attempting to prove that being a Luchador isn't a sin and win the grand prize at a battle royal tournament so he can buy a bus for the kids.

When I heard that Jack Black would be playing a Mexican Friar who moonlighted as a wrestler in Jared Hess' next project I got very happy, because I knew this would be a funny movie. The trailers for the film advertised exactly what this movie was, and that was pure physical comedy. The story is about Nacho, a Friar who wants the fame and fortune that is associated with being a luchadore after living the same old life over and over each day. He then realizes that this journey to become a professional wrestler is not for himself but for the orphans whom he looks after and cooks for at the orphanage. The movie is basically Jack Black running around with his shirt off for an hour and a half while sporting a fake mustache and a funny Mexican accent. While the majority of the comedy in the film is physical, there are some hilarious lines in the film that are delivered with the right spunk by Black. There are also some great physical scenes in and outside the ring that shows just how great of a physical comedian Black is. The movie is incredibly stupid, but it's also so very funny. If you enjoy pure silly comedy executed perfectly then this movie is just the thing you need. Don't expect another Napoleon Dynamite because this is not a reincarnation of Hess' previous cult hit. He uses the same style of shooting the movie though by using a lot of wide symmetrically balanced shots. Personally, I laughed harder at this then I did with Napoleon Dynamite. Napoleon Dynamite had some great one-liners, but Nacho Libre overall is just plain silly fun. Don't take the film seriously at all, just sit back and laugh. It's a hilarious and outstanding movie, if you liked School of Rock, you'll love this, it has the same passion for comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mega funny, 5 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Just love this film....Jack Black is very very funny in this. I actually found this funnier the second time around that I watched it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 29 Aug. 2010
bought this film for 2 sons on recommendation of a friend,they absolutely love it, jack black is hilarious, school of rock was favourite film, i think this has taken over.quick delivery, great in blu-ray, ideal because they can watch it on their playstation 3 as well as on the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You might think Nacho is a bit salty but it does have a comedic taste, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Nacho Libre is a ridiculously funny movie. All of my favorite comedies are completely silly, and Nacho Libre is no exception. There is plenty of stuff that makes no sense, as you can pretty much tell from the first "training" scene. But the chemistry is there with the cast and the script is so off-the-wall that you have to be completely lacking a sense of humor to not crack up while watching Nacho Libre. Director Hess does a great job in giving Black freedom to steal the show. The movie depicts a Mexican Priest who has a secret fantasy to be a Luchador (Wrestler). Nacho Libre (Black) attempts the difficult task of living the life of the Luchador as well as the Priest of the orphanage.

You have to appreciate the subtleties! Jack Black uses a lot of physical nuances as punch lines, so you must pay attention or you'll miss the jokes. I don't know much about Mexican wrestling, so I am not aware of how this movie will be accepted by fans of the sport. But it is funny. Do not look to the script or story for any judgment regarding this movie's merit, because the charm lies solely in the acting. Many of the greatest moments were created by a combination of manner and timing, as well as editing of course. My only slight complaint about the film is that sometimes Jack Black is a little too Jack Black and not enough Ignacio. He lays his normal schtick on a bit thick now and then and puts the character and the lucha libre storyline on the backburner. But as a fan of lucha libre I really loved the way it's portrayed in this film. There are some nice action sequences and the last fight scene is really unique and well done. Plus the Human Tornado cameo will have PWG fans marking out.

This movie is obviously a product of Nickelodeon Studios, and the humor will be appreciated by fans of Jimmy Neutron, Sponge bob, and other Nicktoons. If you're a fan of Jack Black and Tenacious D you'll enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnificently understated, 14 May 2007
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Jack Black is a master of comic timing and the unpleasant character. Whether in that X-files episode, or High Fidelity, or School of Rock, or in Shallow Hal, or in that understated part in Enemy of the State, to name but a few. So, naturally, we expect a hardball send-up of that whole Mexican wrestling thing, powered by a suitably smart-alec, ironic character who deigns, at crucial moments, to take control of the story.

And we're in for a surprise. Nacho Libre is the story of a tender-hearted man of small, but heartfelt, passions who doesn't really understand the world he is living in, but wants to improve it anyway. It's comedy -- but very, very carefully understated comedy. For example, the entire film is conducting by people speaking broken English with Mexican accents. Clearly, though, if this is supposed to represent Mexicans speaking Spanish, then it shouldn't be in broken English, and, equally clearly, if it's supposed to be realistic, they wouldn't be speaking English to each other at all. It's possible to watch halfway through the film before realising that this is deliberately incongruous. So who is being sent up? Certainly not Mexicans. Maybe Hollywood's stereotypical depiction of Mexicans? Or, just maybe, it's sending up me, the viewer, for taking so long to figure it out.

In fact, everything about this film is understated -- the detail about the lucky machete, the night in the wilderness ("How did you find me here in the wildnerness?" "We saw you from the village", camera pans to village, a couple of hundred yards away), the line that every other reviewer has quoted about the stretchy pants, and, for me, the magnificent xoXXoxOx etc, with the voiceover "Kiss hug Big Kiss Big Kiss little hug kiss Big Hug little kiss..."

Aside from the Mexican English thing, this is resolutely a film of comic realism. Jack Black climbs the cliff to eat the eagle's eggs, but it has absolutely no effect on his fighting. "We always lose because you are too fat" his friend tells him, but, in contrast to other comedy-sports films, he does not go onto an amazing fitness regime and shed the pounds. The eventual victory -- inspired by the arrival of Sister Encarnacion and the orphans -- is just as much a matter of the pro-wrestler Rameses's own stupidity as it is of Nacho Libre's sudden resolve.

Why did Jack Black decide to star in a film with a character so different from his stock in trade? Perhaps, just perhaps, out of admiration for the real life character Rev. Sergio Gutierrez Benitez, a Roman Catholic priest with a 23 year career as a masked luchador, all to support the orphanage he directed. With an original like that, it's not surprising that Black, and writers Jared Hess, Jerusha Hessa and Mike White, decided to laugh with the characters, rather than at them.

Good fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good entertainment, great JB!, 18 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have to say that I have always been quite a fan of Jack Black.

Still the movie didn't sound that appealing to me, so I expected nothing.

Yet in return, I received a wonderful 1 hour and 40 minute respite from the real world, filled with slapstick humor and total silliness.

Slapstick humor always walks a tightrope between bad taste and belly laughs. The Three Stooges are mind-numbingly inane: most laugh intensely and some never get the joke. Laurel and Hardy isn't for everyone either. Nacho Libre is not filled with Woody Allen irony, it doesn't have Christopher Guest's drollness, and it's not James Brook slick. It's not sophisticated humor! How can any film featuring Jack Black as a Mexican friar/fryer/wrestler/wannabe wooer ... all for the "good of the orphans" be taken seriously? It's simply for the 12 year old boy in all of us who laughs when Moe hits Curly and laughs when fat guys, even with over the top Mexican accents, are paired with skinny guys ... in a wrestling ring ... with stretchy pants.

It's not going to make history, but it will make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006]
Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006] by Jared Hess (DVD - 2006)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews