Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars117
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I was never a massive fan of their first album but loved "Somewhere Else" and hoped that it would prove to be a bridge between albums in the same way "Whatever" was for Oasis. Unfortunately there is nothing anywhere near as good on "Razorlight", so I'm quite surprised at the mass of glowing reviews this has received in the press - its pretty middle of the road and sounds like it should have been released in the early eighties. The best tracks are the good, if not earth shattering, "In the Morning" (think Talking Heads' "Road to Nowhere"), America (rewrite of Crowded House's "Weather with You"), "Fall To Pieces" (top Johnny Marr-ish guitar) and "Kirby's House" (sounds familiar but can't think where from - you get the picture though). "Razorlight" is short, patchy but has the capability to aurally transport you back to the original Live Aid -a high scoring three star album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
One of my favourite albums of all time just brings back so many good memorys most of the songs u just have to sing a long to with a smile on your face :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
One magazine said this is the "Best guitar album since Defietly maybe(Oasis)." Overhyped is the word that I can suggest for this album. Do not get me wrong as this is an good album, but nothing spectacular. The problem is this album is too short with only ten tracks and half of them great the other half being a load of rubbish.

The load of rubbish are the unreleased tracks excluding Los Angeles Waltz. The reasons why the tracks are so bad is that they either too short or too repetitive. The great part are the single, In the Morning, America, Before I Fall To Pieces and I Can't Stop This Feeling I've Got. Plus the track Los Angeles Waltzis pretty good with tons of rhythm.

Good album but not briiliant and definetly not the best guitar album. The best part is that you get TWO FREE DOWNLOADS with the album which makes up for it lasting 35 minutes. If you are going to buy this album, buy it for the singles and the downloads but not for the rest. 6/10
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2006
This is a pretty sub standard follow up to 'up all night'. Though I gave it 4 stars because I think Borrell does know how to craft a song. I think technically that has never been an issue for him, thus i think he is pretty ahead of the pack on that count. There is no real gut and drive of this album though.

The album is just called Razorlight, and it is so accessible you get the feeling that they are just selling out. If that is the case they have succeeded, as this is soo commercially driven, cum 2007 there wont be many thankers, and hence Razorlight will be in their head searching/lost the plot phase by then that no one will care...

shame on you Razorlight-you could have had it all but you SOLD YOUR SOUL.

shame on you, i'm dropping a star-thats for Kirby's House, which had already overstayed its welcome on Jo Whiley show, by 6 months BEFORE this release

ps-you weren't even Oasis, let alone Bob Dylan
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
More mainstream and radio friendly? Yes, but not in a bad way. Admittedly, the songs here are less spiky and urgent than those on Up All Night, but what they lose in vigour, they more than make up for with the sheer quality of the tunes on show here. Every song here could conceivably be released as a single (and, honestly, how many albums can you say that about?). People have also complained about the relatively short length of the album, but hey, sometimes exactly what you want is a short, sharp dose of perfectly formed, singalong, pop songs, which is exactly what this is. You'll have heard the singles by now - if you like them, you'll like the rest of the album. If you didn't, then you won't (but then you probably knew that already, right?). All in all then, a brilliant album. Get it, or miss out!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2006
Razorlight, by...Razorlight, is perhaps the most eagerly awaited album of the year. In response to the UK indie talent bar being raised by the likes of the Kooks, Snow Patrol, and the Artic Monkeys, Johnny Borrell and the lads could have surely come up with a more imaginative title...Anyway, in what some critics have insightfully labelled a rapid-fire release, pre-America tour (yes, because one of the tracks is called...wait for it...'America'!), this 35 minute escapade of ten songs leaves the listener thrilled, accelerated, but ultimately, not fully satisfied.

Given the expectation of this follow-up to the 14 track journey through local tales and the timeless, intricate melodies of 'Up All Night', this shortened snippet of the bands precocious talent just doesn't provide you with the same kind of tireless aural trip. 'In the morning' and 'Back to the Start' instantly shine through as ebullient Razorlight anthems. 'America' is the token Jo Whiley sponsored masterpiece; an eloquent ballad resonating in Borrell's seemingly media-induced disillusionment. Aside from the rather repetitive lyrics, unlike the droll tales of 'Up All Night', it is the majestic 'I Can't Stop This Feeling I've Got' which is the epic on here. Here Borrell's subdued lyrical mood suitably pales in emotive reflection over guitarist Bjorn Agren's masterfully picked riffs and harmonies that are characteristic of his abilities throughout the whole album.

This great album is far from without substance then, but it is over just as your enjoying its zenith of greatness. Post-listening, after an exhilarating quickie, you are left wanting more for both your admiration and, in some cases, your money.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2006
razorlight have made themselves look like an average band, which i always thought they where, with this album. a fanatical razorlight follower will love it but i dont see how an album with only 4 decent songs can be called a great album. its a 7/10 8 at best and although it may be as huge as a certain music magazine says it will be it will only sell well because theve hyped it up not because it is great. i would still recommend buying it but dont expect it to be as good as people say it is. the main thing missing is half decent lyrics im sure some children could write better more imaginative stuff. if his lyrics were a colour they would be biege.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Excellent album. Worth buying and will be listening to this a lot. Only album I have of theirs but really liked it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
I've listened to the CD around four times and I have to say that while it will probably become a bit of a grower, I have to admit to being a little bit disappointed. The songs are much mellower than the previous "Up All Night" and it all seems a bit one paced. It feels more like what I would have expected their 3rd album to sound like rather than their second. Mind you, the last time I felt that was when Oasis released "Morning Glory" and look how that one ripped out. Buy now and make your own mind up.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2006
Going against the grain here, but I've listened to this 6 times now and still can't rate it more than 'average'. By no means is this a great album. Their first was a great album, this is very average. I can't help thinking of Crowded House when I listen to these twee songs, and only twice do they actually power through and show us some talent (LA Waltz and another track I can't recall the name of).

Don't buy it. I regret doing so.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)