Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razorlight's second album was great!
Looking through my hundreds of CDs recently, I came across Razorlight's self entitled 2006 second album. I admit that I never bought their first album released two years previously, or their third which came out in 2008.

However, I did love this album at the time, I played it again after all these years, and it still holds up as a brilliant record. So much so,...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving in the wrong direction
Jonny Borrel's assertion that "if Dylan was making the chips, he was drinking the champagne" in reference to his lyricism was one of the most annoying and obnoxious comments ever made despite the fact it was tongue in cheek, it really is delusional to put yourself above the greatest lyricist of all time when your first album contained the lines "I know a girl with a...
Published on 30 Aug. 2006 by C. E. Baylis


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Razorlight-weights, 12 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
I bought this album about six months ago on the strength of the two hit singles: 'In The Morning' and 'America'. Six months down the line, I can honestly say, that I never play this anymore. Apart from the above mentioned hits, the rest of this CD is dull and uninspiring. It's like Johnny Borrell decided he wanted to do a New Wave/Post Punk album like countless other guitar bands, but rather than checking out important influential bands like: The Jam, The Clash, The Buzzcocks, XTC, Dexy's and The Smiths etc, he would instead pretend to have been inspired by the likes of: The Boomtown Rats and The Cars. It's almost as if someone was playing a practical joke on him, on what was cool to like during the late 70's/early 80's, because he's too young to remember this period in time.

I think the lead singer is a charisma free, charmless fake, who's ego is bigger than his talent. There's something not quite rock 'n' roll about him or his band. I generously gave this three stars on the strength of those two singles. Avoid!

* Update - About a week after I originally submitted this review I gave my copy away. Also looking back I can't believe that I ever liked 'America', because it now sounds very cringeworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How ya feeling Wem-ber-ley?, 21 July 2006
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
I was never a massive fan of their first album but loved "Somewhere Else" and hoped that it would prove to be a bridge between albums in the same way "Whatever" was for Oasis. Unfortunately there is nothing anywhere near as good on "Razorlight", so I'm quite surprised at the mass of glowing reviews this has received in the press - its pretty middle of the road and sounds like it should have been released in the early eighties. The best tracks are the good, if not earth shattering, "In the Morning" (think Talking Heads' "Road to Nowhere"), America (rewrite of Crowded House's "Weather with You"), "Fall To Pieces" (top Johnny Marr-ish guitar) and "Kirby's House" (sounds familiar but can't think where from - you get the picture though). "Razorlight" is short, patchy but has the capability to aurally transport you back to the original Live Aid -a high scoring three star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always love this album, 23 April 2015
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums of all time just brings back so many good memorys most of the songs u just have to sing a long to with a smile on your face :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped., 10 April 2007
By 
TUFTY (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
One magazine said this is the "Best guitar album since Defietly maybe(Oasis)." Overhyped is the word that I can suggest for this album. Do not get me wrong as this is an good album, but nothing spectacular. The problem is this album is too short with only ten tracks and half of them great the other half being a load of rubbish.

The load of rubbish are the unreleased tracks excluding Los Angeles Waltz. The reasons why the tracks are so bad is that they either too short or too repetitive. The great part are the single, In the Morning, America, Before I Fall To Pieces and I Can't Stop This Feeling I've Got. Plus the track Los Angeles Waltzis pretty good with tons of rhythm.

Good album but not briiliant and definetly not the best guitar album. The best part is that you get TWO FREE DOWNLOADS with the album which makes up for it lasting 35 minutes. If you are going to buy this album, buy it for the singles and the downloads but not for the rest. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars razorlight on autopilot, 2 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
This is a pretty sub standard follow up to 'up all night'. Though I gave it 4 stars because I think Borrell does know how to craft a song. I think technically that has never been an issue for him, thus i think he is pretty ahead of the pack on that count. There is no real gut and drive of this album though.

The album is just called Razorlight, and it is so accessible you get the feeling that they are just selling out. If that is the case they have succeeded, as this is soo commercially driven, cum 2007 there wont be many thankers, and hence Razorlight will be in their head searching/lost the plot phase by then that no one will care...

shame on you Razorlight-you could have had it all but you SOLD YOUR SOUL.

shame on you, i'm dropping a star-thats for Kirby's House, which had already overstayed its welcome on Jo Whiley show, by 6 months BEFORE this release

ps-you weren't even Oasis, let alone Bob Dylan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!, 29 Jan. 2007
By 
Daniel G. Wright "Dan" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
More mainstream and radio friendly? Yes, but not in a bad way. Admittedly, the songs here are less spiky and urgent than those on Up All Night, but what they lose in vigour, they more than make up for with the sheer quality of the tunes on show here. Every song here could conceivably be released as a single (and, honestly, how many albums can you say that about?). People have also complained about the relatively short length of the album, but hey, sometimes exactly what you want is a short, sharp dose of perfectly formed, singalong, pop songs, which is exactly what this is. You'll have heard the singles by now - if you like them, you'll like the rest of the album. If you didn't, then you won't (but then you probably knew that already, right?). All in all then, a brilliant album. Get it, or miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quickie; sex without the foreplay, 31 July 2006
By 
Mr. J. C. Tompson (Sheffield, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
Razorlight, by...Razorlight, is perhaps the most eagerly awaited album of the year. In response to the UK indie talent bar being raised by the likes of the Kooks, Snow Patrol, and the Artic Monkeys, Johnny Borrell and the lads could have surely come up with a more imaginative title...Anyway, in what some critics have insightfully labelled a rapid-fire release, pre-America tour (yes, because one of the tracks is called...wait for it...'America'!), this 35 minute escapade of ten songs leaves the listener thrilled, accelerated, but ultimately, not fully satisfied.

Given the expectation of this follow-up to the 14 track journey through local tales and the timeless, intricate melodies of 'Up All Night', this shortened snippet of the bands precocious talent just doesn't provide you with the same kind of tireless aural trip. 'In the morning' and 'Back to the Start' instantly shine through as ebullient Razorlight anthems. 'America' is the token Jo Whiley sponsored masterpiece; an eloquent ballad resonating in Borrell's seemingly media-induced disillusionment. Aside from the rather repetitive lyrics, unlike the droll tales of 'Up All Night', it is the majestic 'I Can't Stop This Feeling I've Got' which is the epic on here. Here Borrell's subdued lyrical mood suitably pales in emotive reflection over guitarist Bjorn Agren's masterfully picked riffs and harmonies that are characteristic of his abilities throughout the whole album.

This great album is far from without substance then, but it is over just as your enjoying its zenith of greatness. Post-listening, after an exhilarating quickie, you are left wanting more for both your admiration and, in some cases, your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as 'up all night', 8 Sept. 2006
By 
C. Devine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
razorlight have made themselves look like an average band, which i always thought they where, with this album. a fanatical razorlight follower will love it but i dont see how an album with only 4 decent songs can be called a great album. its a 7/10 8 at best and although it may be as huge as a certain music magazine says it will be it will only sell well because theve hyped it up not because it is great. i would still recommend buying it but dont expect it to be as good as people say it is. the main thing missing is half decent lyrics im sure some children could write better more imaginative stuff. if his lyrics were a colour they would be biege.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
L. F. Dixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
Excellent album. Worth buying and will be listening to this a lot. Only album I have of theirs but really liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More 3rd album rather than 2nd, 18 July 2006
By 
Jorgecadette (Aberdeen, Grampian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razorlight (Audio CD)
I've listened to the CD around four times and I have to say that while it will probably become a bit of a grower, I have to admit to being a little bit disappointed. The songs are much mellower than the previous "Up All Night" and it all seems a bit one paced. It feels more like what I would have expected their 3rd album to sound like rather than their second. Mind you, the last time I felt that was when Oasis released "Morning Glory" and look how that one ripped out. Buy now and make your own mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Razorlight
Razorlight by Razorlight (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews