Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining, 26 Mar 2008
By 
Mark Naisbitt "mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Gerry Anderson shows have always been special. Although most were made with only puppets and models, they had the same production values of acting, camerawork, music etc that a live action production would enjoy. This helps the viewer immerse themselves in the fictional world and the drama becomes more believable, even if it's just puppets. That's the secret of good engaging storytelling. It was amusing to see Thunderbirds wipe the floor with imported US shows in 1992 when the BBC screened it. So what's the new Captain Scarlet like?.

In short, brilliant. Like many of my age (40's), I grew up with the classic shows and was severely disappointed with the turkey that was the Thunderbirds movie (it's truly awful) and so was reluctant to watch the new CGI show. I needn't have worried. This show is arguably one of the best TV shows of recent years and gives Hollywood a run for its money.

The new show is action packed and fast paced with rounded characters, now with first names, backgrounds and relationships. The technology is suitably beefed up and `fetishised' is the Gerry Anderson style. This is a bold reworking of a classic show, stunning in parts but there are some changes to contend with. Cloudbase is now Skybase, Colonel White can now walk and Lieutenant Green has had a sex change from male to female. The old Spectrum Pursuit Vehicle (SPV) is now called the Rhino and there's a flying motorbike with guns and missiles. But Scarlet's red car is back and the mysterons are even creepier, still appearing as two `torch' circles and booming baritone voices. Oh, and the famous `drumbeat jump cut' is used as a scene transition device. Captain Black is still the baddie, killing people is bizarre ways so that his Mysteron masters can `reanimate' them. And you don't want to mess with the Angels!. Pity about the rather bland theme tune, but it's a minor gripe in an otherwise outstanding piece of TV.

It's Captain Scarlet all right, but on steroids.

For the most part, the CG animation, complete with motion capture, is impressive but does vary a little between jaw-dropping `money shots' and looking a bit like a playstation game. The variable quality is largely due to time constraints, but Ron Thornton (this guy crashed the USS Voyager on a glacier!) and his team have, on the whole, created a lifelike believable world and some pretty awesome pieces of animation. The `money shots' have been wisely spent on the action sequences, especially the Angel dogfights. The flying sequences (based on real aircraft footage) in the episodes `Circles of Doom' and `Fallen Angels' are utterly brilliant pieces of animation, visually quite mind-blowing and exciting too boot.

It's such a crying shame, however, that poor marketing and ITV scheduling effectively killed this show before it got into gear (a third season would have been brilliant). But for now, there are 26 episodes to enjoy and it's worth buying the DVD set. I watched the whole lot in a weekend!!.

This is a terrific update of a much loved show which is intelligent, just as dark as the original and hugely entertaining. Lots of guilty pleasures for adults. My inner child loves it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have DVD, 21 Aug 2009
By 
P. Haywood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
As a big fan of the original Captain Scarlet series it was with a little trepidation I watched the new CGI series and boy was I in for a shock.While the puppet series was a little bit limited as regards to action,but still very good nevertheless,the new series literally blew my mind.After the first two episodes which show how Captain Scarlet became indestructible and why the Mysterons want to destroy the Earth I was completely hooked.The New Captain Scarlet Series 1 & 2 Slip Case DVD is fantastic as not only does it show all the episodes from both series but the extras include detailed accounts of the many vehicles at the disposal of Spectrum.This DVD is a must have for fans of the original series as in my opinion it surpasses it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most action packed television programme ever made!, 21 Sep 2006
By 
P. W. Taylor "Father Unwin" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
In the 1960's Gerry Anderson assembled a wonderful team of committed people who produced a whole series of fantastic ground-breaking Supermarionation shows including Stingray, Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet and Joe 90.

He has now done it again by getting together a team of fantastic highly committed professionals to create New Captain Scarlet. Instead of strings there is advanced motion capture of real people's movements and actions. Instead of puppets there are 3D CGI versions of the original characters.

This is not a children's programme but a breathtaking family show on the cutting edge of television technology. It was expensive to make but this series shows what a creative force Gerry can be when given his head.

The directors, CGI animators, lighting technicians etc are very vocal in their support of Gerry and they should be very proud of their achievement. There is simply nothing else like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new look for an old friend, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series! I was a little doubtful at first of seeing my favourite Gerry Anderson show rendered in cgi animation,rather like I was with the Star Wars Clone Wars series, but boy, was I wrong! Filmed in "Hypermarionation," this is Captain Scarlet the "Next Generation," and is full of spectacular action,lots of trademark explosions, fantastic vehicles, fabulous characters (the new Lt. Green and Captain Ochre), gorgeous females and handsome males, and storylines that actually sent a shiver up my spine at times. The new way the Mysterons materialise is fantastic, and Captain Black is as despicable as ever. My only gripes are the new cars and the fact that Cloudbase has been re-named "Skybase." I have no complaints about the flying vehicles used by the Angels (or the Angels themselves), and the arial dogfight scenes are sublime. I'd have liked to have seen some more use of the other Captains, and the other Angels, as I find seeing the same characters scene after scene a little repetitive. Mind you, seeing Colonel White and Lt. Green actually leaving Skybase is a welcome diversion from the original puppet series, not to mention the use of first names, and not just Spectrum colour designations for the operatives. I almost wept when I found out that like the original series, this one will not be on-going, as I am an unapologetic fan of this character (I'm also in my 40's, so should be all mature and "past" all this stuff by now, according to certain peoples' opinions), and found the new relationships between the Spectrum personnel a refreshing change from the original, and would love to see them further developed, but alas, this isn't to be. The cgi aspect, however, opens up much more in the way of scenarios and technology, not being hampered by the modelling constraints of a studio, and we get to see our favourite characters not only using incredible vehicles on land and in the air, but in space as well. Rather like in my childhood, I found myself bouncing up and down in the chair as I watched the new series, and can only hope that one day, the bean counters who provided funding for this project will see the light, and finance another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Capt Scarlet, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I had my doubts about CGI (admittedly after watching a Noddy episode), but this is excellent. I didn't think any stories could improve on the 1967 series, but this show does it.
CGI looks great, and enjoy the love triangle / character development between Destiny, Scarlet and Black.
This is among Gerry Anderson's best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ravishing Remake, 5 Sep 2007
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
captain scarlet from the 60's is a classic. its well loved and any fan knows it. after the destruction of thunderbirds when made to film, i was worried the new captain scarlet series would enter the crucifiction category, however this is most definetly not the case. any fan will be indefinetly impressed with this cgi animation remake. the plots are well thought out and well made. but best of all, this is faithful to the original series. there are some changes, for example, more modern technology and a few minor changes to the characters, but this definetly does not dissappoint. well done gerry anderson!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Update!, 18 Sep 2007
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was really worried that the re-make of this classic show would follow the lines of Terrahawks, a Gerry Anderson series from the eighties I could appreciate but not enjoy on a lasting basis. I needn't have worried!

The stories are superbly done and the CGI state of the art for the time it was made (a couple of years is a VERY long time in the IT world). My son and I can quite happily sit and watch these together - the stories not too complicated for him and not at all patronising for me. The whole tone is reminiscent of the original, but the concepts have been usefully updated without inducing shock.

Unlike many of the episodes of the "new" Dr Who, which are of the "instant gratification" kind, the stories here are slower burners, ones to savour over repeated viewings, which is just as well if you buy this DVD set. I've found this to be the case with many of the Gerry Anderson productions, which makes buying them on DVD a lasting pleasure.

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 22 Oct 2006
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am very impressed with the plots - crisp and fast-moving.

Picture quality - since they are CGI, they are near-perfect - near perfect because of too much details of some of the objects causing shimmering on occasions.

Extra - OK

I am hoping Gerry Anderson's next project is New Thunderbirds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very surprising DVD set the art work animation is just the best the colours superb and the stories captivating for children and adults the 12 rating is too high my son watches it and he is 5 believe me this is the best entertainment. The standard is so high it should have been blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 July 2012
By 
M. Baldry (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
being a fan of the 60's series i'd avoided this as i didn't believe it could top the original. how wrong i was! probably the most underrated sci-fi series of the last ten years! i can now see where the Mass Effect computer game got all of it's ideas from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD]
New Captain Scarlet - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Captain Scarlet (DVD - 2006)
£23.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews