Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Likely The Best Columbo Season Of All
The original seventies series of Columbo is without doubt an extremely high quality and intelligently written drama which has never lost its magic however many years pass from its original broadcast date and season 4 for me represents the show's pinnacle.

Whereas series 1-3 tends to be split between some very good episodes and a few that are truly great, season...
Published on 21 Sept. 2006 by Jervis

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Blank Discs!!!!
Purchased this as a present and when we went to view it discs 1 & 2 have nothing on them at all. Disc 3 does. Do not buy! Unfortunately this was not discovered until 6 months after purchasing due to unforeseen circumstances.
Published 13 months ago by midsomers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Likely The Best Columbo Season Of All, 21 Sept. 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The original seventies series of Columbo is without doubt an extremely high quality and intelligently written drama which has never lost its magic however many years pass from its original broadcast date and season 4 for me represents the show's pinnacle.

Whereas series 1-3 tends to be split between some very good episodes and a few that are truly great, season 4 is great throughout. It's very hard not to feel every story here is a Columbo classic and with the addition of an such an effective cast (in particuar the murderers) it's hard to go wrong. Peter Falk plays his part to perfection, of course.

There's a nice variety of different plot locations like a military academy, health club, cruise liner and a hospital which adds considerably to the attractiveness of the stories.

The DVD extra, an episode of 'Mrs Columbo' pales by comparison but it's entertaining nevertheless.

If you only intend buying just the one Columbo DVD this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
These are all great DVD's. I am slowly collecting them all. I agree with another reviewer however who says that it would be nice to have a collection that features an archive interview with Peter Falk and some background to the making of the shows. This would be much better than having the Mrs Columbo bonus which I dont consider to be any kind of bonus. I havent bothered to watch any of those as they dont feature the great man himself, nor indeed i gather has he ever seen them himself.
Favourite episode on these DVD is the one with the wonderful Robert Vaughan 'Troubled Waters' and a 'Deadly State of Mind' with George Hamilton. 'Negative Reaction' would be my third choice. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fewer discs but still excellent, 16 Nov. 2006
By 
Androo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The first season set had six DVDs. The box sets seem to be getting smaller each time and now we're down to just three discs. So that's six episodes and one 'bonus', an episode of Mrs Columbo.

But, I suppose it's just down to the number of episodes in each season.

It's a shame they haven't kept the same style of packaging throughout the series - this one doesn't have the attractive multi-disc system, just three separate slim cases.

Luckiliy, the six episodes in the fourth season are some of the best, including one of my favourites where Columbo investigates a murder at a military academy. The final episode is an all star affair on board a cruise ship, starring Robert Vaughan and Patrick McNee amongst others.

Image quality is up to scratch but the sound seems very low - I had to really crank up the volume.

As I said, the bonus is Mrs Columbo. I suppose it's vaguely of interest (I hadn't realised Mrs Columbo and Captain Janeway of the starship Voyager are one and the same person) but only very vaguely.

It would be nice to have an interview with Falk or something one of these days, or some background material.

Despite all this, it's still a necessary addition to your Columbo collection. Roll on the fifth season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Better Than Season 3, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Having been somewhat disappointed with season 3, I have to admit I was quite impressed with season 4 and my only niggle was that it was over so quickly. All 6 episodes of the show over 3 disks, with a bonus episode from the spin-off series Mrs Columbo on the 3rd disk, were enjoyable. Good to see they put subtitles in with this season. My two favourite episodes from this season and possibly from the show itself from all the episodes I've watched in the 5 or so seasons I already own would have to be the one set in a historical military academy with Patrick McGoohan as the main guest star and the one on board a cruise ship with Robert Vaughn. This season is most definitely staying in my permanent collection. It was also fun seeing Columbo in a tracksuit in episode 1 working out at a gym!

As for the DVD quality, there seemed to be a distinct improvement in the film transfer to DVD compared to season 3 in which every scene looked rather lack lustre. The inclusion of subtitles also makes this season more attractive than the previous season. Disc 1 is rated 12 with 2 and 3 being PG so the overall certification given is a 12.

Other guest stars in this season include: Gena Rowlands, Dean Stockwell, Dick Van Dyke, Patrick McNee and Bernard Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Columbo, this is the product for you. If you don't like Columbo, then it's not!
I love all the 70s technology - the answering machines, typewriters - that help Columbo solve the crime. Simpler times and not as many high-tech advances to help him. Can't get enough of and the vintage 70s furniture, clothes and cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Columbo - Series 4, 9 Mar. 2011
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the Columbo series vary much. It was simply unique in that we always knew who the murderer was and how the deed was committed. Instead, we had to watch Columbo figure it out for himself and to trap the killer into confessing. I prefer the early series, the ones made in the 70's. I can't explain exactly why but they just seemed better. There was always a host of stars who made appearances throughout the 10 series, including Donald Pleasance, Patrick McGoohan, William Shatnar, Leonard Nimoy, Roddy McDowall, and on the list goes.

There are no extras on these DVD sets, but the picture and sound quality are vary good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
First class service I ordered this DVD and had it delivered in less than 24hrs these days Columbo seems very tame compared to today's Police series but that's what I love about Colombo the innocence of it all especially the 70's series good entertainment and Colombo always gets his man in the end. great stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD - just a shame that they manufacturers have not included a proper description of the actors in the films and what each film is about, on the rear of the sleeve.

It's always nice to know who you are watching and a general summary of the plot.

Nevertheless, great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Blank Discs!!!!, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this as a present and when we went to view it discs 1 & 2 have nothing on them at all. Disc 3 does. Do not buy! Unfortunately this was not discovered until 6 months after purchasing due to unforeseen circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Columbo Series 4, 29 May 2010
By 
S. Head "Kopite1763" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a Columbo fan, then this box set is for you.
The first 6 seasons were the best imo, with very clever writing and of course great acting by Peter Falk. Also lots of famous faces, making guest appearances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Columbo: Series 4 [DVD]
Columbo: Series 4 [DVD] by Peter Falk (DVD - 2006)
£9.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews