Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Polished Pop Rock
Together with its direct successor, Out of the Blue, this is probably the album that forever defines the sound of the Electric Light Orchestra in the minds of most people. From this point, the rough-edged rock 'n' roll of earlier works like Ma Ma Ma Belle or the rather more reined back strings and whimsy of songs like Mr Radio would make way for these bigger, lusher and...
Published on 11 May 2009 by ds

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Average album with a couple of great tunes
Not ELO's best effort, i have to say. Certainly a disappointment coming straight after the superb Face the Music. Tightrope, Mission and Shangri-La are the sort of tunes ELO do better than anyone and rank amongst their best work, the rest is rather forgettable. Still well worth a listen.
Published on 7 May 2008 by M Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Polished Pop Rock, 11 May 2009
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A New World Record (MP3 Download)
Together with its direct successor, Out of the Blue, this is probably the album that forever defines the sound of the Electric Light Orchestra in the minds of most people. From this point, the rough-edged rock 'n' roll of earlier works like Ma Ma Ma Belle or the rather more reined back strings and whimsy of songs like Mr Radio would make way for these bigger, lusher and more 'cinematic' arrangements. This seemed to be a nod to the softer string sound in US soul, as the album's title and even its cityscape artwork suggests. It's rather like the difference between watching a film on TV at home, them going to see the same thing on a big screen in surround sound in a cinema. Neither is bad (quite the contrary), they are just different types of experience.

It's also around this time that Jeff Lynne SERIOUSLY found his songwriting boots. There is not one (full length) song on here that couldn't have hit the UK singles chart top 10 if they'd been released. Indeed, several of them did. In amongst the well known hits like the operatic Rockaria! and the tender and melancholic Telephone Line, not to mention the now legendary Livin' Thing are other lesser konwn gems: Tightrope (possibly my favorite ELO song ever), that begins with a fanfare of dramatic swooping strings before romping off into a rollocking rock number; So Fine with its funky middle eight and congas; the heartfelt and beautiful ballads The Mission and Shangri-La. The other nice surprise is the inclusion of a storming cover of Do Ya (from The Move's rather wonderful Message from the Country). As good as the orignial version is, this version is actually a little bit better. Basically, in production terms, Lynne gives it the kitchen sink. And it could have sounded a dreadful mess, but doesn't: it's sublime.

It's perhaps strange to think now, at this remove that punk wasn't really the sound of 1976-77. Music like this and the Eagles' Hotel California was what many people were actually listening to and buying. The later revisionism of a certain type of music wonk would have you believe this music was reviled and irrelevant. It wasn't. And while lots of the prevailing commercial music of that part of the 1970's was becoming overblown and self-indulgent, this didn't: this is a perfect example of how to write and record fabulous, memorable pop songs. And by Lynne's own admission, it really didn't get much better than this for him.

Lucky for us that he got this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worldwide breakthrough, 30 Jan 2010
By 
C. S. Grant (London & Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although ELO had reasonable success prior to this album, this is the one that made them huge. This is my third purchase of this album; LP, first issue CD and now the wonderfully remastered version. I recently played some of the first issue ELO CD's and found that they sounded a bit flat, in this day and age of remastering. So I thought I would cherry pick my favourites of which this is one and to convince me to part with further cash, they're all currently at good prices. I am not disappointed as the songs all sound fresh and bright. The bonus tracks are worth a listen if you're a keen ELO fan, as four of them are instumental versions, in other words the backing tracks without the lead vocals. They do give you a greater insight into Jeff Lynne's genius. There is also a slightly different version of Telephone Line, which makes for an interesting listen. There are many stunning songs on this album, but I think the first and last of the original nine tracks are my favourites, those being Tightrope and Shangri-La. Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *** Sheer class ***, 9 Aug 2005
This review is from: A New World Record (Audio CD)
There were three albums which best define ELO in the 70's (and probably beyond that). Face the Music (Evil Woman), Out of the Blue (Turn to Stone, Sweet Talking Woman, Mr Blue Sky and Wild West Hero) and New World Record. NWR is one of the most inspired pieces of work which Jeff Lynne has written. "Tightrope" is my favourite track from the album - but probably considered not commercial enough for release as a single. I have the album in black (could have had the red version) vinyl and CD and both are well worn. The album has Telephone Line, Rockaria and Do Ya but the whole album is a gem. Just do yourself a favour and buy this, your ears will love you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New World Record (2006 CD), 17 April 2013
This review is from: A New World Record (Audio CD)
A New World Record is in my opinion the pinnacle of ELOs career. This is one album that has one classic song after another. The opening track Tightrope still sends chills down my spine every time I play the opening intro, the finale Shangri-la is also a magnificent piece of music. The most emotional track for me is Mission (A New World Record) which has a beautiful melody, with some at times cheesy lyrics but can at times leave me a bit teary, it has a very strong emotional impact on me.
The rockers Do Ya and Rockaria are also great songs. There simply is not a dud track on this brilliantly produced collection of mid 1970s magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Album, 21 April 2010
By 
P. Mccann "Pads" (Bournemouth,Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Originally bought this album back in the 70's,time to get it on CD.How many times have you got an album on the strength of one track?Album is great,but 'Shangri La' just stands out.One of the greatest endings to a song ever.
Bonus tracks I enjoyed,Nice to hear strings just on their own...Great Album...Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE !, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some might say.......that this album is full of great songs which are very well written and extremely well played.
Also that this remastered version with extra tracks sounds good, real good.
They are absolutely right, add it too your collection you won't regret it.
Regards Brett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Album - A New World Record, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was always a very good album, that I owned years ago, but managed to 'mislay'! Love listening to it once again ….. and again ….. and again! Have mp4'd it, so shouldn't get lost again. Every track is superb, although I am not sure that I will listen to the bonus tracks that often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELO's High Watermark, 9 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: A New World Record (MP3 Download)
The (admittedly) accomplished Out of the Blue may remain their most famous album, but ANWR is undoubtedly their finest moment on disc. A set of consistently excellent tracks, completely filler-free, it has Jeff Lynne at his Beatles-with-strings best. Telephone Line, Rockaria and Livin' Thing are widely familiar, and are supported by sweeping melodic songs culminating in the rocking Move cover Do Ya and the epic Shangri La. Songwriting, musicianship, vocals and production all gell seamlessly together, showcasing an underrated band (in the overall scheme of things) at the top of their game. All round outstanding, and a must buy album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finely crafted pop rock, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lush orchestrations. Three hit singles BUT its the tracks you haven't heard before that do it for you. Do ya
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New World Record (MP3 Download)
One of the first albums I bought
Now got cd for car
My all time classic great tracks just brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New World Record - Ltd
A New World Record - Ltd by E.L.O. (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews