Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film/Very Good Blu Ray
This will be a review of John Carpenter's classic 1978 film, 'Halloween', on Blu Ray.

In terms of the overall quality, here's what I think:

Picture: 8/10. The picture quality gets a solid 8 from me. Basically, there is very much so an improvement over a DVD counterpart here. Colours, Character clothing, Textures and Backgrounds are what to watch out...
Published 18 months ago by Fox in the Box

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The complete Halloween - nearly
This box is a magnificent box set, it contains completely remastered versions of the Halloween films (which put the dodgy budget versions of 2, 4 and 5 to shame).
First up with have the magnificent original, which although the best of the series is nowhere near as scary as the legends.
Next is the Halloween 2 which continues straight onwards, not as good as the...
Published on 6 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film/Very Good Blu Ray, 12 Jun 2013
This will be a review of John Carpenter's classic 1978 film, 'Halloween', on Blu Ray.

In terms of the overall quality, here's what I think:

Picture: 8/10. The picture quality gets a solid 8 from me. Basically, there is very much so an improvement over a DVD counterpart here. Colours, Character clothing, Textures and Backgrounds are what to watch out for here. Also, the overall image of the film is a whole lot sharper now, thanks to this Blu Ray release. However, despite all of the above, there are some scenes I noticed that looked exactly the same as my DVD counterpart (which is the 25th Anniversary edition and which was remastered anyhow). In the heel of the hunt though, 'Halloween' is a definite improvement in picture quality on Blu Ray, so I would recommend it.

Sound: 10/10. Yes, the sound quality gets a full 10 from me. When I sat down and watched this yesterday, I could not believe how good the sound quality was. The dialogue and music score are both top notch here. In fact, I do consider this Blu Ray to be the best version of Halloween I have heard and will probably ever hear (considering its age). Ultimately, I would highly recommend a purchase of this on Blu Ray for the quality of the sound alone.

Finally, just a quick note regarding the special features. You get an Audio Commentary track from John Carpenter, Debra Hill and Jamie Lee Curtis. There's also a film trailer from 1978 and 3 TV and Radio Spots. However, on the back of the Blu Ray case, it says 'Halloween: A Cut Above The Rest Trailer'. This is incorrect; you do get the full documentary and, on that note, I must say that it is a really good documentary which covers the entire Halloween franchise and where the people involved feel it is going in the 21st Century. Lastly, if I had any complaint to make, it would be that all of the special features were included with the 25th Anniversary DVD edition, which I also have, so a bit of a let down there, frankly. Anyway, not to worry.

To conclude, John Carpenter's 'Halloween' on Blu Ray is a must-have for anybody who is a fan of the franchise and is highly recommended to all horror fans. Overall, the transfer is very good, especially when you consider the age of the film (it was both produced and released in 1978, so there you go). Also, thanks to this Blu Ray, the sound quality of the film is amazing, probably the best it will ever sound. Highly recommended viewing here.

Buy it.

Thanks for reading this review. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 35th Anniversary Edition - The Fan's Dilemma, 10 Nov 2013
Being a fan of a particular band, album or film means that at some point you will find yourself faced with the dilemma as to whether to buy a new special edition of an album or DVD you already own.

For this reviewer, the moment came with the release of Halloween 35th Anniversary Blu Ray. I already own two versions of Halloween on DVD (double disc from 2001 and 25 Years of Terror from 2008) so it became a real head vs heart debate between the joy of owning Halloween on blu ray with JLC/JC commentary (heart) and spending more money on a film that JC has already done a commentary on before and I probably know as much as I need to know from every extra before (head).

And so it came to pass that I was in the DVD section of my supermarket and I came across the blu ray. It wasn't exactly beckoning me to buy but it might just as well have. So my heart told my head to go get the coffees in whilst my heart and me went and bought it.

So what do you get? I'm not clever enough to describe the technical advantages of blu ray so all I can say is that it looks and sounds great. I could even see that the great Nancy Loomis had some teenage spots which I never noticed in my VHS edition. I don't need to describe the film, you all know how amazing it is and how it never fails to hit the spot.

The extras are limited to a JLC/JC commentary which is absolutely brilliant. To listen to the double heart and soul of the movie bickering, reminiscing and generally talking over each other is just amazing. Witness when JC starts grumbling when JLC starts talking technically about the film. The only sad part was that the brilliant underrated Debra Hill was not there to act as referee but her spirit lives on in this film.

The other main extra is JLC at a fans convention which is considered a big deal as it's the first time she's ever attended one. Whether it warranted a 1 hour doc is highly debatable and it is only saved by the fact that it was all done for a children's hospital charity and that so many Halloween fans were interviewed/featured which means they will be forever part of the legacy of this blu ray.

So from one fan to another, go and buy this film for two reasons. Firstly, because the JLC/JC commentary will have you grinning from ear to ear for the entire 90 minutes. And secondly, because frankly, the head isn't always right about everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 1978 steelbook., 6 Mar 2014
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off this blu-ray looks much better than the old disc from 2007.

Cinematographer Dean Cundey was involved in the mastering in this disc and the colours have been toned down to best suit the film and the colours and sharpness look much better on this blu-ray.

inside the steelbook their is a booklet with info on the cast and crew.

SQ is dolby true hd 7.1 and the original mono mix but some people on blu-ray.com have mentioned that it is really just the 7.1 mix downgraded which is annoying for fans as the 2007 mono mix had no problems.

Special features are

All-New Audio commentary with writer/Director John Carpenter and star Jamie Lee Curtis.

The Night She Came Home New Featurette with Jamie Lee Curtis

On Location

Trailers

Tv & Radio Spots

Additional Scenes from TV Version.

Blu-ray.com have an excellent review on this disc and also have screenshots compairing this new transfer with the 2007 release.

On the negative side A Cut Above The Rest special feature is missing from this disc which is no big deal but enough to annoy fans who want the ultimate edition.

Overall this is a much better release than the 2007 disc and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 31 Oct 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
halloween is a 1978 john carpenter movie that was an independent movie that made so much more than could have been imagined and its influence is even greater than that,logic would say that this film was inspired by hitchcocks psycho but the slasher genre grew wings after this and led to years of cheap slasher movies that have all more or less grew cult status and of course halloween is the best of a franchise that has spawned 8 films including a 2007 rob zombie led remake.

The film isnt as gory or as blood led as its reputation dictates,check it out if you havent watched it in a while and you will see what i mean,but the character of michael myers is menacing and the scare factor is immense here at times,jamie lee curtis is excellent here as one of michaels targets and while michaael never talks nor do you see his adult face,he is still one of horrors most distinctive characters,iconic almost and so is this movie,excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True horror, 22 Oct 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the greatest horror films ever made and deserves a place on every horror film fans shelf. Made on a showstring budget of about $300,000 it went on to become the most successful independent movie of all time.

The film is directed by John Carpenter, who at this time was churning out cult classics every year or two. Carpenters use of the camera as the killers view set a trend that continues to this day. Of course 'The Shape' as he came to be known, is a truly nightmarish creation. He wears a mask, which apparently was originally a Captain Kirk mask which one of the crew adapted! He's virtually indestructible, totally inhuman and one of the scariest killers ever.

Jamie Lee Curtis is pretty good, but the main reason to watch this from an acting point of view is Donald Pleasence who plays Dr Sam Loomis. Pleasence's role is crucial to the film, as some of the lines he has to deliver are, well a little clunky, such as

"He's gone from here, The evil is gone".

However Pleasence delivers them, good or bad, with conviction and gives a fantastic performance.

Another reason this film works is Carpenters creepy musical score, which racks up the tension at all the right points.

I'll give the final word to Dr Loomis:

"I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face and, the blackest eyes... the devil's eyes! I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realized what was living behind that boy's eyes was purely and simply... evil!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST SLASHER MOVIES, 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
REVIEWED VERSION: 2006 Anchor Bay UK DVD

Director: John Carpenter

Cast: Donald Pleasence as Dr. Sam Loomis, Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode, Charles Cyphers as Sheriff Leigh Brackett.

SYNOPSIS

Michael Myers has been institutionalized since he murdered his sister on Halloween at age 6. His doctor, Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence), wants to keep him locked up for the rest of his life. After 15 years Michael Myers escapes from the looney bin and returns to Haddonfield, stalking his younger sister Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) with Loomis already in pursuit.

THE PROS & CONS

John Carpenter's 1978 movie HALLOWEEN is a true classic which spawned several sequels and two remakes.
I'm not a fan of the series - I liked the first sequel but that's all. The character of Michael Myers made a good villain in the first two movies, but the multiple returns were tedious. He is by no means a great cult figure.
John Carpenter's great effort behind the camera and as a writer make HALLOWEEN one of the best slasher movies. Personally I believe it is better placed in the thriller genre, though. It lacks blood and gore and will most probably not satisfy gore hounds (the 18 certificate is overrated). At its time it was a very suspenseful little shocker, though. Now, several thousand slashers later, of course the shocks are kind of predictable (thanks to slashers copying this movie) but I guarantee it will get you a couple of times nonetheless!
In front of the camera we get great performances by Donald Pleasance, Jamie Lee Curtis and Charles Cyphers. Also P.J. Soles in an early role.
HALLOWEEN certainly is one of Carpenter's better works and definitely a must-see.
I strongly recommend watching back to back with the equally brilliant HALLOWEEN II (1981) which continues the story well from where HALLOWEEN left off.

DVD DETAILS

Feature running time: 87 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1/16:9 (anamorph)
Audio: English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Extras: None
Region: 2

Picture quality: C
Audio quality: C
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive horror film?, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: Halloween [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was in two minds about writing this review. There are so many people here saying "It was this that insprired Friday 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street" and therefore we assume that it must be awesome. However, John Carpenter(the director) may have got his inspiration from other movies such as "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "Black Christmas." Do we therefore say, without seeing those movies, that they too were fantastic? Well, in fact yes they were but that is besides the point.
I had the privilege of watching my first horror film at about seven years old and that "surprise surprise" was Halloween. The music at the beginning (a quintissential factor of all horror films) was enough to make me want to turn it off but I survived the opening credits and stuck out the movie. I was absolutely blown away and to this day wish I could have been in the cinema when the movie was brought out.
To the movie and I think a rough overview will suffice as I'm sure anyone thinking of buying this will know what it is about. Jamie Lee Curtis's performance as Laurie Strode was outstanding, much better than her role in "The Fog" which although good lacked any real strength of association as the viewer was more drawn to that of Hal Holbrook's part. A girl who is typically "good" in the horror sense of the word and surrounded by sex, drink and sharp implements.
So to end and I really should be fair to all you other reviewers and say that Halloween indeed was the movie that started a streak of valiant attempts in the 80's (the chessiest of all decades movies, music, hair etc..) such as "Silent Night, Deadly Night" and "Chopping Mall." It would be criminal not to mention the first sequel to "Halloween" aptly named "Halloween 2" as it kicks off at the point where Dr Loomis is firing his last shots. In this we learn more about the background of Michael and of course like in any sequel there is a higher body count. None of the others are worthwhile until you get to "Halloween H20" (don't worry you haven't missed anything just a few failed sex attempts and Michael receiving a lot of punishment.) I feel sure the new DVD is very good indeed, but I will not be purchasing it as I feel that DVD loses the gritty feel of sitting down with a tub of popcorn in a darkened room and getting the sweet BeJesus scared out of you. And remember "Everyone's entitled to one scare on Halloween...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars halloween, 31 Oct 2003
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is my favourite horror movie of all time.everything about it is class.john carpenters score is terrifying and no matter how many times i've seen it it still scares the hell out of me.there is just something about micheal myers, the way he moves,that mask that makes him the best horror villlain ever on the big screen.the dvd release is superb with two versions of the film and a fascinating documentary.the best thing about it though is the picture and sound quality, it looks stunning and considering the film is 25 years old is a great achievement.if you haven't seen this film, and why not? you are missing out on not only the best horror ever but one of the best films of all time.a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic slasher, 30 Nov 2013
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's been many years since I last watched this and I enjoyed watching it again. It's a classic in the slasher genres and has inspired many imitators and remakes since its release. It tells the story of a young boy who murders his sister and then fifteen years later escapes from the asylum. He then returns to his home town and murders more teens the same age as his sister.

It does show it's age in many ways, it lacks the gore of modern films (not a bad thing in my opinion) and it does feel a bit cheesey, although that's partly because it has been imitated so many times it lacks the rawness from its original release.

The film also feels a little clumsy in places, but it does do two things very well. The first is Michael Myers, you never really understand who or what he his and comes across as implacable and very sinister. The other thing is the music, the title tune in particular is very effective and works well with the film.

It might have aged a bit, but overall it remains an excellent watch and fully deserving of its classic status in film history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best horror film of all time, 27 Aug 2002
This review is from: Halloween [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Well what can i say? Halloween is without doubt the best horror film ever made and in my opinion will never be matched.Jamie lee Curtis is superb in this edge of seat horror.The great thing about it is that there is no gore at all, it is a straight forward horror and brilliantly relies on its scariness to keep the viewer interested. Squimish people will love this film.It is also greatly tense! The part where Laurie is banging on her door trying to get tommy to open it with michael walking towards her is so tense.This film has the best finale i have ever seen in many years being a horror fanatic.Laurie finding her dead friends starts a gripping chase around the house.After wathing this on Tv a few months ago, i have since bought all of the halloween films and they have become a valuable part of my collection. Halloweens sequel is also great!
Dont be put off by halloween being an "old" film, its the best! You cant fault it and if you think you can, email me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween [1978] [DVD]
Halloween [1978] [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2006)
£9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews