Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original classic
Sam Raimi's genre-defining splatter-fest still remains one of the most inventive and entertaining horror films ever released. I rather ashamedly admit I only saw this gem for the first time quite recently and I immediately wished I had discovered it years before.

It is quite evident that 'The Evil Dead' has shaped an enumeration of horror flicks across the...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Mr. D. Woods

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor transfer on Anchor Bay editions
Avoid the Anchor Bay edition of this movie like the plaque. The picture quality is atrocious. I must admit that the picture has never looked brilliant for this low budget movie, but I did a side-by-side comparison of this movie between the Elite Entertainment and Anchor Bay editions.

With the Anchor Bay transfer the colours look all wrong and the picture is...
Published on 10 July 2006 by L. St Laurent


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead and Evil, but alive and fun!, 4 April 2007
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is the pinicle of the horror movement, probablly the best horror movie ever, just shows how a small team of people with no buget and filming in a gararge can turn out the best movie of it's kind. Sam Raimi started of with a full cast and crew and ended up shooting the movie alone with the remaining cast members who didn't either get bored and go home or found gainful employment during filming! The one thing this film oozes, not only the fake blood, is atmosphere and tension, and it has it in bucket fulls! The creepyness of the atmosphere jumps out from the begining grasps your round the neck and holds you kicking and screaming till the ultimate ending.

The story is a basic one. A group of teens go out into the woods and rent a cabin, while there they discover items left by the previous occupants, a professor and his wife. The professor has accidentally awoke an ancient evil that begins to possess his wife and in the end him also. The teens accidentlly awake the deamons once again, each one is possessed in turn. By modern standards don't forget that this movie is 25 years old so don't expect it to be bang up to date, the clothes are old, as are the hairstyles and cars. The actors are basic and hammy but manage to pull of what they probably were not being paid for! The special effects are bargain basement but still work well, giving a stomach churning final 15 minutes of the movie. My favourite aspect of this movie is the great unseen evil, depicted by the ground hugging camera effect and sound effects, an effect that remains totally unique to this triogy of movies. The imagination behind all the asects of this movie still remaian strong even after all this time and this movie still manages to convay a sense of spookyness with a few of it's jump out of you'r chair moments. Take my advice, watch this movie when you'r alone in the house, at night with you'r surround on, It will scare you witless! Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars funny!, 4 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
i have a very weird way of looking at horror films, sometimes they scare the hell out of me and other times they are so bad or poorly shot that they actually make me laugh. This film did both, i actually really liked the way this was shot especially the scenes where we are viewing the friends through the eyes of the evil dead, the flying camera shots that skip across the ground and go as fast as lightening. On the other hand, though there were a few scary moments, the majority of the film had me in hysterics,there was no way i could be scared by the creatures when they looked so funny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant product, would buy from seller, everything was as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic horror cheese I love it!, 25 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
I do lovec this film it does have some scary aspects but being a demneted horror film fan I did find it funny as well. It is a truely brilliant film it was the forerunner of its kind has a kickass plotline and gives maximum veiwing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a horribly "good" "trilogy", 20 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
You either love or hate Evil Dead.

The perfect examble of bad effects making a movie better.

Do you like Bad Taste? Then you'll like this one.

You're either gonna laugh or cry, in any case, prepare for pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sick Horror, 20 July 2014
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Good old fashioned horror, they don't make them like they used to, all the effects were raw and realistic, and today all we have is over the top CGI rubbish. Stars Bruce Campbell in parts 1 to 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is Evil Dead So Great?, 27 Oct 2003
By A Customer
At the risk of making enemies, I'd ask what the appeal is of The Evil Dead. Perhaps it invented the cliches I describe: group of teenagers, isolated in a mountain cabin, slowly (gorily) meeting their doom. While recognising the limited budget, the face-masks were still terribly applied, the script given over to precious-little dialogue, and the film was not scary as much as stomach-churning.
Don't get me wrong - I'm a horror fan. Hellraiser, Ring, Blair Witch and Romero's zombie-films still unnerve me. But why do the Kandarian daemons want the kids dead? Why do the trees decide to rape a girl? Give this one a miss, guys. It takes more than cheap effects, distorted voices and plot-absence to chill an audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars evil dead, 2 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those good horror movies which im pretty sure will be enjoyed by most horror fans.
I was a little unsure why it was named evil dead though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic low buget horror at its best, 15 Oct 2001
What a pure classic of horrow this film realy is. It has so many great touches to it from Sam Ramis fantastic and crazy directing which inculdes some great fly by shots witch are great and very twisted looking creating a truly zany and twisted horror atmosphere. The film mainly falls into a comedy you cant help but laugh at Bruce cambells cheesy acting but this makes the film even more entertaining. The low buget is used to its maxim giveing the film a certain documenrty feel like say the texas chain saw did. But this film isnt all cheese it gerally has some creepy moments helped by sam ramis great camrea work.And the dvd also has some fantastic comentrys by director Rami and star Bruce campbell which are very funny indeed. By it now and if you liked this get evil dead 2 more of a remake but alot more humour based great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD]
£9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews