Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original classic
Sam Raimi's genre-defining splatter-fest still remains one of the most inventive and entertaining horror films ever released. I rather ashamedly admit I only saw this gem for the first time quite recently and I immediately wished I had discovered it years before.

It is quite evident that 'The Evil Dead' has shaped an enumeration of horror flicks across the...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Mr. D. Woods

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor transfer on Anchor Bay editions
Avoid the Anchor Bay edition of this movie like the plaque. The picture quality is atrocious. I must admit that the picture has never looked brilliant for this low budget movie, but I did a side-by-side comparison of this movie between the Elite Entertainment and Anchor Bay editions.

With the Anchor Bay transfer the colours look all wrong and the picture is...
Published on 10 July 2006 by L. St Laurent


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor transfer on Anchor Bay editions, 10 July 2006
By 
L. St Laurent (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Avoid the Anchor Bay edition of this movie like the plaque. The picture quality is atrocious. I must admit that the picture has never looked brilliant for this low budget movie, but I did a side-by-side comparison of this movie between the Elite Entertainment and Anchor Bay editions.

With the Anchor Bay transfer the colours look all wrong and the picture is darker and muddy looking.

The Elite disc the colors look more crisp and the picture is clearer and brighter.

On the Anchor Bay disc the picture has been re-framed from it's original fullscreen 4.3 ratio to fill a 16:9 display. The movie was never shot in widescreen, black bars have simply been added to the top and bottom of the picture resulting in the loss of a lot of picture information and it looks terrible.

The best version and correct version to buy is the Elite Entertainment edition which was released in the U.S. several years ago. It's also region 0 so will play in any DVD player.

Don't let the fancy packaging and cheap extras tempt you into buying the dreadful Anchor Bay editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original classic, 9 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Sam Raimi's genre-defining splatter-fest still remains one of the most inventive and entertaining horror films ever released. I rather ashamedly admit I only saw this gem for the first time quite recently and I immediately wished I had discovered it years before.

It is quite evident that 'The Evil Dead' has shaped an enumeration of horror flicks across the years and the teenagers-trapped-in-a-remote-cabin them has been recycled to death. Even with its low-budget, and decidedly eighties effects, this film hacks and splices glossier rivals into itty-bitty pieces for sheer entertainment value. More of a serious chiller than its sequels, there is a nice line in black humour pervading the script nonetheless and, of course, Bruce Campbell is utterly fabulous as geeky hero Ash. In fact, I challenge you to come away from this film without uttering the words, " Bruce Campbell is a legend"! His bemused look of incomprehension as the blood count rises (and rise it does, my friends) is one of the film's many enjoyable moments and it is easy to see why Campbell has become such a cult hero.

So, in short, this is one of the greatest horror films of all time. In terms of pure and simple fun, things don't get much better than this. So open up the Book Of The Dead and unleash The Evil Dead onto your DVD player tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Gonna Get You..., 26 Jan 2003
The Evil Dead, this film has absolutely everything that a great horror film should have, the gore is repulsive and flowing freely, the script and acting are of a good quality but never too high so it never loses the ever important cheese factor, the camera work is legendary, this film could not be filmed better and the background score is a big part of how scary this is.
This DVD package is pretty much perfect, it shows this cult classic totally un-cut in it's tree raping, eye gouging, leg slicing, pencil tearing glory and now it even looks and sounds better, the picture is clearer and the sound is freakier than ever before.
Features include:
Commentary from Sam Raimi/Rob Tapert
Commentary from Bruce Campbell
Talent biographies
Theatrical Trailer
TV Spots
Fan anaylisis documentary
Discovering Evil Dead featurette
Outtakes
2 Deleted Scenes
Photo Gallery
2 Easter Eggs
There is only one film that has bettered The Evil Dead (Rocky Horror Picture Show) and there is no film scarier.
I have watched this film about 11 times, it gets no less interesting and it gets no less horrific.
This is definatly the best movie in the series, although both sequels "Evil Dead 2: Dead By Dawn" and "Army of Darkness" and the 'prequel' "Within The Woods" are all excellent movies.
Buy this movie, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King of the video nasties, 15 Mar 2004
Sam Raimi's black-comedy horror masterpiece is finally delivered in its proper uncut form without being sliced and diced by the BBFC. The Evil Dead is THE video nasty, the one that pushed the censors to the limits and was banned and re-released in edited forms. Now it's all here - ultragore, tree-rape and pencils in ankles! This is a cult classic. Everything about it oozes class. The only film that surpasses it in the way of gore is Peter Jackson's zombie-mutilating bloodbath "Braindead".
The story's simple - a group of young adults take a trip to a deserted cabin in the woods. They discover a tape and book which unearths the evil dead. All hell, quite literally, breaks loose! The special effects are great. This is just sick and brilliant. Buy it, it's a legend. If you like this then check out the extreme gorefest "Braindead" which is similar. But get this one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all started with this brilliant classic...., 23 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Being a massive horror fan, i'm always on the lookout for a great horror movie & I can definately say i've found 1 in the form of "Evil Dead".
Sure enough the acting isn't brilliant & some of the effects are a bit dodgey but it all adds to the movie. Set in a romote cabin in the middle of nowhere, Ash (Bruce Campbell) & his friends unwittingly awaken evil spirits that lie in the forest. 1 by 1, they're are possessed & die gruesum deaths. In the end, only Ash remains & he must defend himself agaisnt the demons & fight to stay alive. Its got blood, tension, fear & a little bit of comedy. The extras are really good & like all good horror movies, theres a twist at the end.
If your into horror then I would definatley recomened "Evil Dead"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film , Good Extras and it's Uncut too......., 17 Nov 2001
By A Customer
First of all the last point ...... IT'S UNCUT . This is really good as it's been banned for 20yrs and it's now available as the director intended .
Secondly , it's low-budget 80's horror so don't look for any grade A* acting , That is one of the best things about it though it's cheesy and spooky at the same time . The stars are all relatively unknown . Now The film itself........
The picture is fantastic and the sound is amazing. The extras are great too , there is....
:The original USA Evil Dead trailer,
:A Gallery of stills from the film,
:Commentert feat Sam Raimi and Robert Tapert,
:Commentery feat Bruce Campbell (this is ... hillarious and informative.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hints of things to come..., 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Evil Dead finally makes an uncut DVD appearance in the UK, and if you haven't seen this, it is well worth a look. Raimi's unique comic book visuals, which are evident in almost all his work (dying off a little with A Simple Plan[1998]), give the film a strange edgyness, low angles and sprinting steadycam shots raise the pulse as the demons race to, through and around the cabin. But don't expect Rick Baker make-up effects, they are extremely ropey (like the acting) but that only adds to the charm of the movie. This is is a movie by a man (and his friends) who loves the camp horror genre, going over the top on limited resources. And nothing is better than watching Bruce Campbell pretend to take this sh*t seriously. In fact Raimi has only really taken his content seriously in the last few years, his recent work proving his talent and silencing his critics (check out the aforementioned A Simple Plan). Go watch this film, keep in mind that Spiderman is about to be released and begin drooling over how good it will be. If he can do this with a few thousand dollars.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie rules!, 29 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This movie rules.
I don,t usually like horror movies(i like crime movies,comedies and stoner movies),but this movie kicks a***.
For ages i really wanted to see this movie but it wasn't avaible in the UK,so i just had to wait.
When it finally came out i rushed out to buy a copy(on DVD),and it was better than i ever imagined(it is now my 3rd favourite movie,behind SNATCH and IDLE HANDS).
The story is pretty simple:5 people(Ash[Bruce Cambell],his girlfriend,his sister,his friend and his girlfriend)go up to a remote cabin in backwood Tennese to party and make out.This all changes though when they find a tape recorder and a strange book in the cellar.When they play the tape recorder they unleash an evil force that posesses them one by one.
This film works really well.It starts off slow,building up tension,then,about half an hour into the film everything goes wild and the movie bacomes a total gorefest(which is not a bad thing).
The first 30 minutes of this movie i found absoloutely terryfieng;using camera work and sound,Raimi builds tension,and it all works very well.In fact,the only other movie that gave me that feeling is THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE,and i'm very hard to scare.
After the tense half hour comes the fun part:the gore.The movie starts to turn into a splatter movie just after the 'tree' scene,and this is my favourite part of the movie.The gore is very well done,and even better because they had a budget of about $300,000(less than the BLAIR WITCH PROJECT).The gore is the main reason why the film was so heavily cut and unavailable till now,and is also one of the reasons why the movies so damn good;we get to see decapitations,dismemberments,someone getting stabbed in the ankle with a pencil,a possesed person gnaw off their own hand,two people melt and decompose and,of course,the imfamous tree seen.Also,none of this offended me or made me fell sick.
The highlight of the movie though had to be the last 15 minutes:this is very phsycological.There are weird camera angles(a camera at a 45 degree tilt,the camera folowing Ash from a birdseye point of veiw),the cabin appears to bleed(a homage to the THREE STOOGES)and Ash thinks he hears noises.
Another great scene is when Ash,s girlfriend becomes posessed;she's sitting giggling at him,Scotty's dying and his posessed sister in the cellar is taunting and mimicking him.The is avery chilling scene of showing Ash being mentally tortured.
And thats another thing:Bruce Cambell.Without him the movie wouldn't be as good.So what if he,s not wise cracking and brave,he is supurb,and i believed he was absolutely terrified.In fact all the actors are good.escpecially becaus they are untrained(except for Cambell and Ellen Sandweiss).
The real star of the movie though is the camera work.From the famous 'raimi cam'to the amazing angles,the camera wok is supurb,esspecially towards the end of the movie where things get a little more frantic.The 'quality'of the camera work is due to the fact they where using 16mm
cameras,which is a very good thing;the camera glides through the forests,tilts,turns and see's things from the floors perspective:my favourite shot is when Ash drags his girlfriend across the floor,past Scotty and past Cheryl in the cellar.The shot so good because it is so imaginitive.
Also,the sound is very well used:the sound of the forest,the way the deadites sound and,probably the sariest,the book of the dead incantations,the way they sound and are read out are really scary.
Overall,an amazing movie,highly recommended,even though it does have it's minor faults(small plot holes,a few visual mess ups).
Now,the actual DVD.
The picture quality is good,considering it was a movie made 20 years ago,with 16mm cameras and a very small budget.I'm not into technical stuff so i'll tell you what i know:the colour are good,very solid,and the skintones are good.The picture isn't crystal,but is a very good transfer,even if the moon does look totally fake.
The sound.Good.Makes the sound effects sound even better and scarier,and is pretty good,and amazing when the deadites speak.There is also a 6.1 DTS audio track,but i don't have surround sound,but it's a bonus to people who have.
The extras,one of the main reasons why i prefer DVD.This disc is OK for extras.I noticed ther are less extras than the US version,and a much bigger gallery,but still.On this disc there are 2 commentarys,a small gallery and a trailer.
First,the commentarys.The 1st one,by Bruce Cambell,is legendary,and deserves it's status:it is amazing.For starters,it's really funny.Bruce pokes fun at the acting(escpecially his),the FX,and everthing else about the movie,and also complains about how much he got hurt.But not only is it funny,we get loads of info.He tells all about how FX where done,the fake shemps and everything else he can think of.It is both funny and entertaining,and i laughed ot loud when ha said about how ha broke the shirt.Worth buying for this alone.The other commentary,though,is cr**.Ther are long gaps of silence,and the only info we get is what Bruce has said already.This is surprising,seeing that the commentary is by Raimi and the producer,Rob Tapert.In 1 word,rubbish.
The tailer is interesting,so is the gallery,but we could of done with more.But still,the movie being available at all is a miracle.
Overall:9
Movie:10
Sound:8
Picture:8
Extras:7
A classic horror movie,inspired by NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD and THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE.Best watche late at night,with lots of mates and food.Enjoy (or don't)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film Small Budget, 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Evil Dead has to be the best zombie film of the lot. Bruce Campbell as Ash was one of the best choices that Sam Raimi made when making this film. Campbell brings so much to the character of Ash, it seems to be a role made for him. The film itself is very good, it combines lots of violence and horror with comedy that takes the edge off the atmosphere in the film.I was amazed to see how good the film looked on such a small budget, with all the mutilations and blood I thought it would cost a lot more. Raimi also shows off his directing skills by including many camera tricks, the best of which is the living trees. Apart from the film being great you get some commentary tracks, the best being Bruce Campbell's, as he points out little things and gives a very detailed analysis of the film, with his usual sense of humor. Raimi also gives a good commentary, but his isn't quite as good or as funny as Campbell's. It is good to see this film finally get the release it deserves after being banned for all so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WE'RE GONNA GET YOU !, 24 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Evil dead is something special,something sinister,and something that really brought the horror genre to its knees and started the gore trend that followed.It also brought the world a new nerdy superhero in Ash (bruce campbell).

This is 25 years old,and if you look at the low budget special effects then its fair to say that they look slightly suspect to say the least,but what the film lacks in budget and the kindness of age it makes up in the sheer fear factor and a strong script and cult status in terms of the following that the film would get years after its release.

The story borders on simplicity itself,nothing fancy and over the top here except the gore.Five friends enter the woods to rent a cheap cabin in the woods and awaken the dead by playing a tape that recited words of the book of the dead and thus the dead awaken and lets just say that they aint happy to be woken from their slumber,you would think they would be grateful but they aint.

from here on the blood pours and so does menace and chilling moments such as when the forest turns on one female,certaimly insane.This is one dark film that has hidden depths to it,the sequel is certainly better,despite basically being a remake with more laughs,but in terms of opening the gates of hell to the horror industry this is the leader of the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Evil Dead - Full Uncut Version [1982] [DVD]
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews