Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alternative kind of high school movie
Without giving too much away this has some great black humour and makes a change from your run of the mill high school movie. If you're a Winona Ryder fan especially, pick this up!
Published 17 months ago by Kirstie Rowlands

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the costumes and gardens
This was fairly watchable but I can't see why other reviewers rate it so highly.

It didn't really work for me as either a comedy, thriller or social commentary.

Maybe watching it sandwiched between Election and Edward Scissorhands has coloured my judgment too much (I thought both films far superior to this one)

The story of how a series of...
Published on 30 April 2009 by FelixP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Dec 2007
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Heathers is one of the greatest teen comedies of all time, if not the greatest. It takes a satirical poke at all other teen comedies (John Hughes in particular) by looking at all the sterotyped characters that we've come to know and love (or despise). Then JD and Veronica (Slater and Ryder) start killing off all of the cliched characters and forging suicide notes for them.
The dialogue is snappy and incredibly witty. Although some of the fashions now look a bit dated, this is the teen comedy by which all others should be judged.
A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever clever film...., 14 Sep 2012
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
An all time favourite this - it has dated to be sure and one of the pleasures is the late 80s zeitgeist, but this film has many themes. Black comedy is at the heart of it but plenty of pathos and action too. It delves into a whole range of issues re: middle class pretensions and parenting and teenage insecurities. It is well constructed - the pace of the film never sags and there are a ton of subtle touches eg the representation of hierarchy through colour.... to top it all every great film needs a good ending and Veronica sees it through with the riposte to "veronica you look like hell..." - few times in cinema that an actor/ actress looks genuinely cool and this is one. Good soundtrack and lifetime performances from Christian Slater and Winona Ryder - this is a truly original film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great old classic, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
Great film its a must for anyone born in the 70;s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy, 17 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
one of slaters best films. a dark comedy that leaves you shocked and wanting more. this film is near impossible to compare to any others, the best i can do is say it's the breakfast club but with murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present. No complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in life, love and death, 30 July 2005
By 
Francisco (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
Veronica is an ex geek. She went from being an awkward high IQ person to become someone beautiful and desirable. She's also just become a member of the top clique in school -- The Heathers (so called as the other 3 members are called Heather).
The Heathers constantly belittle her and require her to belittle others if she wants to stay in their group. She finds solace in a boyfriend. Together they start committing murders. Veronica, for it's her story, has to then decide what she really wants.
The characterisation was reasonable and so was the acting. Some aspects of the second half weren't convincing which is why I've deducted one star.
It's an interesting take on the traditional teen movie examination of belonging, friendship, life, love and finding out who you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I drank what!" Socrates, 23 Oct 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Veronica (Winona Ryder) wants to be associated with the most powerful clique in school called The Heathers; however she is persuaded that there are more fun ways to get ahead by a mysterious young man JD (Christian Slater) who helps even the odds; JD's methods of culling the pack may be a tad extreme but not by today's standards.

Winona, who plays Veronica, says this is a comedy about a serious matter. And she is probably correct. However I was watching the surface action and it did not take the time to think about any underlying meanings. I had no idea that Moby Dick does not contain the word "Eskimo." I was surprised as the different events took shape and can see myself in that situation. I had fun watching this movie.

I did not relate this film, to my high-school days; as with C rations. C Rations before 1955 contained only one box meal with fruit. That was the ham and Lima beans box. During high school and 60's, we were lucky to have one "Heather" to a class. Now in the time of MRE's (meal ready to eat), Heathers abound in the class room. This requires the JD's of the world to once again bringing natural balance the high-school society by eliminating excess Heathers.

Bring your popcorn and beware of what you drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the costumes and gardens, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This was fairly watchable but I can't see why other reviewers rate it so highly.

It didn't really work for me as either a comedy, thriller or social commentary.

Maybe watching it sandwiched between Election and Edward Scissorhands has coloured my judgment too much (I thought both films far superior to this one)

The story of how a series of murders performed by a teenage psychopath and sidekick (Slater & Ryder) are made to look and accepted by everyone as tragic (but absurd) suicides had very little ring of truth for me. Not all that funny either. But maybe it was geared to a teenage audience (which I'm not)

I do like watching Ryder but, for me, her best film that I've seen was Beetlejuice

I did enjoy the OTT outfits (enormous power shoulders) worn by the lead girls but the joke was limited to them, everyone else looked pretty ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heathers [DVD] (DVD)
It is indeed very.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: Heathers [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Im biased because this is my favourite film. I was nerdy in school and the popular kids seemed so free and happy and i longed to be included. Then i saw this, it completely explodes the myth about popularity. The charachters are in competition with each other and are not really friends.They are forced into difficult situations like sleeping with older boys to maintain their image of sophistication and maturity. They bully each other far more than they bully the nerdy charachters.

I had absolutely no idea that this was what their lives were really like. This film made me look more closely into the lives of the popular girls and i found out that this film is an accurate portrayal of high status teens.In fact, its a milder version of what really goes on.

obviously, nobody is really that witty and killing is rare, but if you were bullied in school and feel like an eternal victim this may change your perspective like it did mine. I now think that being an outsider, rather than being a curse, was a lucky escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heathers [1988] [DVD]
Heathers [1988] [DVD] by Michael Lehmann (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £2.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews