Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and Brutal.
I first saw this many years ago on channel 4 and was shocked at the cruelty and brutality of it. A sort of female version of scum but with greater psycological overtones. As to whether it is/was a realistic potrayal of life inside a female prison I do not know, but anyone who watched it would most certainly be put off from a life of crime. Get the impression that the...
Published on 13 Mar. 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present
This was a present for my daughter and she was over the moon with it as she lost the one she had, and she loves this movie.
Published 12 months ago by Rosie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and Brutal., 13 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrubbers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this many years ago on channel 4 and was shocked at the cruelty and brutality of it. A sort of female version of scum but with greater psycological overtones. As to whether it is/was a realistic potrayal of life inside a female prison I do not know, but anyone who watched it would most certainly be put off from a life of crime. Get the impression that the first 4 episodes of series 1 of the current ITV drama Badgirls took some of it's material from this film then bottled out after that for fear of public condemnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
This was a present for my daughter and she was over the moon with it as she lost the one she had, and she loves this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCRUBBERS, 17 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
I just want to say it's a very powerful,well-written and performed movie(although definitely unpleasant and not for the whole family).Some performances really do magic in here(especially C.Cotterill)and the script..well,Roy Minton definitely set his mark in 'Scum' and,now here.
Harsh realism without lacking poetry,not an easy thing to achieve.
I'd prefer subs included which would be of a great assistance,but nevertheless bravo to Optimum films for the release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Scrubbers [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this film years and years ago - I must have only been about 12.. I taped it off the TV and watched it over and over again! Then my brother got annoyed and smashed it - I've been looking to replace it ever since. Much to my delight I found it here. I think the film is like marmite, some love it and some hate it - I love it!! The acting isn't great and the plot not too brilliant but on the whole it's an enjoyable film that gives an insight as to what it was like in a womans borstal years ago. Dubbed the female version of "scum" it's certainly hard hitting, though I'd have to say I slightly preferred "scum" this is worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubbers, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this dvd was awesome well worth watching. This dvd drew me within 2 minutes of watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant !, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
L. E. Holl "lesley_holl" (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrubbers [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this today after many years since seeing it on TV. It doesnt seem at all dated, great acting is timeless. A favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scrubbers, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
Thought it was good,with a few yuk bits in it,it was as I remembered it,bit puzzle by one part,when an inmate took her life,nothing was said about it,jus seemed a bit strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as vicious as it looks, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
Great idea poorly executed. This got the kids talking at school in '82. But watch it now and it's slow and confused. It's trying to do Scum for the ladies but it looks more like Rock Follies for women with emotional problems. Brilliantly cast in places and terribly cast in others. The whole thing feels mismatched and awkward.
And dare I say topless shots in a film about womens borstal seem way too obvious nowadays. Perhaps even a touch of misogyny on the part of the producers.
Scum isn't fast paced but each scene seems fresh and involving for the viewer. Scrubbers seems drawn out as general scenes of dancing and singing are repeated along with the night window scenes, again, too long and too often.

Not as good as my memory would have me believe. A bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scum's poor cousin., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
After escaping from an open prison, a teenaged girl is captured and sent to a borstal for girls. Another inmate has arrived to find her girlfriend has left her for one of the other girls.

This has been described s "Scum's little sister", and so comparisons are inevitable. Whilst "Scum" was a gritty indictment of a failing penal system, this film just seems to be more about trying to shock and disgust the audience than actually making any kind of a point. There are fights, bare breasts, injuries and suffering but if you don't identify with the characters it's all meaningless. For example, a girl slits her wrist. In "Scum" the suicide at the end was powerful because we had a chance to get to know the victim of it and we were made to feel for him. In "Scrubbers" the wrist-slit scene comes completely out of the blue and for no apparent reason. Therefore it's just unpleasantness for the sake of it. The puppet show is effectively creepy, but is ruined by a gratuitous 'gross-out' when an inmate has execrement thrown all over her.

Worth watching as a curio, but overall "Bad Girls" did the female prison theme much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. King "70s addict" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrubbers [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this years ago I thought it was great then it hasn't aged at all ,great film great acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrubbers [1982] [DVD]
Scrubbers [1982] [DVD] by Mai Zetterling (DVD - 2006)
£29.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews