Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wham Bham BOOM!
Fantastic old style good versus bad with no mucking about and a few grey hats thrown in for good measure.

This in my opinion is the 2nd best Rutger Hauer film after Bladerunner. Rutger plays a very successful bounty hunter after an arab terrorist played brilliantly by Gene Simmons. Story has been told so many times where bounty hunter loses everything after...
Published on 7 Aug. 2007 by D. Newstead

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment value!
OK so you've seen this story a few times before but at least you know that with Rutger Hauer you're going to get value for money and pure entertainment.Nick Randall (Hauer)a seasoned bounty hunter with a home arsenal catches the scum of the earth to build up his bank balance and is doing fine until the CIA use him unknowingly as bait for one of the worlds most notorious...
Published on 24 Jan. 2008 by Inmi Opinion


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wham Bham BOOM!, 7 Aug. 2007
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic old style good versus bad with no mucking about and a few grey hats thrown in for good measure.

This in my opinion is the 2nd best Rutger Hauer film after Bladerunner. Rutger plays a very successful bounty hunter after an arab terrorist played brilliantly by Gene Simmons. Story has been told so many times where bounty hunter loses everything after being used for bait by some rather dodgy CIA people to the extent of having his boat blown to bits with his best mate and girl friend in it. There are some lovely explosions and the way he disposes of some of the guys shooting them in cupboards and blowing their heads off with grenades is just pure movie gold. The casting is brilliant including Robert Guillaume who is Rutger's inside man.

If you want a great oldy you cant get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment value!, 24 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
OK so you've seen this story a few times before but at least you know that with Rutger Hauer you're going to get value for money and pure entertainment.Nick Randall (Hauer)a seasoned bounty hunter with a home arsenal catches the scum of the earth to build up his bank balance and is doing fine until the CIA use him unknowingly as bait for one of the worlds most notorious terrorists,Malak Al Rahim played menacingly by Gene Simmons.Unfortunately Nicks girlfriend and closest male friend are killed in an explosion on a boat which was meant to kill him and this makes the hunt for Rahim vey personal.He is assisted by Robert Guillame whereas everyone else appears to block his path.Well worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhhh the 80's how I miss them., 23 April 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Rutger Hauer is on fine form as bounty hunter Nick Randall and Gene Simmons does an excellent job as the terrorist Malak al Rahim who gets on his wrong side. The casting is good with even Robert Guillaume making an appearance as a decent FBI guy who joins in the hunt. This movie might not have been as big as some others during that golden decade but it's better than most of them. It gets an extra star for that explosive ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best exploding head movie ever made., 9 Aug. 2009
By 
Matt Skidmore (Kinver, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
To begin with, I love this movie. I saw it as a young lad when it was released direct to video in the mid to late 80s (before it's much promised, but never realised ''theatrical release'') and it has stayed with me ever since. No matter how many times I see it, or how dated it appears - it holds a special place in my 80s action movie loving heart.

The story isn't the most revelatory, but let's give it a go anyway: Rutger Hauer stars as Nick Randall (a descendant of Steve McQueen's Josh Randall TV character from the 50s), an LA based bounty hunter and ex-CIA operative (sic) making good money tracking down skip tracers for a living and also semi co-habiting with his new girlfriend Terry (Mel Harris). To shatter his near perfect existence, he is approached by former collegue Philmore Walker (played by the ever reliable Robert Guillaume) to help track down terrorist Malak Al Rahim who is blowing pieces of LA away with makeshift bombs and terrorism. Malak is played to the manor born by Kiss frontman Gene Simmons who threatens to steal the show, but can never out weirdo our Rutger, who when pushed can crank up the strangeness dial to 100.

As the story progresses and through a series of events which I won't spoil here, Randall becomes a target of Malak and vice versa which leads to a cat and mouse chase between the two, resulting in what has to be one of the best endings to an action movie . . . quite possibly ever. Both Simmons and Hauer are genuinely good in the movie and the intensity between them is what fuels this actioner along - it isn't just the usual 80s shoot 'em up. Behind the bombs and bullets is a real tension going on and that is what makes the finale all that more satisfying.

Besides a great a job from the two leads, the rest of the cast are suitably good as well. Mel Harris and Robert Guillaume are strong in their supporting roles and character actor Jerry Hardin is great as a bent FBI agent. Director Gary Sherman keeps everything moving well and orchestrates some fine action sequences on what is obviously a limited budget, but never lets the pyrotechnics get in the way of character or dramatics.

As a straight direct to video adventure flick, the movie keeps on giving in spades, but with it's topical terrorist plotline (remember, it was made in 1986) - it spookily echoes what has been going on for the past few years in our time and watching it again today it does makes you think more about the actual story than what a regular 90 minute actioner usually does. I'm not saying it has the power of a 'Syriana' or 'United 93' (yes, I really did just compare this movie to those!), but it does resonate a little more than 'Rambo III' for example...

Anchor Bay's disc is it's usual level of quality, except you only get the movie and a few trailer's - but, nothing much else. The transfer is fine and is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen. If like me, you love the movie, go for this Anchor Bay release but don't go expecting a loaded special edition.

All in all, it's a guilty pleasure of mine and I would probably defend it a little more than it actually deserves - but, for me it works and keeps on doing so. If you have a fond memory of 80s action movies and don't mind spending 90 minutes with a dutch blonde guy with an assortment of heavy artillary - then, this could be the one for you. Plus, that ending is a doozy... sorry, did I mention that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars full of naff dialougue that's quote happy, full of that era's example of gun shoot ..., 15 Feb. 2015
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD] (DVD)
A solid piece of 1980's action thriller. Sometimes comical, sometimes violent, full of naff dialougue that's quote happy, full of that era's example of gun shoot out's and explosions, it is not as glossy as todays over stylised affairs, but a good entertaining thriller.

Rutger Hauer plays the ex agent turned bounty hunter whoncomes to blows with enemy Gene Simmons terrorist. aThe plots pretty basic as each man wants the other dead. Cue lots of gun shoot outs, explosions and the obligatory car stunts and what you have is a decent enough piece of action entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rutger Hauer at his Best, 18 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD] (DVD)
International terrorism hits los angeles with cruel ferocity dozens of innocent people are ripped to shreds in a massive cinema bomb blast.The cia turns to former agent Nick Randall(Rutger Hauer)great granson of bounty hunter josh randall. randall now a bounty hunter himself collects criminal low:life for a very hefty price! when malak the terrorist (Gene simmons)kills two of randalls closet friends hunting him down becomes a personal vendetta his relentless pursuit through the bomb ridden streets of los angeles finally ends in an explosive and bloody confrontation" which will mean life or death to tens of thousands of people....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Dvd comes up as no Disc, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi. I went to watch this classic Rutger Hauer Dvd last night only to find myself frustrated after at least ten attemps to play it on my Toshiba Dvd player ( which plays all other Dvd's .) All I kept getting was " NO DISC!" once it had loaded. I don't know what to do. It's not the end of the world but if possible i would like to watch this Dvd one day. Andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 17 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Not going to write a long review of the film as others have done that, but would say its a great movie and if you like this type of action film, just get it, very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All too predictable thriller, 9 Aug. 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD] (DVD)
The most interesting thing to do with this film is to watch the first few minutes and then try to predict who will be left alive at the end.
I'm sorry to say that I got this right, it's so easy to predict what will happen.
The plot breaks no new ground. An Arab terrorist, Malik Al Rahim (Gene Simmons) enters the US with the intention of blowing up a Los Angeles chemical plant in revenge for the accident at Bhopal. The authorities persuade Nick Randall (Rutger Hauer) to come out of retirement to help hunt down his old nemesis. It's a kind of reversal of Blade Runner where Harison Ford is the cop dragged out of retirement to hunt down and kill Rutger Hauer.
The film deals up lots of action, it is fast paced and Rutger Hauer's sardonic wit helps to keep things moving along. Sadly, at no point does the film ever really create any sort of tension or suspense. Nor does the film really add any depth to the characters.
It's the sort of film that you will enjoy watching with a small group of friends a takeaway pizza and a six pack but the Lethal Weapon series do this kind of thing much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Had almost forgotten it, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film ,Had almost forgotten it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD]
Wanted: Dead Or Alive [1986] [DVD] by Gary A. Sherman (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £1.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews