Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go!
I have to admit that I was originally put off from this film by some of the negative review I have read, but it was a pleasant surprise! Demi Moore is not the best actress and this film is not an oscar winner for her, but yet it is definitally worth a look.

To sum up,writer Rachel's (Demi) son dies in a tragic accident so she decides to move to a secluded...
Published on 10 Dec 2006 by Bezerus Bezby

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a Scottish Ghost Story
After the tragic accidental death of her son (for which she blames herself), and the indifference of her partner, a woman heads off to a remote Scottish coatal village to have some time lalone and to work on a novel. Initially disturbed by visions of a now-vengeful child, she eventually falls in love with the local lighthouse keeper and her ife appears to head back on...
Published on 24 Nov 2006 by Green Man Music


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a Scottish Ghost Story, 24 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
After the tragic accidental death of her son (for which she blames herself), and the indifference of her partner, a woman heads off to a remote Scottish coatal village to have some time lalone and to work on a novel. Initially disturbed by visions of a now-vengeful child, she eventually falls in love with the local lighthouse keeper and her ife appears to head back on track again.

However the newcomer's stories of romantic trips to the lighthouse do not sit well with the local mainlanders, and it is not long before she has more terrible experiences and begins to fear for both her sanity, and ultimately, her life.

Beautifully filmed and in the main well-acted, this is an enjoyable film that mixes the genre of traditional Scottish ghost story with a more modern style of fayre such as "The Sixth Sense". Despite the unusual casing in Demi Moore, she seemed to suit this more mature and les glam role of a divorced mum in a coastal village in her heavy Argyll sweater!

The wrangling plot became a little confusing towards the end, particularly the attidute of her best friend which contributed to my lack of understanding of it; and there were shades of the unbelievable and more confusion in her stunt finale. But nevertheless, I thought this a nice creepy little film which I'm going to be watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go!, 10 Dec 2006
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I was originally put off from this film by some of the negative review I have read, but it was a pleasant surprise! Demi Moore is not the best actress and this film is not an oscar winner for her, but yet it is definitally worth a look.

To sum up,writer Rachel's (Demi) son dies in a tragic accident so she decides to move to a secluded cottage in the scottish highlands to finish writing her latest book. Once there, she embarks on a love affair with the light house keeper, but all is not as it seems. Added to that are strange goings- on that lead Demi to question her sanity.

The acting is not always great. Demi's is okay as is her lighthouse lover's, but her best friend and husband's is appalling. Still, don't let that put you off as this is a genuinely good film with an excellent plot twist. I won't spoil it for you, suffice to say you won;t see it coming!

Not only is the storyline good, but the beautiful scenary and atmospheric music really do make it a better then average movie. It cerainly makes a change from the vile hostel/hills have eyes slasher flicks that are so often inflicted on us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Light _ Excellent Film, 21 Aug 2006
By 
R. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
After Rachel's (Demi Moore) young son dies and causes her marriage to crumble, she relocates to a reclusive lodge in the rural setting of Scotland. Aided by her close friend, she moves into the lodge for inspiration to write her new books.

After exploring a nearby Lighthouse, she falls in love and once again feels complete... but not for long. Strange stories of the lighthouse begin to emerge and Rachel's own sanity is tested.

Personally, I thought the film was excellently directed and shot. With many a suspense filled twists, the film leaves the viewer wanting to know whats going to happen next.

Not one of Demi's best films (Nothing beats Ghost for me), but she is excllent in it. A must Watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Old Fashioned Chiller/Thriller, 9 Jun 2007
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
Filmed in Anglesey and featuring the stunning Llanddwyn light house, this is a very enjoyable chiller with plenty twists and turns.

Demi Moore is best selling novellist Rachel - distraught at the death of her 5 year old son in a drowning accident - who seeks refuge in a remote part of Scotland some 8 months after his death. She strikes up a friendship with the lighthouse keeper, Angus, who begins to coax her out of her melencholy - only for her world to be rocked once more by impossible revelations from the local villagers.

As Rachel struggles to make sense of the madness around her, other figures from her past are moving closer and it seems that only help from beyond the grave can save her.

With breathtaking scenery, a nicely paced and filmed story and a good, solid performance from Demi Moore, this film is an unexpected treat with more than a nod to Alfred Hitchcock. No excessive gore, it relies on atmosphere, clever lighting and a spooky sound track to hold the viewers attention....

Get hold of a copy, dim the lights, open the wine - and get ready to jump!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected (a lot better), 1 Jan 2008
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
I really loved this movie. I watched it several months ago and enjoyed it. The other day, however, I received an email from a company that let me know the music score was now exclusively available at iTunes. This prompted me to both download the score and see the movie once again.

I think I enjoyed the movie even better the second time.

I rented this the first time based on the plot outline. I haven't been a Demi Moore fan since that horrid horrid movie she did a few years ago where she had two lives-- one in America, one in France. Oh, she was just horrible in that even-more horrible movie! I really decided then and there that I wasn't a fan and she could not act.

But, she did an excellent job in this role.

I think what makes this movie so interesting-- and even better the second time-- is that there is a real mix of supernatural phenomena combined with non-supernatural. It can be a bit confusing at first, since the viewer is not sure if he or she is witnessing ghostly events or not.

What sets this movie apart from so many others is the ambience. Yes, it was beautifully filmed. But, even more so, the story moved along. There were so many things happening, so many interesting twists. Never, however, did the movie overwhelm the senses. It was quiet, serene, peaceful, yet always moving forward. Everything worked very well together.

Finally, the cast was really first rate. Hans Matheson was excellent. I am looking forward to seeing him again and plan to rent Deathwatch next (he's in that). And, the others were excellent, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 21 Feb 2007
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
I didnt expect much from this, but it was really good, I didnt see the end coming and I am usually good at working them out. I recomend this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Light - filmed in Wales, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
I know where this was filmed which is the reason I bought it, but I enjoyed the film as much as seeing the beautiful island the story is partly set on. Not going to tell you where it is as I don't want too many people discovering it. The film has an interesting twist which makes it worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than a half decent thriller, 28 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True, the plot borrows from classics as diverse as 'Dont look know', Gaslight' and 'The Wicker man' (if its a trendy director its called 'homage', but if its an unknown director, the critics label it 'theft') My advice is that you view this film and make your own mind up.

It is a smart little romantic thriller wreathed in supernatural overtones. The locations are simply awesome and they will leave you wanting to book your next holiday in Wales. The score (available to purchase) greatly enhances the sense of mood, milieu and menace. And there is plenty of menace. This romantic thriller is a little-known gem and watching it will prove a haunting experience - '...when darkness falls the dead will rise...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky stuff., 1 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Half Light [DVD] (DVD)
Half light is all about a Rachel (Demi Moore) a mystery writer that loses her son in an accident. She moves to Scotland so she can write, renting a cottage in the middle of no where. When she begins to see her dead son Rachel begins to question her sanity but her new found friend Angus the light house keeper helps her through it. Later when Rachel talks about Angus to the villagers she's told that he died seven years ago. . .

This film is not a jump out your seat horror but it has a fantastic story and has a few twists and turns nearer the end. I felt that the film could have been made a wee bit longer as it was a bit rushed to get to the end but overall i enjoyed the film and would recommend it =D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delve a little deeper., 10 Aug 2014
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Light (Region B) (Blu-ray)
I've now watched this movie three times, and each time I've got something out of it. There are layers and character/plot explanations not initially present upon the first viewing. No doubt the writer/director must've raged against any criticism who only saw the film on a baffling superficial level. To be honest if you allow yourself to delve deeper into the third party - mystical elements - this is great stuff. From the beautiful landscapes of wild mother nature to the intrinsic angst of the main character, Half Light is an overlooked little gem. And please forget any negativity about Demi Moore's performance. If you look and look again, she does indeed convey an emotional depth and a scarred, but also a very alluring character struggling to come out the numbness of guilt and grief, Of course it's unfortunate that only an HD Blu-ray version exists as a Spanish release. But hey - it is UK playable and does have an English soundtrack. As a minor quibble, there is some faint grain In various scenes, but over all, if you liked this film on DVD without really knowing, than you'll love and appreciating it even more in HD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half Light [DVD]
Half Light [DVD] by Craig Rosenberg (DVD - 2006)
£1.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews