Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action and emotional highs awaits in this title !
This is a great first for anime fans in the UK !

Finally one of the great mainstream TV animes that have been butchered for kids-time western screens .... is going to be avaible in the UK on DVD .... uncut !!!

Alot of TV anime titles are being released uncut in english on DVD in the USA , but this is the first time one has come over to the UK market...
Published on 11 Sep 2006 by Low-Quality

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, but still good
I would like to give this more, i should give it more maybe another 1/2. I love naruto the manga (5 star) but naruto the anime is... exactly the same. Frame by frame.

Each of the Naruto volumes has about 4 1/2 episodes dedicated to them, which is over 80 minutes of anime, (it is quicker to read the book).

My main grievance is that each episode...
Published on 25 Nov 2006 by G. Nixon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action and emotional highs awaits in this title !, 11 Sep 2006
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great first for anime fans in the UK !

Finally one of the great mainstream TV animes that have been butchered for kids-time western screens .... is going to be avaible in the UK on DVD .... uncut !!!

Alot of TV anime titles are being released uncut in english on DVD in the USA , but this is the first time one has come over to the UK market , so having Naruto uncut on DVD in the UK is a big deal for fans like me.

This box-set boasts 13 episodes from the long running TV series ! The quality of the animation , story telling and character design are all quite high especially for a TV animation budget ! Naruto uncut easily triumps over most of the TV animes being shown on UK screens at the moment !

These early episodes sets you up for great fights to come and as well providing some emotionally touching scenes in some scenes !
Character developement is especially well handled and things unfold at a decent rate .

Visually , unlike it's English TV counterpart ..... the show is uncut .... so yeah .... all the blood edited out for english TV , is now back !
Audio-wise maybe ... not-so uncut .... well the dialogue seems pretty much the same as was used for the English TV dub .... so I don't think they recorded a new voice track for uncut DVDs.

Thankfully the original japanese opening and closing sequences/credits that were removed for english TV , have returned in this box-set too , along with thier songs !

If some people don't like the english Dub , they can always Switch to japanese subs , which are included here too ... but still I think the english dub itself is very acceptable even from a hardcore fans POV .

Although the subtitles themselves are questionable too , both the spoken english dub and the availble subtitles have their own varying degrees of accuracy in accordance to the original script .... although it's forgivable just as long as the voice actors don't say anything too stupid / out of character .... well besides an annoying and lame catchphrase they've decided to add to the english version that is .... ( This show is handled rather well in english compared to loads of other animes dubbed into english for kids TV.)

Naruto is the kind of adventure many kinds of viewers can enjoy , particulary fight fans ..... and maybe is the kind of show to use if you want to get someone into anime too ..... because there is alot of awful shows on UK screens that wouldn't impress .... especially being cut and all ....

This DVD boxset instantly restores and gives you back what the English TV version takes away from you ( The UK Jetix version of Naruto has been edited and cut so extensively, it's no longer enjoyable .... get this DVD instead ! )....... all anime fans should check this out ..... it's full of both intriguing action and characters .... and hopefully won't go stale too soon as many animes do after a long run .....

The presentation of the menus in this DVD are rather nice too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, 21 Aug 2006
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Well as the last review so rightly put no sooner has naruto hit the UK (albiet on a childrens network and over used edits) an uncut dvd boxset hits our shelves. I don't need to go into the details of the story as by now i'm sure you have all taken a quick peak at the product description so i'll just skip right to the review of the actual set.

the set itself is spread over 3 disks with 4 episodes on each (5 on one). the dvd boxset comes in a nice cardboard dvd holder which compared to the American set, gives it a more anime feel as Naruto himself is placed on the front. The menu's are nothing particulary special at most you have four options 'play all', 'setup', 'extras' and 'episode selection'.

Audio is the main surprise for me as you have a choice of normal stereo, 5.1 surround and dts. What makes it that much sweeter for the hardcore fans (such as myself) this also includes the japanese soundtrack. So the sound is a major strong point for both fans new and old. In terms of subtitles because i am not fluent in japanese i cannot comment on how accurate they are, but i can say there is a greater emphasis on english terms rather than american e.g. 'mum' instead of 'mom'.

The video as you would expect of a recent anime is smooth, crisp and so far as i can see no distortion. You can see that a certain high degree of effort was put into this presentation as the set includes both uncut openings and endings, the sponsorship slot (with no sponsorship included) and most importantly the preview of the next episode (missing in some other anime sets).

for under 20 pounds in my opinion you're getting a bargain, thirteen episodes fully uncut in presentation could be sold at a greater rate. The lack of extras, or good extras, is the only low point in my opinion. I am not a big fan of the dub version myself, having watched the original for 4 years its hard to adapt to an english adaptation however it is bareable but i'm sure the vast majority of people buying this set have no intention of purchasing it for the dub. So I give it four stars, great price and presentation but lack of real extras. My advice would be to watch the original japanese version first before jumping straight into the english version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing thing of all is the fact the UK got something like this., 17 Oct 2006
By 
Mark A. Teo "Mahzes" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Chances are, if you're reading this, you'll have a rough idea what this set's all about. So I'll just list the pros and cons of the set overall.

For a start, the two main factors that make this set a worthwhile purchase are the Japanese audio and sheer quantity of episodes for the price.

In fact, since it's almost all good here, it'd be easier if I point out the not-so-good things. But don't let them put you off, it's still great overall.

The main annoying thing is the accuracy of the subtitles. They're generally 85-95% accurate (I don't know fluent Japanese, but I know a fair bit. I've also seen the fansubs and read the manga), but some of the changes are just plain stupid. I've heard the subtitles in the US version were considerably more accurate, but for some reason, Manga decided to retranslate them from scratch.

The funniest thing about the subs is not only their strange interpretations, but the fact that they're pretty inconsistent with these interpretations. They start off translating "Kage Bunshin no Jutsu" (Shadow Replication Technique) as 'Art of Shadow Body Splitting', and thankfully start to call it 'Shadow Clone Technique' (which is thankfully a lot more accurate) in later episodes. So at least it's an improvement.

They also use 'sensei' in place of 'Mr' when referring to the teachers in later episodes, but it's quite oddly misspelled as 'sensi'.

I would say that this inconsistency and occasional inaccuracy in the subtitles is the only thing that drags this down. To give you an idea, the uncut English dub is generally more accurate than the subtitles, sadly. If you're a total beginner to Naruto, the subtitles will most likely confuse you a little. But as long as you have even a little background knowledge, you can just grin and bear it through the little inaccuracies.

The only other factor of this set that's somewhat disappointing are the extras. Textless opening and closing credits, and a so-called 'manga to anime transition' which is in fact nothing of the sort. It's just a slideshow of textless episode title cards for the 13 episodes on the set.

Still, it's got six sets of audio (Stereo, Surround and DTS for both English and Japanese).

Still, for the price, it would still be excellent value with half the number of episodes on. But for 13 episodes in two languages, you can't got far wrong. The slightly irritating subtitles are the only thing that drag the score down from a perfect 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it! The Ultimate Naruto Set!, 16 July 2006
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm pretty surprised that Naruto is arriving in the UK. It starts on Jetix on the 22nd of July, and this Uncut Boxset is great!

And I'm please this will have all the original footage. And if some of you don't like the English Dub, you'll be pleased to know that Viz Media have re-recorded an entirely brand new script to match that of the original Japanese script. So yes, you'll be hearing "damn", "crap", "kill", "ass" quite a bit.

So I'm giving this a 5-Star rating. One of the greatest anime ever, released uncut for a great price!

And I think we maybe getting Uncut Vol 2 sometime around Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series...got me fiending for more!!!, 9 Feb 2007
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are into Manga this is for you, great starter/intro to the Naruto series and it really is value for money. Only downside is the drawn-out introductions to each episode but its a minor really. We are lucky Manga have released this for the UK market!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First step for Naruto to dominate the UK?, 24 Aug 2006
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was suprised to hear that naruto was being shown on TV, but hugely dissapointed at the censoring which almost put me off the anime entirely, if like me you where disapointed then this would be the perfect buy for naruto and good anime loving fans.

If you have read the manga only and expect value for money 13 episodes may sound like a lot, but it only really covers approximatly the first 4 volumes of the manga. so if you want more of the story i would recommend the manga for more of the story and for first time naruto readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT AN INTRODUCTION, 25 Feb 2009
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What an introduction this is where it all begins because to be honest this is the best cartoon possibly of all time naruto is the HEROES of cartoons. If you love interesting, entertaining, dramatic, funny and amazing storyline and plots this is the show for you and so far it has 331 episodes, on its 15th season, has released 5 movies bringing out a 6th movie, countless games, sold millions of books and has millions of fans (just enter naruto cosplay on youtube to see the naruto conventions) and thats just to date this is well worth its price. money extremly well spent.

wishing you well luke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good start to one of the most popular anime series, 20 Nov 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Naruto has been one of the most popular anime series of recent years and this three disc set includes the first thirteen episodes of the first series. The series follows Naruto Uzumaki, a hyperactive youth whose goal is to become the greatest ninja in history. Grouped with the highly skilled Sasuke and the beautiful Sakura, under the tutelage of expert ninja Kakashi, Naruto must overcome many challenges to pursue his dream.

All of this makes Naruto something of an archetypical coming-of-age story and although this is a highly clichéd story, the series dose pull it off reasonably well, being enjoyable and compulsive viewing throughout. The series does have its problems with some rather overdramatic music, a tendency to overly recap at the beginning of some episodes and overuses flashbacks throughout. If you can overlook these things then you will find Naruto a fun series that will be enjoyed by both children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninja anime at its best!, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Michael Mclaren "Uchiha Mike" (The village hidden in the leaves) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Naruto is a very interesting anime, after 240 or so episodes, there are still some mysteries to be solved and it all began here. This is an epic begining to a great story and if you are interested into getting into Naruto, I would deffinitly recomed this be the starter.

Firstly, this anime is drawn out lovely using great colours and intense animation. The dailouge too is brilliant, one thing I have to admit is the dubbing is terrible and I do not like the voice actors (its just my opinion) so I always watch the episodes with japanese voices and english subtitles. The japanese voices are brilliant but the subtitles can be bad where it says people are talking when they arnt or they arnt synched together, but it rarely happens.

Overall, this is a great DVD boxset and well worth the money, I cant recomend this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, but still good, 25 Nov 2006
By 
G. Nixon "Jinxed" (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to give this more, i should give it more maybe another 1/2. I love naruto the manga (5 star) but naruto the anime is... exactly the same. Frame by frame.

Each of the Naruto volumes has about 4 1/2 episodes dedicated to them, which is over 80 minutes of anime, (it is quicker to read the book).

My main grievance is that each episode starts with the 3 minutes shown at the end of the previous episode making a 20 minute episode 17 minutes long. OK if you are watching the series week by week but as you will be watching 3/4 episodes at a time there is alot of repeating going on.

On to the anime quality. It isn't of film standard but there is still some very good animation on display here although newer manga like Avatar does look better.

Everything is covered to the smallest of detail with the character development and interaction and the anime comes to life when the action starts up which makes for essential viewing.

I do expect this series to get stronger as some favorite characters are introduced in later episodes and I am sure this review won't deter fans and it shouldn't as this is a good start to the Naruto series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa60ee2dc)

This product

Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD]
Naruto Unleashed - Series 1 Part 1 [DVD] by Naruto Unleashed (DVD - 2006)
£25.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews