Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb
Great value for money these guys were good and they will always raise a giggle well worth the money thumbs up
Published 20 months ago by JayLis

versus
52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSING ABBOTT AND COSTELLO.
I would not regard this box set of films as the "complete Universal / Abbott & Costello" collection as 3 films are missing from it.

The region 1 set already released in the states omitted " It Ain't Hay " from 1942, due to not agreeing with the estate of Daymon Runyan, the rights to the story on which the film is based. However the set did include " Little...
Published on 7 Sep 2006 by S. A. MULLIN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I was so pleased with this collection as I'm a big fan of Abbott and Costello, it has all their movies. Definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Great value for money these guys were good and they will always raise a giggle well worth the money thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSING ABBOTT AND COSTELLO., 7 Sep 2006
By 
S. A. MULLIN (Elburton, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I would not regard this box set of films as the "complete Universal / Abbott & Costello" collection as 3 films are missing from it.

The region 1 set already released in the states omitted " It Ain't Hay " from 1942, due to not agreeing with the estate of Daymon Runyan, the rights to the story on which the film is based. However the set did include " Little Giant " in which Bud and Lou appear seperatley and " The Wistful Widow of Wagon Gap " a western spoof that in terms of comedy value is, in my opinion, second only to " Meet Frankenstein ". Why these last 2 films are missing is a mystery as, I have said, they were released in the U.S !!!????

So buyers beware you may be able to get 15+ different versions of "Africa Screams" on dvd but not the 3 films listed above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abbott and Costello dvds, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very good price and very good condtion I suggest people should buy it funny Abbott and Costello movies. So good four star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxset review, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Excellant boxset, if like myself you are 40ish and were brought up on old school humour like abbott and costello, laurel and hardy etc. very funny films which never seem to age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abbot & Costello, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set for myself because when I was a kid they used to be on TV on Saturday mornings and I remember some of the films fondly, but my 6 year old son watches these DVD's avidly, gone are Scooby Doo (for the time being) and even though they are in 'black & white, he loves them, and I think they are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not Laurel and Hardy. Certainly is Abbott and Costello, 29 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly let me get one thing straight, Abbott and Costello are not Laurel and Hardy, the two cannot be compared really apart from era, clothing, props and regional parts of the world. Abbott and Costello did far more radio and tv work than L and H and had their own spin on the gags - please lets not try to compare the two it just wont work. I remember Abbott and Costello on TV mainly, the films are really very funny and the format is quite daring, plots are adventurous and gags varied. I love these boys because they have something that was unique to them. If you want Laurel and Hardy then buy them, if you want Abbott and Costello then buy them - never, however try to compare, you may miss the joke whilst trying to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belly achingly Funny, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This collection was bought as a present for my dad.... Giving hours of watching pleasure....nothing offensive here just good clean honest slapstick comedy.... pleased as punch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A complete collection., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If you love golden age comedy you will love this. I had this in my basket for a while, always considering buying. Then i finally made the move, it has everything you may want from Lou and Bud.

The early fillms are obviously a testing ground for theri style as in the firts of the set they are background characters, but you will see how they are quickly pulled in for the later filmd of which they are the main star.

If you like Luarel and Hardy or Martin and Lewis then drop this along side them as a perfetc slapstick boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great box set, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Miss B. D. Harris "Bernie H" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this item for a christmas present, partner loved it. Great price and sturdy case made of cardboard, nostalgic gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
18.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews