Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase
I was so pleased with this collection as I'm a big fan of Abbott and Costello, it has all their movies. Definitely worth the price.
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by maria

versus
54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSING ABBOTT AND COSTELLO.
I would not regard this box set of films as the "complete Universal / Abbott & Costello" collection as 3 films are missing from it.

The region 1 set already released in the states omitted " It Ain't Hay " from 1942, due to not agreeing with the estate of Daymon Runyan, the rights to the story on which the film is based. However the set did include " Little...
Published on 7 Sept. 2006 by S. A. MULLIN


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I was so pleased with this collection as I'm a big fan of Abbott and Costello, it has all their movies. Definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Great value for money these guys were good and they will always raise a giggle well worth the money thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSING ABBOTT AND COSTELLO., 7 Sept. 2006
By 
S. A. MULLIN (Elburton, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I would not regard this box set of films as the "complete Universal / Abbott & Costello" collection as 3 films are missing from it.

The region 1 set already released in the states omitted " It Ain't Hay " from 1942, due to not agreeing with the estate of Daymon Runyan, the rights to the story on which the film is based. However the set did include " Little Giant " in which Bud and Lou appear seperatley and " The Wistful Widow of Wagon Gap " a western spoof that in terms of comedy value is, in my opinion, second only to " Meet Frankenstein ". Why these last 2 films are missing is a mystery as, I have said, they were released in the U.S !!!????

So buyers beware you may be able to get 15+ different versions of "Africa Screams" on dvd but not the 3 films listed above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxset review, 20 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Excellant boxset, if like myself you are 40ish and were brought up on old school humour like abbott and costello, laurel and hardy etc. very funny films which never seem to age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belly achingly Funny, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This collection was bought as a present for my dad.... Giving hours of watching pleasure....nothing offensive here just good clean honest slapstick comedy.... pleased as punch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My youth forced on my kids, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching Abbott and Costello as a child, and the mummy and Frankenstein did scare me. Its nice to see that both my wife and children can enjoy this (black and white) collection of films as much as I did, though even an eight year old laughs at the monsters. Oh how time moves on. If you want a collection of films that remind you of a nice simpler time where films had no smut of nakedness, or you want to relive your youth, buy this box set. Well worth the price and who would have thought that children would rather watch these films than play a computer game?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great box set, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Miss B. D. Harris "Bernie H" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this item for a christmas present, partner loved it. Great price and sturdy case made of cardboard, nostalgic gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abbott and Costello dvds, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very good price and very good condtion I suggest people should buy it funny Abbott and Costello movies. So good four star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abbot & Costello, 8 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set for myself because when I was a kid they used to be on TV on Saturday mornings and I remember some of the films fondly, but my 6 year old son watches these DVD's avidly, gone are Scooby Doo (for the time being) and even though they are in 'black & white, he loves them, and I think they are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abbott & Costello were one of the greatest comedy teams in the history of show business, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm 37, I am a huge fan of Laurel and Hardy but I do not think it is fair to compare the two comedy teams together. While L&H are the most popular comedy team ever, Abbott and Costello are the greatest team for when they came on the scene, the best straight man/clown act ever. I love all their films and I can never find fault in any of them. The quality is very sharp and nice.
There is 24 titles in this boxset however is not complete but it is very worthed especially to start collecting their movies so there is 12 more titles missing as a team and then there is The 30 Foot Bride Of Candy Rock in which Lou costello stares in it alone.
Some facts on Abbott and Costello.
Abbott & Costello were one of the few teams to popularize a variety of different mediums in show business... in the 22 years of their partnership they went from burlesque to radio to films to TV.
Abbott & Costello were the first non-baseball playing celebrities ever to be inducted into the world-famous Baseball Hall of Fame in 1957.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abbott And Costello - The Collection (13 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
£24.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews