Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2006
This DVD is excellent in every respect. The music is great (of course - Trucks is the new slide guitar genius, and the band are well capable of keeping up with him). The set list reflects the best that this band has to offer - it's much more than Trucks' Songlines album. Check out the John Coltrane/John Schofield-inspired version of Greensleeves!

The sound quality is absolutly superb (better than previous live recordings of this band in my view). The gig has been filmed well, with lots of close-in camera angles which allow us to join in the musical interplay within the band. And there are some nice interviews with the band as an extra. Every fan of slide guitar and musicianship should have this disc in their collection.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
With Derek Trucks on lead guitar you can hear the guitars of Duane Allman, Carlos Santana and Jimi Hendrix's coming through his Fender amp along with all the other great blues players. The minute this guy starts playing you can tell he has an incredibly deep understanding and appreciation for the music he's playing.
On top of all these sweet influences you can also hear his profound passion for Gospel music, the old rhythm n blues music and jazz. Songs like Up Above My Head just take you away to another place with their sweet sweet riffs and 5 star vocals. This dvd is an education as well as a pleasure for any aspiring musicians, young or old.

And for the record, Trucks is as devastating WITHOUT the slide as he is with it. A guitarist for the ages indeed. His music will never grow old.

One thing to note for guitarists and slide guitarists: you will notice he doesn't change guitar for the songs without slide. He just keeps TEARING it up - in open E... Truly astounding! The benchmark in modern electric guitar.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Many would class being 81st in the Rolling Stone Magazine's 2003 list of "The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time" a fantastic achievement; but to make it when he was only 24 (the youngest musician to be included) makes me wonder what else this guy has in store for us. Duane Allman must be looking down from rock and roll heaven with a smile on his face.
The DVD itself is a good quality recording that captures the essence of Derek Trucks Band, musically brilliant and its evident the band have been together for a while.
This is one I will be listening too over and over without tiring of it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
I saw Derek Trucks when he was in Eric Clapton's band in Birmingham 2006. His guitar playing and playing style were amazing. This DVD only confirms what I thought after the Birmingham concert.
His playing without the slide is equally amazing. I've just purchased the live "Roadsongs" CD which features some of the DVD tracks. I very much enjoy listening to The Derek Trucks Band, but watching them is even better.
Anyone who likes to watch great gutarists at work will enjoy watching this DVD.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I have some CD'S of 'The Derek Trucks Band' so this was a good addition, I do prefer 'The Tedeski Trucks Band' as his wife Susan has one of the best rock voices ever, up there with Bonny Rait. But there's no denying Derek Trucks ability on the guitar. Good stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I love the Tedesci Trucks Band and this was slightly dissapointing.I liked it anyway just not as much as if it was with his missus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Derek Trucks! What more can I say - if you want a DVD with some amazing tunes/guitar playing...look no further!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Bought this on a whim and was totally blown away with how good it was! Excellent mix of musical styles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2010
i can recomend this dvd theres aselection of styles of music from blues to jazz to rock excellent
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
very well produced, excellent and diverse music treat. A great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.03
£6.40
£12.99
£4.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)