Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highlight TV show of 2005...
One of the most entertaining shows of 2005 has now made its way onto DVD and once more the viewer can lose themselves in the wonder of the U.K., as a series of experts voyage around the cooastline of this isle. This epic-series, which is accompanied by a book by Christopher Somerville, takes in twelve hour-long episodes focusing on the British coastline: 'Dover to...
Published on 17 Dec 2005 by Jason Parkes

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fernandezbookends
This is an exceptional series, camera work is good and some of the views are stunning an to be frank it is difficult to evaluate
The reason then for only giving it a 3 is that you always feel as if you are getting a fleeting glimpse or sound bite of a location. In addtition, there are some obvious gaps as you tend in any particular episode to zoom past a great deal...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Fernandez


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highlight TV show of 2005..., 17 Dec 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
One of the most entertaining shows of 2005 has now made its way onto DVD and once more the viewer can lose themselves in the wonder of the U.K., as a series of experts voyage around the cooastline of this isle. This epic-series, which is accompanied by a book by Christopher Somerville, takes in twelve hour-long episodes focusing on the British coastline: 'Dover to Exmouth: The Frontline'; 'Exmouth to Bristol: The Wild West'; 'Bristol to Cardigan Bay: Times and Tides'; 'Cardigan Bay to the Dee: The Travellers Coast'; 'Liverpool to Solway Firth: Shifting Sands'; 'The Northern Ireland Coast: The Troubled Coast'; 'West Coast of Scotland and Western Isles: Islands and Inlets'; 'Cape Wrath to Orkney: Life on the Edge'; 'John O'Groats to Berwick: The Working Coast'; 'Berwick to Whitby: The Forgotten Coast'; 'Robin's Hood Bay to The Wash: The Inventive Coast'; & 'The Wash to Dover: The Vanishing Coast.'
The voyage is undertaken by several experts, the principal presenter Nicholas Crane (Map Man) is supported by a team of experts including historian Neil Oliver (Two Men in a Trench), archaeologist Mark Horton (Time Flyers), zoologist Miranda Krestovnikoff (Hidden Treasure) & anatomist/archaeologist/flame-hairerd uber-vixen Alice Roberts (Time Team). The voyage around the UK's coastline shows us not only the present day, but flips into the history of the country - whether taking up specific historical stories, alluding to the climate changes that formed this isle, or exploring the natural phenemona & wild-life.
There are too many great moments to detail, I particularly liked Neil Oliver's piece on an obscure lighthouse (with a wonderful tale of murder), Alice Roberts exploring what was left of a promenade in Northern Ireland, and the episodes that focused on Scotland. The point of the programme was made often when it was initially shown on BBC2 - that everyone in the UK is not far from the British coast, so why not explore it?
'Coast' demonstrates that this country has much to offer and felt like a more-rounded companion to Julian Cope's stone-circle themed 'The Modern Antiquarian' - this DVD is perfect winter-viewing that will hopefully compel viewers to explore the British coast in the new year. Sure, there were populist aspects - modern graphics, references to 'The Prisoner' & descriptions of geology made with cakes, but this is due to the fact that the programme is trying to appeal to a wide audience. Everyone I know who has seen it has loved it - and watching 'Coast' I came to realise that my voyage between work and home is a very small universe. An ideal Christmas present also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who love the coast, 17 Dec 2005
By 
W. Hutchinson "whutchin2" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series is real value for money, the photography is brilliant and the insights into the biological and social aspects of the UK coastline is uplifting. As someone who no longer lives in Britain this brought back terrific memories. There are a couple of irritations such as the introduction of the team members at the beginning of every episode and sometimes the commentary sometimes appears to be coming from school teachers, but this does not mar this terrific project and series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Coast 1 get Coast 2, 3 April 2007
By 
P. A. Tamblyn "Phill735" (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coast 2 - BBC Series 2 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I got hooked on the first series, after buying the dvd set for only 11gb. Seeing Coast season 2 on Amazon.co.uk, I had to get it, but wondered why they would do the coast of the UK again, and if it would be as good. This season has the same crew, this time the dark haired scottish guy (sorry I cant think of the names)is hosting, unbrella man does the geography stories. dosnt seem as rushed as the first season, but they had to get a lot cramed into that season.

Like the first season it is full of interesting information, including the first attempt at a England - France tunnel in 1880, the make up of the white chalk cliffs, sea habitats, beach side resorts, ect. Series 2 contains 8, one hour episodes on 3 DVDs. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, I do like to be beside the seaside!, 19 Jun 2006
But living in the midlands these days, I miss the sea terribly. Watching the Coast series is a real treat and makes my longing for the sea even stronger. There are so many miles of astoundingly beautiful coastline round England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland (about 12,000 miles I think they said when you add in all the twiddly bits and islands) that the series could have been twice as long and my attention wouldn't have faltered for a moment. And it's not just the beauty of the coastline that recommends this series - there's the sea itself in all its moods and tempers, the marine wildlife and the history. I've no doubt that I'll watch these DVDs many times. There is really only one thing I can think that would improve the programmes and that is subtitles. I can think of several occasions when they would have been useful, for example, when the zoologist, Miranda was diving with seals and it was very difficult to understand what she was saying in her diving suit, when the geographer, Nick was speaking over the clatter of a fish-finger conveyor belt, when the archaeologist/anthropologist, Mark was speaking in a Butlins holiday camp disco. Even without the subtitles though, it's mostly quite easy to understand what's said.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fernandezbookends, 2 Feb 2009
This is an exceptional series, camera work is good and some of the views are stunning an to be frank it is difficult to evaluate
The reason then for only giving it a 3 is that you always feel as if you are getting a fleeting glimpse or sound bite of a location. In addtition, there are some obvious gaps as you tend in any particular episode to zoom past a great deal whilst heading off to the next sound bite location. Without doubt it is a great TV endeavour. However, taking my own region of the North east of England, I felt that it concentrated on a current topical event, or a particular historical event, to the exclusion of giving the viewer a broader feel.

Perhaps that sums up the series, great TV endeavour, very good, but lacks a broader feel for the whole Coast, and a bit like popping into a Pub and having a quick half and a packet of crisps before zooming off again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply MUST HAVE for any collection. easy 10/10, 25 Sep 2007
From start to finish this is a sumptious, gorgeous presentation and the best COAST series by far, especially in picture quality. We use it for visiting ares we would never have got the chance to see, and it's fun looking for the locations shown using google earth etc.

I have all three series, and if you must have one than this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some beautiful scenes and interesting anecdotes, 13 Jan 2008
By 
W. Hutchinson "whutchin2" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is much better than Coast 2. Some of the places visited were really interesting and the anecdotal facts presented really put a lot of things into perspective. For instance, did you know Christopher Columbus visited Ireland before his epic voyage? All of this information put a lot of things into context for me. All in all a great show.
However, a few things spoilt it for me. Firstly, a major problem was the overbearing background music especially when there was dialogue going on at the same time - that really irritated. Second, a minor one, was the over-enthusiatic presenters' obvious continual false sense of awe, etc. This does tend to insult the audience, although they did seem to calm down in a few episodes. The third is that pretentious umbrella carried by a presenter.
Nevertheless, well worth a viewing and buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to holiday in Britain!, 28 Jan 2006
This fantastic BBC series has finally made its way on to DVD and not before time. This takes you on an unforgetable journey around the British coastline and shows you parts of the UK that are truly breath taking. I am not really into history but this series gives you just the right balance of information to make this not only informative but a very refreshing look at the coastline of the UK. It has encouraged me to holiday back in the UK & i am sure it would do the same for others - Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as series one, but better than series two., 25 Sep 2007
Series one was the benchmark, simply sumptious in presentation and picture quality.

Series two was a poor relation, let down on graphic and picture quality, as well as DVD presentation/chapters.

Series three was better than two but not quite as good as one.

Regardless grab all three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 3 year old couldn't recomended more!, 26 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. George Johnson "Gj" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have always loved the coast, staring out to sea. My parents always took me on holiday to the coast around Britain, from Lands End to John O'Groats. A love that has always stayed with me, these days I take every opportunity to visit the coastline, with my little one. This series has opened my eyes to more splended sights that I will now make it my goal to visit. The passion that Nick Crane and his colleagues feel for their subject it so intense, you can't help but feel it leap out of the screen at you. If you enjoy Britain and it's amazing natural sights, this will really light a fire under you. My little three year old loves this series and will happily sit glued to it for hours, if given the chance!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coast 2 - BBC Series 2 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2005]
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews