Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film!
Only got this film as a memory from my very young childhood seeing a funny train film with that bloke from Woman In Red in it (Gene Wilder). From start to finish it was good and had a nice humour all the way through without being too long winded. Pretty dated in places but like all 70s and 80s movies its good to capture the era on film. Wilder and Pryor work very well...
Published on 17 Aug 2010 by Jag Man Paul

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Blu Ray DVD doesnt play!!
It dosent play on my blu ray player. I didnt realise until I tried to watch it that it is a region A disc & it wont play!!
Published 7 days ago by Mr L Davidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film!, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Only got this film as a memory from my very young childhood seeing a funny train film with that bloke from Woman In Red in it (Gene Wilder). From start to finish it was good and had a nice humour all the way through without being too long winded. Pretty dated in places but like all 70s and 80s movies its good to capture the era on film. Wilder and Pryor work very well together here with comedy and a touch of cheese. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little train ride !, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Well what have we here? What we have is a great Sunday afternoon (or evening) movie entertainment. The plot is a simple one...villains on a train versus the good guys on the same train.
A strong touch of `Narrow Margin' here and also think of Cannonball Run, Dukes of Hazzard and the
Beverly Hillbillies! Maybe also Tough Guys. It's that kind of film. Having said that, this kind of thing is what the Yanks do best...they have the cash, the resources and above all the room. This is not a thriller to be taken seriously....except perhaps for the dialogue...try to follow this closely...its pretty sharp in places...don't cut yourself! There are some great scenes to be had in this film (it was up for awards after all) especially the finale which is particularly spectacular and worth staying the course to see.
My only slight criticism is that the film is a tad long...begins to get a bit predicable in the last half hour ...could have been ten minutes shorter, and comic Richard Pryor should have made an earlier appearance to keep the humour rolling along. Bond movies actor Richard Kiel (he of the poor dental work) makes a creditable contribution also. This is an enjoyable film with not a mobile phone in sight...wonderful!. And made only thirty odd years ago ! Anyone who enjoyed this movie first time round will now be of a certain age and will enjoy the strong nostalgia element, which is afoot here! This is a well produced movie, I've seen it on a number of occasions and nowadays think how great it is, however briefly, to get back to the 70s !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect late night film !, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, I can watch it over and over and over and over and over and over without getting bored. Wilder is great and the fantastic McGoohan is the villian. Mancini's score is truely memorable.

Waiting for Blu-ray...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Train Ride Of Good Solid Comedy, 31 July 2007
By 
Scott "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I generally find American TV comedy to be unfunny, I just can't abide all that canned laughter on their comedy shows that appear so forced into making the audience laugh at something that just isn't funny that I've always wondered what on earth it is that they are laughing about, maybe it's the different culture thing. Now there is no laughter track on Silver Streak because it's a film and that's the amazing difference. To put it bluntly the Americans are rubbish at TV comedy but great at the movie counterpart and I've never understood why.

Silver Streak features perhaps America's best double act in the last few decades, with the exception of Steve Martin and John Candy from Planes, Trains and Automobiles, I refer to Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor of course. This was their first film together and the fact that Pryor does not feature in the film until roughly halfway through and instantly gels with Wilder was a sign that they were going to have a very successful relationship, although since Pryor's death Wilder has made the claim that they were not as close as many believed but that does not stop them being very, very funny indeed. The two are big screen comedy geniuses, sparking off each other and raising the other's performance constantly.

The idea of a story using a trek across America has always appealed to me, films such as the previously mentioned Planes, Trains...., Dumb and Dumber etc and Silver Streak all feature this aspect and it is one that I enjoy enormously, it seems to give the film time to establish the characters in a smooth and leisurely way and allows the plot to unfold gently and draws the viewer in.

The feeling for the 1970's is everpresent and as this is my nostalgic decade that can only be a good thing, I won't go into plot details but this film is well worth the 113 minutes of your time if you take my advice and buy it, it is probably the best American comedy film of the 70's and for Wilder and Pryor it was only surpassed by the masterpiece, Stir Crazy.
A very pleasant, gentle film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY '70s Hollywood Film, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Arthur Hiller's 1976 film is the epitome - and one of the best and at times, the worst - example of what Hollywood came synonymous for in the 1970s.

Ending with one of those truly great action set-pieces, when such were actually filmed and not with a computer mouse and starting out with the oh-so-smooth Gene Wilder getting his wicked way with the delectable Jill Clayburgh, an awful lot happens in-between.

Taking - and featuring huge chunks of influence from James Bond (inc 'Jaws', the iron-toothed giant), Hitchcock (crime capers on moving trains, espionage, intrigue) and loads of over-the-top big Americanism, this is a rail-road coaster of a ride. You can see bits that have helped influence later films, too and the start of the delicious pairing between Wilder and black comedian Richard Pryor, which spilled out over into the future Stir Crazy and Blazing Saddles.

Yes, a lot of it is nonsense - this is essentially Sunday afternoon TV fun, now. There's clever innuendo, dumb stunts, big scenery and baddies. It does pop up on Film 4 and Sky Movies every once in a while, showing that it is still has a place and though obviously looking pretty dated now, you can't go far wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Streak, 26 Oct 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
It's a harmless 70's comedy drama that happily passes the time on a lazy weekend afternoon.
Prior excels and Wilder is as good as ever. Occassionally on TV but usually I have ended up catching only the tail end...so, decided to get this and chill on the settee. Watch out for the Sheriff, you'll recognise him from Live and Let Die only he's even zanier here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By plane, by train, by the edge of your seat..., 23 Jun 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Silver Streak is directed by Arthur Hiller and written by Colin Higgins. It stars Gene Wilder, Jill Clayburgh, Patrick McGoohan, Ned Beatty and Richard Pryor. Music is by Henry Mancini and cinematography by David M. Walsh. It is the first of four films that Wilder and Pryor would make together. Story finds Wilder as book editor George Caldwell, who upon boarding the Los Angeles to Chicago train finds himself mixed up with art forgers who are only too happy to commit murder to keep their dealings quiet. Fun, frolics and high speed danger will follow.

Amiable film that just about manages to blend Hitchcockian thriller values with silly comedy shenanigans; even throwing in a good old rousing disaster movie staple for the last quarter. Even though Pryor doesn't feature until the halfway point in the piece, this is very much a film that succeeds due to the chemistry between himself and Wilder. Sure the action is well handled, and the other major players are performing well (McGoohan sinister/ Clayburgh sweet/Beatty ebullient), but it's noticeable that the film considerably picks up on comedy value once Pryor enters the fray. With that in mind, picture feels too long at just under 2 hours, but it's never less than entertaining and was popular enough with cinema audiences to ensure Wilder and Pryor would go on to make the wonderful Stir Crazy 4 years later. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars William#s Review, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the BEST 1970's movie ever! There are so many important features that people miss when they watch a movie. Like any movie there are mistakes made in the film. This is no different,like the 'rollong roadblock' in the film. we see Pryor and Wilder drive towards the roadblock and crash into it. Before the crash, Pryor takes off his sunglasses,but after the crash when they pull away we see them on. But this film has a very special place in my heart, Gene Wilder and Richard are at the height of their hollywood career in this film. But its not just the film that makes this my favourite film, nor is it because the comedy, but with the heart-warming music that one little-known 'Henry Mancini',who conducts the music to the film. It was indeed the 'Days of Wine and Roses'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun, 5 Jan 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Good train movie, quite fun. It has Patrick "the prisoner" Mc Gowan, Gene Wilder (count how many times he manages to come back on the train), Richard Pryor and the marvellous Jill Clayburgh, so pretty and charming. The final scene probably inspired "mad train movies" like "runaway train" (good) and the recent "unstoppable" (terrible), but this movie is not in the same vein, by miles. Quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver Streak, 2 Feb 2009
By 
J. Wilkinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Gene Wilder sets off on a restful journey on the Silver Streak train. Soon after hitting it off with gorgeous secretary Jill Clayburgh he discovers her boss on the train has been murdered. Trying to reason with the suspects he is thrown off the train, and throughout the rest of the journey he is on and off it. The police catch up with the villains, Wilder, Clayburgh and their friends escape and the runaway train crashes dramatically into the terminus. Good fun and some comical episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1b604a4)

This product

Silver Streak [1976] [DVD]
Silver Streak [1976] [DVD] by Fred Willard (DVD - 2006)
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews