Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally....an ESSENTIAL Dusty compilation
Do we need yet another Dusty compilation when the market is already flooded with them ? Well, the short answer is a resounding YES because Mercury finally gets it right by putting out a truly essential compilation with a theme - her Complete A & B sides released in the UK between 1963 and 1970 and the result is simply smashing. Strictly no messing about. The singles are...
Published on 20 Sep 2006 by Reader from Singapore

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Complete Dusty Collection !
Where is 64's wonderful summer hit "Wishin N Hoping" ? Not to mention it's "B" side ? Why those were left out is beyond me ?
Published 1 month ago by James P Busbin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally....an ESSENTIAL Dusty compilation, 20 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
Do we need yet another Dusty compilation when the market is already flooded with them ? Well, the short answer is a resounding YES because Mercury finally gets it right by putting out a truly essential compilation with a theme - her Complete A & B sides released in the UK between 1963 and 1970 and the result is simply smashing. Strictly no messing about. The singles are in strict chronological order with the A sides on one disc and the B sides on another. They are also in rare mono - the original singles mix - unless the tapes are unavailable, in which case the familiar stereo mixes are used (eg, Losing You and Little By Little). Some of the hits (eg. Goin' Back) are aurally very different in mono and a special treat. Some of the fades also run on longer than usual (eg, In The Middle Of Nowhere and Some Of Your Lovin').

The non-stop run of hits (plus a couple of unconscionable misses like the funky Northern Soul classic What's It Gonna Be and Clive Westlake's excellent I Will Come To You) on Disc 1 simply leaves you breathless and giddy with joy and admiration at how in the 60s Dusty was faultless in her selection of original material for singles. Songs tucked away on the B sides were almost as good. Four were even written or co-written by her (eg, Once Upon A Time, Something Special, I'm Gonna Leave You and Go Ahead On). My own personal favourite is the little known Goffin & King girl group beat song I'll Love You For Awhile, given a real punchy treatment here.

And you can't ask for more in terms of packaging. Eclipse has used a gorgeous photo of a sooty-eyed Dusty circa 1965 for the front cover and it's just fab ! Complete A & B Sides is truly an essential buy. Hurry, grab yourself a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Dusty Album, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Alan Kimbrey (Long Eaton, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
Wow! I didn't realise how many hits she had. Some songs I had never heard before.The "B" side songs are fabulous. An absolute must for Dusty fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the true Dusty collector, 8 Aug 2010
By 
S. J. Herbert (L.A., CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
I admit it - I'm obsessed with Dusty's voice. The A sides will be familiar to most fans. The Bs are a bit more obscure.

A rare chance to visit her entire canon. There will never be another one like her. She could sing anything brilliantly and make it exquisitely her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Gold!, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
This is perhaps the essential Dusty collection (of her 60's material in any case), and is the perfect introduction to Dusty to the un-initiated. Here are Dusty's single releases from the 60's (by and large) in mono as listeners in the 60's would have heard them - and more than likely the mixes that Dusty would have worked on herself (without credit). Even as a Dusty fanatic - it's an album I can play end to end without skipping a track ie. no filler material here! And that includes the B-sides!!
Some of the tracks sound distinctly different, and in some cases quite superior in mono - particularly "You Don't Have To Say you Love Me" (in my opinion), although unfortunately it seems that the mono mixes of some of the singles no longer exist/can't be located and a few stereo tracks sneak in here and there, and "Little by Little", although mixed to mono, is not the same as the 45 release unfortunately.
As for the music itself - it's sublime, intelligent, soulful, heartfelt....how could a song like "I Will Come To You" not make a dent in the top ten at least??!! Miss you Dusty!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUBERB COMPILATION BUT I PREFER STEREO NOT MONO, 5 May 2012
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
There are die hard entusiasts who want the original mono versions of tracks, but I am not one of them, after all, we were born with 2 ears. Although it is true that some mono takes are different from the stereo takes, this is not always the case as many mono tracks are just the stereo takes reduced to one channel.
So it all depends on what you want, the music is great, all of Dusty's hit singles, but the sound quality, well that's a different matter. Many of these tracks are available in stereo, but not in one package like this, for alternatives see my other reviews of Dusty's CD's.
To sum up, music ***** ,sound quality *** , great value for mono enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B sides from these discs are never aired, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
Now is the time that someone has put these together and she or he should receive an award for this incredibly good idea that gets to the heart of the best singer this country (Uk) has ever produced.
Even if you think A sides are good and B sides must be bad..Buy this and change your mind,as well as blowing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars feedback, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
Great, I love this cd even if no matter if the music is considered " vintage". Perfect interpretations in any track of the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dustys Complete A&B sides 1963-1970, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
As a life long fan of Dusty, i have of course all the single 45s, and as the B sides are just as good, it's great to have them all on a CD.With all the A sides and B sides, you could ask for nothing more. I love you Dusty. Gray Owens-John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dusty cd, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
i am a massive dusty fan and have been since she went solo, as they say the white queen of soul, ahead of her time, cd is great i have most of a sides, but i bought it for the b sides, had these on vinyl, but not anymore, superb album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Complete Dusty Collection !, 14 Jun 2014
This review is from: Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 (Audio CD)
Where is 64's wonderful summer hit "Wishin N Hoping" ? Not to mention it's "B" side ? Why those were left out is beyond me ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970
Complete A And B Sides 1963-1970 by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews