Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little house on the prairie special edition movie box
just brill did not know this dvd exsisted comes in dutch packaging but just switch the subtitles off for english speaking. This completes my whole set. A must have if your a little house on the prairie fan.
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by sharon wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Little House.
I was disappointed with these movies as they went against the stories in the series. i.e. Albert did not die, he came back as the doctor in the series according to the author.
Published 19 months ago by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little house on the prairie special edition movie box, 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just brill did not know this dvd exsisted comes in dutch packaging but just switch the subtitles off for english speaking. This completes my whole set. A must have if your a little house on the prairie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little House on the Prairie: Special Edition Movie Box, 4 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Little House on the Prairie: Special Edition Movie Box is the very last 3 of Little House on the Prairie this dvd set is great to have if your a fan of Little House on the Prairie all 3 movies are in english audio and the none english subs can be Switch on off the last 3 are known as

Little House: Look Back to Yesterday (1983)
Little House: Bless All the Dear Children (1983)
Little House: The Last Farewell (1984)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory from my childhood, 14 Aug 2009
By 
This item is a fine memory from my childhood and I love to watch these old series. There is a lot of innocence in them. I have bought the last 4 seasons and I love to watch them. They are true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Little House.......' takes its last breath, 13 July 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Little House on Prairie: Special Edition Movie Box [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The three ninety minute 'Little House On The Prairie' movies found here were actually specially filmed as an effective way of wrapping up the series (after it has been cancelled during season 9), yet in many ways and despite each story involving life changing events 'Little House.....' ends up trickling to a close with three stories which do very little to enhance 'Little House....'s fine legacy.

The previous season in a sense had found a fresh perspective with the loss of the Ingalls family being replaced by a number of new and in some cases greatly effective new characters. Unfortunately, these three movies 'Look Back To Yesterday', 'Bless All The Dear Children' and 'The Last Farewell' (two of which include the returning Ingalls family) seem a great deal more sensationalised and far fetched by comparison.
There are just too many inconsistencies to ever really take these stories seriously, despite them each possessing some wonderfully dramatic moments.
The first story 'Look Back To Yesterday' involves Albert Ingalls contracting some fatal blood disease - that seems fairly convincing in itself - but i find the news that Albert had at last qualified as a doctor just too hard to swallow - the previous season of 'Little House....' had Albert dangerously addicted to drugs after getting entangled with some rough street gang - hardly the behaviour for someone who is seriously committed to the practice of medicine. Albert, in retrospect is perhaps one of those characters who hadn't really been given a strong sense of identity throughout the series offering the writers a little more flexiblity to hang onto him any storyline they concocted and it would fit.
The second story involves the abduction of Laura's baby, Rose. Again, this is perfectly reasonable except in the fact that while the kidnapper passes herself off as Rose's mother, Rose herself seems perfectly happy and at ease to go along with events with not a hint of fear or objection. Either there's something seriously wrong with Rose's relationship with Laura or this is a particuarly badly plotted story. Also the immediate forgiveness shown to her abductor by Laura and Almanzo seems very questionable - if the abductor hadn't have been caught Laura and Almanzo would never have ever seen their daughter again.
The third story 'The Last Farewell' is another rather far fetched episode although in many ways it is a little easier to sympathise with the townsfolk of Walnut Grove. The destroying of all the buildings (apart from the church) in Walnut Grove is designed purely to pull on the heartstrings of the viewers with little hint that the townsfolk realise the full extent of their actions - many of whom barely had more than the the shirt on their backs.

The best thing about this DVD package are the extras - interviews with Melissa Gilbert, Melissa Sue Anderson and the casting director, Susan Mcray about their time on the series. They are truly essential for all 'Little House.....' fans and makes this package extremely attractive.

The stories are certainly very watchable with a fair sprinkling of drama - just don't think too hard. They're a world away from 'Little House' at its best.

Worth four stars but without those engaging extras it's worth a whole lot less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story and great rendition of the original book, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House on Prairie: Special Edition Movie Box [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this film as she is a great fan of the original author.
The film is a compelling story and easy to follow and stay focused with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 18 May 2013
By 
C. Bull (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've (sadly!) bought all the other box sets and this has provided the series finale. Good stuff!! Interesting ending to the entire series if you've not seen it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little house on the Prairie, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House on Prairie: Special Edition Movie Box [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Final addition added to my collection, " just Brilliant" great all round enjoyable family entertainment, Would strongly recommend 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clock, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MY God daughter was very very pleased with this item. She absolutely love it and very good value for money. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little House., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed with these movies as they went against the stories in the series. i.e. Albert did not die, he came back as the doctor in the series according to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD but difficult to set to english, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mom loves this but it has taken some time to get it to play in english. Managed to finally set it up for her but she had to watch it that day because as soon as the tv was turned of, the dvd set back to another language. Too complicated for a 78 year old to sort by herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews