Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tull classic
I just cant understand how such a fine album was panned by the critics.It is one of the finest albums in the Tull catalog along with Benefit,Aqualung,Broadsword and the Beast,Stand up,This was and Minstrel in the gallery.Martin Barre really shines on this classic and there are plenty of guitar solos on this one with terrific songs like Kissing Willie,Rattlesnake...
Published on 25 Sep 2008 by Rohit R

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock Island
Overall Rock Island is similar to Crest of a Knave but worse. The lyrics on the title track are somewhat distasteful, in one verse rather belittling rape. 'The Whaler's Dues' is like a shoddy re-working of Flying Dutchman from Stormwatch "Are you still with me?" asks Ian in the song. "No!" comes the ludicrous reply. Says it all really. 'Undressed to kill' and 'Kissing...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Stalker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tull classic, 25 Sep 2008
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
I just cant understand how such a fine album was panned by the critics.It is one of the finest albums in the Tull catalog along with Benefit,Aqualung,Broadsword and the Beast,Stand up,This was and Minstrel in the gallery.Martin Barre really shines on this classic and there are plenty of guitar solos on this one with terrific songs like Kissing Willie,Rattlesnake trail.Ears of Tin and Whalers Dues.This is a rock oriented record like Crest of a Knave and is highly recommended along with their seventies classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Island, Jethro Tull - Fun Rock from Anderson and the lads, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
Following from the success of `Crest Of A Knave', Jethro Tull decided to continue to mine the heavy rock seam with the follow up, `Rock Island'. As usual, all the tracks are from the pen of Ian Anderson. The band shows it can handle the rock motif with an assured touch, especially Martin Barre, who plays some quite interesting guitar. Anderson's flute is still much in evidence, and combines well with the general sound.

I really like this album for the fun and playful tone. From the unsubtle yet amusing opener `Kissing Willie' through Tull classics such as `Undressed to Kill' and the title track, this album is choc full of clever, yet fun lyrics. It's an album that always brings a smile to my face. It's not to everyone's taste, but I like it.

Recommended to all those who like rock with blistering guitars and a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a revisit., 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
I remember this album being released. A good friend of mine had overplayed Crest of a Knave, an album which I wasn't too fond of, since it seemed too Dire Straits-y to my ears. Rock Island was a much stronger album, I thought, but it didn't _grab_ me the way it should have. But then I was 17 at the time.
So here we are, 20 years later. Over the past half decade I have found myself revisiting the Tull back catalogue, and though I find it odd to admit, I have a huge fondness for Rock Island - it seems to have a special something which the preceding and following few albums lacked. My favourite Tull albums are a far cry from Rock Island (Songs from the Wood stands out) but RI stands out as a strong, confident album which is worth more attention than some give it. If you dismissed this one in the 80s, I would strongly recommend giving it a second chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Island, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
This was originally a birthday present from my wife back when I collected LPs. And now she has bought it again. This time on CD including extra tracks. How can I not love it (and her)? By the way: The CD is very good. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flute like no other, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
What a great album, I saw them on this tour and have seen them many times since, must buy for all Tull fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock Island, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
Overall Rock Island is similar to Crest of a Knave but worse. The lyrics on the title track are somewhat distasteful, in one verse rather belittling rape. 'The Whaler's Dues' is like a shoddy re-working of Flying Dutchman from Stormwatch "Are you still with me?" asks Ian in the song. "No!" comes the ludicrous reply. Says it all really. 'Undressed to kill' and 'Kissing Willie' are fun musically but seem to reflect Ian's last desperate lusting of middle age. There are still some good tracks though: 'Another Xmas Song' would provide superb support on a better album but here just seems to emphasise the lack of other decent material. The quiet sections of 'Ears of Tin' are great but the loud chorus tacked on sounds a bit clumbsy. 'Big Riff Mando' is another enjoyable and interesting track which adds some much needed variety. So it's by no means all bad but the days when the weak track on a Tull album was the exception had certainly come to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The same, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
This was pleasure recall too. A good introduction to the group's 'easier' sound. A good starter for a life-time's affection for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 8 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
Bought this CD because I want to have the complete collection of Jethro Tull. If you buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Dec 2009
This review is from: Rock Island (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with this. I felt it did not stand out as a Tull album. The only thing that was particularly noticable on it was 'Kissing Willie' which never fails to disgust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Island
Rock Island by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews