Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start
The game plays well, looks nice and is fun to play if you're a fan of Japanese style RPG's. Combat is straightforward and easy to pick up (unlike cumbersome button-mashathons like Magna Carta). Character interaction and storyline is amusing and fun.

Positive points :

Save anywhere ! No longer limited to ridiculously positioned save points...
Published on 13 Sep 2006 by Paprika

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good?, bad?, you decide...I cant
First of all there are a number of reviews on amazon that show this game

in a bad light, and what they say is true but what the positive people

say about it is also true (sort of).

Firstly lets start with the good.

The story and its premise are ok, its very final fantasy 10, man creates

magic, magic gets its own back...
Published on 16 Mar 2007 by Shion 2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 13 Sep 2006
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game plays well, looks nice and is fun to play if you're a fan of Japanese style RPG's. Combat is straightforward and easy to pick up (unlike cumbersome button-mashathons like Magna Carta). Character interaction and storyline is amusing and fun.

Positive points :

Save anywhere ! No longer limited to ridiculously positioned save points

Original Japanese voices available as an option

Good graphics on the in-game charas

Cut scenes very nicely handled.

Not-so-positive points :

The in-game menus system is so cluttered it's nearly unreadable

Too much effort put into pretty menu backdrops which distract from what the menu is there for.

Ambient lighting levels vay enormously in-game, you'll spend a lot of time adjusting the brightness to try and avoid eye strain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game with a Refreshing Battle System., 12 Sep 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a great first turn based RPG for the xbox 360, it offers a lot to RPG fans and is a good start for newcomers to this style of game.

The game has good graphics and detailed characters which look very nice on the 360. The battles are turn based and are fought on a 3x3 grid for your team and another for the enemy. You can move around you grid and attack enemies in range which is a nice touch because a bit of strategy is involved in placement and where your attacks will reach (You have to think). The effects used in the battles are really beautifully done and show off the 360s power. The soundtrack is often kept simple and repetative but is often very effective and the voices are mostly good with the exception of YUKI who is loud and irritating.

There is a lot here to keep you busy with the 75+ golems to collect and each is different, you will want to get each one just to see what it looks like and what it can do. You can either look for them as you progress through the game or buy them from shops. You can also go to a casino and bet to win skills and other objects when you get tired of the main game or just need a break. The game is long I'm 30 hours in and am still enjoying it and training up so don't worry about it being short or a waste of money.

This is a good RPG if you give it a chance and you will find a lot to do here so give it a go and you will realise what a great game this is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A next gen RPG with traditional roots., 14 Nov 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When I first saw this game previewed I loved the idea of a turn based RPG for my brand new 360. I enjoyed the Final Fantasy games and was after something similar and rushed out to buy it on the day it came out. I have not been disappointed.

This game came out in Japan as "eM eNCHANT ARm" as a release title for the 360, so the graphics are not always pushing the machine to it's limit, far from it. All of the conversations between characters show the people speaking in the foreground with the scene they are in behind them. This is annoying at first but you get used to it. I would much rather have seen all the conversations and meeting taking place in the game engine a la Gears Of War but you have to make do.

Character and creature design is good for the genre, with typical garish outfits on human characters and a mixture of cute and more sinister looking creatures to fight and collect.

Locations are large, varied and well textured but are not overly detailed, even in high definition.

The gameplay is the standard mix of walking around talking to people and turn based battles. The battles consist of your main character and three others on a 4x3 grid and the enemies in a similar sized grid opposite yours. You then have to move your characters and select which skill to use, and then your enemies will do the same and so on until there is a winner. There is a strong element of strategy involved in this system, especially on later boss battles. Not only do you have to consider where to place your characters to inflict most damage, but also consider defence based on enemy attacks. You also should consider "elemental" attacks as these can significantly reduce health.

I will not go into too much detail about the story so as not to spoil it for anyone. You play Atsuma, a young student at the Enchant University. A forthright but hasty boy who has a mysterious right arm that the other children fear and loathe. He has a passion for controlling Golems and hopes one day to be as powerful as his friend Toya. They become separated during a battle and Atsuma will not rest until he finds Toya.

The characters are OK but some of the voice acting is a little over the top, mainly that of Atsuma. You will soon tire of the catchphrases.

Plot development is fairly swift for a game of this nature, you should have the story done in less than 60 hours, although it gets rather difficult towards the end.

The only major drawback is the Xbox Live mode. This consists of Golem battles against another player. There aren't any major flaws in the game play, it's just that no-one plays it online. I only ever managed to get one match and it was over in less than a minute.

If you really want a Japanese style RPG for your Xbox 360 get this, mainly because it's the only one out there. You will get a lot of enjoyment out of it if you are willing to put the time and effort into it. It is not a quick pick up and play game as for the last few battles it helps if you have done a lot of levelling up during the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the few RPGs on the 360 - in itself a reasonf or picking it up, but what's it like?, 3 Jan 2008
By 
A. Blackmore "LsTr_Of_SmG" (UK - West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well I quite literally just finished this game (and by finish I mean all the sidequests as well)and in complete contradiction to the games cover it did not take me 50 hours. It took around 40 and that INCLUDES pausing to go to the toilet and have dinner (mind you I am notorious for rushing through RPGs and not levelling up my character a lot - as I prefer to have the last boss become an almost insurmountable challenge to be overcome through clever tactics rather than the brute force of my level 185476964 main character). That said the game was fairly enjoyable with the battle system being particularly refreshing (in so far as turn based can be) it was much better than the most recent Final Fantasy attempts of spicing up turn based combat. The story was pretty throwaway but then again it served its purpose well enough.

While hardly genre defining it does have some nice ideas and the FMV sequences are up there with the equivalent offerings from Final Fantasy. If like me you are quite into JRPGs but are sick of Square-Enix constantly rehashing the Final Fantasy games in newer more graphically impressive iterations (I mean come on FFXII might have been alright but let's face it the series hasn't moved on since FFX - AT THE LATEST!) then I suggest you check it out - though you'll need some perserverance to stick through the games opening section (dull) thankfully it picks up quickly after this. If you've played a lot of JRPGs then you wont find a lot new here, but you're unlikely to find a lot to complain about either and as such the game is worth a play. If you haven't then this game is a solid example of the genre and a good one to start with.

Final score: 6.9

Score breakdown:

Graphics: 7 - While some sections are beautiful, dull textures ruin others.

Sound: 6 - While there IS an option to have Japanese audio but this is little better than the
English dub (which is functional although rather hit and miss). Music is fairly
generic.

Gameplay: 7 - A nice battle system and golems help to spice things up, niggles over inability to use items on other characters and ether 'collection' quests pull down the game down though. Character development is highly intuitive andallows for some customisation.

Story: 6 - Typical but ultimately well thought out JRPG storyline. Stand out sections are the development of Atsuma as a character and the Toya side story. (The game also satirises a number of JRPG cliches which is nice to see. Example: A character subtitled 'Giggling Man' keeps trying to say his real name but the main characters repeatedly interrupt him. Unfortunately the story, while one of it's endings is rather thought provoking, the main ending is ultimately extremely forgettable and the average voice acting throughout lowers the sense of wonder.

Lifespan: 7 - There are technically two different endings to the game dependant on one choice near the end, this may seem slightly half arsed but in correlation to the story both endings have rather nice ramifications when you think about them. unfortunately these endings can both be aquired simply by reloading the game just before the choice is made. The game took me 20 hours to
complete compared to the 50 hours cited on the case, mind you 40 hours is
still a relatively long time for a game these days - albeit short for the genre. This 40 hours does manage to pack a lot in though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random Battles-aplenty, 21 Sep 2006
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you can get over the first really dodgy dream sequence battle and the really poor tutorial, your in for a treat. The collecting of Golems is excellent and the levelling up system is very unusual (you can choose what areas to boost). The fights can be done by the Computer and they can also be sped up to get through random battles quickly. Which leads to the worst part of the game. The Random battles happen (on average) every 5-10 seconds and exploring can be a real chore, its fine for levelling up-but some levels are quite complex and doing all those random battles can mean a level takes over a hour to complete.

Apart from that, the game is good (not on a graphical par with oblivion) but certainly the best true RPG on the 360 at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good RPG, 3 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, I would just like to say, why, when reading people's reviews for rpgs, do they, 9 times out of 10, compare them to Final Fantasy games?! Say no more!!!

This is a good rpg. I am an AVID rpg fan, and have played every rpg that has come out on the Playstation, 360 and Saturn (plus more), US and UK. I have looked at Enchanted Arms for some time now (umming and arrring whether to give it a go) but decided to start playing it recently. I am only about 10 hours into the game, and I have to say that I wish I had played it sooner. It starts off a bit slow, but soon get better. It's a great game. The battle system reminds me of games such as Persona and Ogre Battle. While the gameplay has distict similarities to Xenosaga.

Rpgs so far, run thin on the PS3 and 360, so there isn't much choice anyway. But, if you are looking for an rpg you can quickly get stuck into, and is easily playable (I haven't even looked at the instruction manual yet!), then pick this up, and give it a try. It's cheap too!

If you are not into rpgs, then I wouldn't think this would be a game for you (uber geeks only! hehe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you Love FF Games then this is for you!!, 8 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have played and completed every FF game the PS1 & PS2 offered and Unfortunatley I couldnt wait for the PS3 to come out so I bought an Xbox360. I struggled to find a decent RPG on it until now.

Enchanted Arms is a must buy for any FF fans. The story is engrosing, the characters are varied and in deptrh and the game has a good amount of humour. I am 80% (50 hours)of the way through and have loved every minute of it.

There seem also to be many side quests which so far I havent attempted so I would say that you will probably rack up 100 hours in total. Not bad for £30 is it?

If you are an RPG fan and loved the FF series buys this. You wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First True Xbox 360 RPG, 11 Sep 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is one of the best RPGs i have played in a long time. It has kept me up playing long into the night and i just can't put it down.

The gameplay is very similar to that of FF games but a bit more strategy is involved in the new style battle system. You have two grids one for you and one for the enemy and you can move around your grid to position your party for attacks. The battles are turn based and are easy to pick up. The effetcs in the battles are beautiful and really show how it should be done, the EX skills are the best especially Atsuma's Summon Phoenix.

The graphics in the game are very good and lighting effects have been used very well. The character designs are very good and are very detailed especialy when they are talking to each other. The world map area can be a bit dull at times but towns and cities are put together very well and look good. The battle system shows off the great visual effects and fire and water attacks look stunning.

The soundtrack is simple but fits in nicely and is often a nice touch and the vioce acting is mainly good for the main characters Atsuma, karin, Raigar and Toya except for Yuki and Makoto who are very annoying.

There is loads to do here and you can improve your party by collecting Golems to battle along side you there are around 75 of these and they all look unique and its fun to find them all. There is also a casino where you can relax and win cool stuff when you need a rest from combat.

Overall this game is an excellent first turn based RPG for the 360 and offers alot to both fans of the genre and newcomers. It offers over 40 hours of gameplay and will have you hooked in no time. It's well worth a look and offers more than you might expect.

Try this you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overall good RPG start for the 360, 25 Aug 2006
By 
S. BUTTON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game for me has a great story line by no means an original story line but a great one never the less.

And for an RPG fan this is almost unputdownable the graphics are very nice the battle system feels fresh and original (although) the battle music can get slightly annoying and the Golem Collecting theme is a nice one althugh if your like me I have used the same one pretty much throughout the game that I won in the Casino as other golems you get just seem too weak and the main characters have moves that cover healing and other moves so really apart from elements the weaker golems are pretty much useless just nice to look at and get.

The save anywhere idea is a very good one as most people know with a large majority of RPGs on any console sometimes save points can take forever to get from one to the other so as a quick pick up and play RPG it's great.

The reason I gave this game Four stars though is the complete lack of freedom you have as this is a on-rails RPG no world map to traverse around not many secrets or mini games to complete.

The only real freedom you have is the clever character level up system where you can choose what attributes to raise by spending SP points and the amount of moves and Support moves your characters can learn.

Don't get me wrong the Brilliant story and in some places outstanding graphics set a high benchmark for other JRPG's to follow (And lets hope we get more of them as to me this feels like the begginning of RPG XBOX 360 love to me).

I only hope a sequal offers more freedom as better graphics wouldn't be nessacery.

Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good?, bad?, you decide...I cant, 16 Mar 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First of all there are a number of reviews on amazon that show this game

in a bad light, and what they say is true but what the positive people

say about it is also true (sort of).

Firstly lets start with the good.

The story and its premise are ok, its very final fantasy 10, man creates

magic, magic gets its own back and man doesnt learn from his mistakes,

but that doesnt make it bad.

For once sticking to a similar formula has actually helped a game rather

than hinder it, it leads to you (as with ff10) feeling envolved in the

plot and caring what happens to the characters, which is always a must

with any RPG.

furthermore the graphics are of a good standard, characters are well

modelled and at times the graphics do show off the fact that this is a

next generation game (especially when it comes to the ambient lighting

and magic/summons).

Another ok thing is the battle system, although done before it does add

an aspect of tactics that most other turn based rpg's lack, the use of

opposing elements does make for some interesting and altogether gripping

battles.

And now the bad starts.

Although the graphics are good when you get to explore you start to realise

that everything is overly large, corridoors, rooms, stairways all seem

too open, as if theres too much free space.

Furthermore the backgrounds and surroundings can be very understated and

at times bland looknig and extremely static.

I feel that this detracts from the gamers emmersion into the EA(enchanted

arms) world.

One really poor thing about this game is the sound track,during cut

scenes it is good, it gets your blood pumping and you feel in the action,

but when it comes to just exploring and random battles its barely

existant,and when it is there its repetitive and just un-inspired.

Now back onto the battle system, like I said earlier it has its good

points,but there are a few annoying factors for example the random

battles can be very thick and come every 5 or 6 seconds at times which

can be very annoying and tedious, and although there is the opportunity

to automatically fight the battles using the games own AI, but I find

that it leads to the gamer feeling disjointed from the action and just

fighting to get it over and done with.

In summary,

Enchanted arms is a good excuse to whittle away a few hours if you are

a traditional rpg fan and can look past its faults, but when it comes to

the inevitable comparison to the final fantasy series it truly does pale

in comparison and really I would only suggest this game as a stop gap

untill the next batch of japanese hits our shores in the coming months.

A fun to play game, but shallow and constantly playing on the success of

FF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360)
Enchanted Arms (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)
£27.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews