Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
This is a brief glimpse at the lives of 7 friends, 3 married couples with money and their single friend,( Jennifer Anniston), who works as a maid and is pretty much broke.
One couple are very wealthy, another couple are screenwriters whose marriage is collapsing in bitterness and the final couple consist of a husband everybody assumes is gay and his menopausal wife...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It starts, doesn't go anywhere and then ends
I'm all for movies that are full of dialogue, making you think and reflecting life as opposed to fairytale cliched storylines, and I thought this would be one, but at the end of the movie my wife and I looked at each other and laughed..."Is that it?!"

There is no opportunity to get to know the people or to care about them. No attempt is really made to delve...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by Mr. G. James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a brief glimpse at the lives of 7 friends, 3 married couples with money and their single friend,( Jennifer Anniston), who works as a maid and is pretty much broke.
One couple are very wealthy, another couple are screenwriters whose marriage is collapsing in bitterness and the final couple consist of a husband everybody assumes is gay and his menopausal wife who is getting decidedly cranky. The odd one out is Jennifer Annistons maid who had to leave her job as a teacher because of the snide behaviour of the middle class pupils whose clueless snobbery,( that you aren't shown ), is reflected in the way her friends treat her.
One friend matches her up with a charmless pig of a man but she eventually finds someone to love in an unexpected direction.
There is much to admire in the self discipline the director applies to her handling of this movie. The individual storylines are not all neatly 'tied up' in the end, instead there is a satisfying feeling that these peoples lives could go in a varity of directions after we have left them. The running time is little over 1hr 20 mins which means the story can be moved along at a good pace and there is no time for pointless waffle or long periods where nothing happens. Each moment is fully utilized and very quickly you start to feel you know these people,( but you don't and the expected cliches are avoided so that there are one or two surprises),.
The script is sharp and although there is humour this is not a comedy. The actors all bring their best to their roles and provide lifelike characters that draw you in. Standouts are Francis Mcdormands crumbling but funny menopausal woman, angry, confused and desperately trying to get a grip and Jennifer Anniston gives her best performance so far as damaged, lonely and odd friend out.
The picture and sound are fine and it makes a refreshing change to have a non-intrusive soundtrack that isn't trying to advertise itself throughout.
The extras aren't really up to much as they don't add up to much more than a series of stating the obvious and back slapping. I haven't heard the directors chat track but it's nice to have it included.
If you want to step up a gear from the relentless line of rom-coms being churned out lately and fancy something adult and thoughtful then I recommend this, it will entertain you and give you something to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there's a surprise, 22 Jan 2007
By 
2cleverbyhalf (somewhere in the future) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Normally I'd try to eat my left leg before watching a film about 'modern relationships in middle class America'. But FWM was a pleasant surprise. It would be too easy to throw rotten tomatoes at this for it's 'boo hoo it's horrible being middle aged and rich' plot line. But then it's handled so well that it's hard not to like the film. The interactions between the married couples is spot on, all that stuff not said being more important that what is said. Thank God there's nothing mawkish about the kids. There's a couple of pretty funny 'oh, he really is gay' type jokes. Plus Anniston plays it just right as the aimless, meandering pot-head.

The only bad points. The ending is too twee and Anniston is just too pretty to be so unlucky and so naive with men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It starts, doesn't go anywhere and then ends, 11 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. G. James (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm all for movies that are full of dialogue, making you think and reflecting life as opposed to fairytale cliched storylines, and I thought this would be one, but at the end of the movie my wife and I looked at each other and laughed..."Is that it?!"

There is no opportunity to get to know the people or to care about them. No attempt is really made to delve deeper into any of the characters than what you could pick up as a passer by. There is simply no storyline at all and the last scene leaves you feeling like the movie is about to start and then it ends.

It's not a comedy, it's not a drama, it's just nothing. Spend your money elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Have, You Know, Issues, 30 May 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
'Friends With Money' was written and directed by Nicole Holofcener, whose two previous features were wonderful studies of women and their relationships. I came upon Nicole Holofcener because of her new film, Please Give', which is receiving wonderful reviews, and I wanted to visit all of her films. The characters in her films are so real, it is like we are peeking in through the windows.

Jennifer Aniston plays Olivia, a maid. She used to be a teacher in an exclusive school, until the kids started making fun of her. She has friends with money. Jane, played by Frances McDormand, who is an angry byotch, screams at people and is going through some sort of life change. She hasn't washed her hair in weeks, 'you just have to wash it again' she says. And, by the way, she steals every scene she is in. She designs clothes that are overpriced but just wonderful. Christine, played by Catherine Keener, writes screenplays with her husband. They have a difficult relationship to say the least. Franny, played by Joan Cusack, stays at home and is concerned about the amount of money spent on their son's shoes. All, but Olivia have husbands. Jane's husband is cute and loving but everyone thinks he is Gay, but probably isn't. Christine's husband is the screenwriter, who is less than supportive. Franny's husband seems the most normal, so we don't know much about him, except he makes a lot of money. The film really centers around Olivia, and this may be one of Jennifer Aniston's best films. She is without glamour, fresh and a pit smoking woman who has no idea who she is or where she is going. Olivia is set up by Jane with Mike a fitness instructor, and, as we soon find out, a louse. He goes with Olivia and watches her clean house and then expects some financial compensation. Then Olivia meets one of her clients, Marty. He has hired her to clean his house, and he is shy and introverted. But, somehow they strike a chord and we know something will happen. And, as it turns out, they both have, well, issues.

The author and director has given us a glimpse into her world. The world of the rich and monied. To have a friend who is a , maid, well it probably is a temporary thing and it is a much needed job, to be a maid. The lives of all of the women are involved and though they are good friends, they are all separate. A world that we can all appreciate from afar. We all wish we had money, but as we learn, money does not buy happiness.

A little appreciated film that is a winner. Highly recommended. prisrob 05-30-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a quiet surprise, 15 Nov 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have this film as part of a cheap mixed bag of a DVD boxset, I bought it for another film in the set (which was a massive disappointment) but this ended up being the winner for me. It really stayed with me after watching. Saying that I don't think it is a crowd pleaser of a film with mass appeal. This is a thoughtful, conversational look at a group of middle-aged middle-class female friends and their insecurities, failings and power struggles. A fantastic ensemble cast, with strong performances as should be expected from the excellent calibre of actors. Jennifer Aniston is truly a revelation as the central character, fragile, complex and for once playing a genuine outsider. I whole-heartedly recommend this. Similar sense of heart as another lesser known film, Crush [DVD] [2001]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I got bored waiting for the 'film' to start, 28 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. David Brook "Brookey" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
None of the characters were endearing, nothing really happened, the story (what there was) was poor. A far more interesting film could have been made about what happened after the film finished rather than the drivel that was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse film ever!, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I don't know why most of the films Jennifer Aniston is in are not very good but this was shockingly rubbish!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST POINTLESS RUBBISH FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
for your own sake please do not buy this film it is so boring and it literally has no plot to it whatsoever! I purchased this dvd as it stars Jennifer Aniston one of my favourite actresses and I was completely disappointed! Do not waste your money on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Jennifer Aniston plays Olivia, a former teacher who has resorted to cleaning houses for a living after quitting her job. She claimed she couldn't stand that the rich pupils driving better cars than her. It doesn't seem to occur to her to take a job at a state school. She has no direction in her life and is described by her friends as a "pothead". What I didn't get about this film were the so-called friends. None of them seemed to have anything in common with Olivia and they didn't seem to have any shared history . In places it even reminded me of "Friends" especially when one of the characters (I've already forgotton her name I'm afraid) walks into a glass door, breaking her nose. The group of pals all converge on the hospital hugging each other. This is not the way late thirty, early forty somethings really behave. Olivia is set up by one of her girlfriends with a personal trainer who turns out to be a complete pig, she lets him treat her like a doormat. We get a glimpse into her past, seeing that she had an intense affair with a married man but this is not really explored further. There are a couple of funny scenes, especially when Olivia uses a $75 pot of face cream she has stolen from a client to moisturise her feet and there is a satisfying twist at the end of the story. I have seen Aniston in much better films, especially "As Rumour Has It" which I really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who was this film for?, 28 Feb 2013
By 
S. Foden (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I found the characters in this film very hard to like, they all seemed neurotic to me. As a result it was hard to care what happened in their peculiar lives. I couldn't believe in them, I don't know anyone who behaves in the way they do. I kept watching in the hope that we would get to the point of the film. In the end there was none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friends With Money [DVD] [2006]
Friends With Money [DVD] [2006] by Nicole Holofcener (DVD - 2006)
2.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews