Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£24.89+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2006
Ive been reading marvel comics etc for years and I'm 40 now .

This game had to be brought and to be completely honest I am glad i did .

The graphics are excellent and the game itself , even when you go through those annoying times like with most games , you still have to have one more go . Assembing your team is a great idea and you really do have to think who is the best character etc to do the job in hand , so it gives you that kind of managerial theme as well if you get my meaning .. Myself and my youngest son at the moment are absolutely enjoying every minute of this great game and if you have half as much fun as we are then this game is a must for any comic book fan . Roll on Justice League Heros
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
this game was brilliant, there is a wide range of characters to choose from, with unlockable constumes, traning simulations, it is great. good game to play if you are bored and want some fun, once you start playing the game its hard to stop, you get so into the story line.

great graphics, awesome movie clips as you progress through the games levels and alot of epic boss battles.

very very VERY enjoyable game.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2007
Marvel:Ultimate Alliance is not the most complex game out there,and yes,the graphics are a little disappointing,but this game is far superior to Justice League Heroes.

Ultimately,I think it comes down to whether you are a Marvel or DC fanboy.

The gameplay mechanics are,overall,pretty simple.Attack,combo,attack generally does the trick.In fact,it reminds me of the TMNT arcade game of the early '90's,so simple is it's style.

All in all,pretty dodgy,but what saves it is a couple of cut scenes I would pay money to see at my local multiplex,and an overly complicated storyline that does more than enough to hold the attention.

There are various combinations of heroes that deliver special bonuses (the FF obviously,Wolverine,Elektra,Deadpool+Blade=ASSASSINS)although the late,great Captain America is a must choose because of his ricocheting shield ability.

Buy it!JLH may be more fun for the serious gamer(though I doubt it)but if you love Marvel,you'll love this,despite any flaws you may think it has.

The choice of heroes alone,and the option to create your own team is irresistable,unlike JLH where you have a preset 2-at-a-time gameframe.

This is the one!And while there is plenty of room for improvement,this is the one to beat right now,for sheer enjoyment if nothing else!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2007
After playing (and loving) the original X-Men Legends game, I had high hopes for this game, as it was also from Raven software. The depth of this game is awesome, with some great touches that will please the comic fans. What lets this game down though is the graphics; how a game can be graphically inferior to a similar one released two years earlier is beyond me, especially as it's from the same studio. Whereas the look of XML was clear, crisp and "comicy", MUL suffers from that soft-edged blurring that seemed to afflict PS2 games in their early days. It feels to me like the developers spent so long cramming in all the neat touches and different superpowers that they forgot to spend any on a decent interface.

Overall then, the depth and number of characters make this worthwile. However, if you've never played the original XML, you may want to pick that up instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2008
I was an avid reader of Marvel comics when this game came out so i was looking forward to playing as some of my favourite super heroes in one game.The game itself is very good,you start off with four already picked heroes in your team but soon you can change these heroes around for different ones.The controls are very easy to understand,there is not much to controlling one character.I found that the game was still a bit easy even on the highest level of difficulty therefore making the game very easy to complete.The game is still very fun with a load of characters to fight and play as.The simulation discs are fun when you get to pick a team to fight with but when you only fight with one person,you usually end up just running through the whole level because there are too many bad guys to deal with at once.The graphics and sound are o.k while the gameplay is really good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
Well activision had something going with 140 superheroes in one game. Like many of you comic book fans out there i was crazy with excitement over this game. I pre-ordered it like a month before it came out, today, it arrived. I have now completed the first 3 missions and what can i say. The graphics are the biggest let down, there playstation 1 standard at some points, whcih is really disapointing, but the game play itself is a lot of fun. One of my favourite features is customizing your characters with different powers and costumes (shame the graphics ruin the costumes though). Anyway, depsite the shoddy graphics, i'd still recommend this game to anyone with a love of comics. Dr Strange is in it!!! So in the immortal words of Stan Lee....."nuff said"
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Great story, great characters, great gameplay, great, great, great other stuff that completely pathetic and pointless people seem to need in games - like graphics and realistic weapons (fantasy is dead now).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2006
I love the Marvel comic universe and was looking forward to this game coming out.It isn't everyday you get to play as Spider-man,Wolverine,Captain America and Thor.

Sadly the game doesn't live up to the expectations i had.The look of the games is really poor.The playstation 2 is nearing the end of its life and yet this looks like a game that came out when the console first came out.

The screen is too busy with characters getting in each others' way, and i found it frustrating.The combat is nothing special and i feel that the game developers had ambition with this game but couldn't deliver their ideas.I love co-operative games, but this was not a fun experience.The management side of the team is almost unneccessary and feels like it was bolted on to the main game.Some of the conversations between the good guys and bad guys are dire - the dialogue boxes feel like they have come from the playstation 1.

This could have been so much better, and i hope that Justice League Heroes is better than this, which comes out later in November.

I would suggest playing this before buying - preferrably a demo if you can.

If you are looking for a co-operative game that works,is fun and addictive pick either of the Lego Star Wars games, or either of the Baldurs Gate games.They are ten times better than this attempt.

Sorry!I really wanted to like this game...........
0Comment6 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
My son loves it , you get to create teams of superheroes who battle others. I think he finds that the most fun
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Arrived very quick in good condition and works very happy would recommend
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.