Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 October 2007
What more could you want from a videogame than dozens of superheroes from the Marvel universe getting together in one game to save the world(s)?! Most of the best are here including Spiderman, Captain America, X-Men, Ironman, Fantastic 4, Thor, Ghost Rider, Silver Surfer, Blade, Elecktra and many more, but unfortunately some of my favourites such as The Punisher, Dare Devil and The Incredible Hulk are missing for some reason.

That aside, it is a fantastic game where you run around literally bashing everything in sight, so it is not much of a thinking game at all. One of the best things about this game is the end of level bosses which are huge. Also, in one of the levels about halfway through there is an arcade machine section where your superhero is sucked into the cabinet and then has to play through a level of the classic 80's game "Pitfall" to progress.

On single player this game unfortunately gets very repetitive very quickly, but on multiplayer this game is great fun where between 2 and 4 players can team up and go through the main story together.

As a bonus to the main story there are various comic book missions where a selected hero plays out some of their most famous stories from the comics.

Overall this is a good game that is fun while it lasts but there is not really any replay value in it at all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
This is a brilliant and very addicitve game which is the same concept as X-Men Legends I and II but instead you can choose from a selection of Marvel characters including Spiderman, Thor, Captin America and Fantastic Four to name but a few. The XBOX 360 version also has 2 additional unlockable characters to play.

The story is based around you destroying Doom and his allies who are trying to take over the world. There are some good cut scenes and the missions you complete or not throughout will affect your outcome at the end of the game.

You still have the choice of any combination of 4 characters to level up for your team.The Comic Missions also appear again in this game which can be very challenging.

There is loads of replayability in this game as there are lots of things to unlock including a hard mode, costumes, Comic Missions and like Legends you can carry the stats over to a new game.

This is a brilliant RPG and if you enjoyed X-Men legends you will definately enjoy this!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2007
Yes, so the graphics are disappointingly last gen. Yes, it's a button basher. Yes, no-one in their right mind has ever wanted to play a Marvel game as Moon Knight.

But, on the other hand, Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is an enjoyable beat-'em-up with a terrific roster of Marvel heroes (recently update with the Hulk and Nightcrawler etc. with online Marketplace Updates). The main campaign offers great co-op options that take you through some classic Marvel locations as well, letting you take back Asgard as the Mighty Thor and stroll through the Skrull homeworld dishing out justice as only Captain America can.

There's some fun set pieces and boss battles that add some variety, and the control system works well at giving players different ways to play with roughly 8 different super powers available to each hero.

If you're not a Marvel fan, it's hard to see the appeal I guess unless you just love old school Streets of Rage-style button bashers.

But any holes in the gameplay are more than filled by the comic book fanboy's imagination. I'm a massive Captain America fan, and loved whaling on Doombots with the Shield toss - I seemed to be shouting "Avengers Assemble" at the screen every five minutes.

So, if you're even the slightest bit turned on by the Marvel franchise, I'd reccomend giving it a go...it can be hard to track down on the 360, but a second hand copy can still be found for £20 - £30 (though mine was £40 pre-owned from Game).

Oh, and I'd also reccommend never leaving Wolverine out of your four man team. He pretty much single-handedly completed the game for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2006
This game is awesome, I mean ive played the two X-men Legends Games, but this one blows it out of the water. The cast of Characters is a good selection with the likes of Wolverine, Spider-man & Captain America and other lesser known characters such as MoonKnight, Dr Strange & Black Panther.

The games bad guys are great.

This is the main reason I got a 360 as I wanted to play it on a next gen console.

Overall People should by this so they can make a sequel and add more characters like the Hulk, The Punisher & more X-Men Characters.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2006
Much better than the X-men games, loads of characters to choose from all varied and each of them excellent. Game play is great, and the graphics are fantastic, all you could ask for in a game, and now I cant wait for them to make a 2nd one. :D
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2007
I'd like to say firstly that I am not a huge fan of Marvel and so my review is not really appealing to the hardcore fans.

I bought MUA as a good multiplayer game (Offline co-op) as I have a lot of friends play on my xbox when they come around. If anyone is a fan of Baldurs Gate: Dark alliance, then this game will feel very familiar. But it's differences from BG:DA can be seen as a positive or a negative..

Whether you're a hardcore Marvel fan or not, everyone has their favourite super-hero. This could be: Spider-Man, Wolverine, Blade or some lesser known characters such as Moon Knight. That is something that makes this game very accessible, as it allows anyone who may not essentially like this type of game to just jump into a familiar character and do some fighting.

The combat in this game is similar to Baldurs Gate: Dark Alliance. Infact it's much more advanced that that, but can still be branded with the term 'button-masher'. Each character has a number of standard melee attacks to use, as well as 7 or 8 special moves and one 'ultimate' move. You can also pick up weapons that you can use. This game provides a simple combat formula to someone new, but provides a lot more to play with for someone who's played the game lots.

A lot of people have commented on the game being classed in the RPG genre. Each of the characters gain experience points which in turn increase levels. When you increase a level, you do not allocate points as this is done automatically. Each character has 4 different unlockable costumes which have bonuses that can be upgraded with the money you acquire throughout the levels. You can also upgrade your different moves for each character with money. You do not pick up different Armour or weapons as you would do in other games such as BG:DA, but there are items you can collect with different bonuses.

Overall this game is really good. There are lots of characters, lots of really varied and interesting levels to explore, lots of things to unlock, good multiplayer (both online and offline), fun combat and a lengthy story. There's also some cool things in the game such as some characters being able to fly and simple yet interesting puzzle/boss fights.

If you're expecting an in-depth character customisation with complicated fighting controls then I'd readjust your expectations, but still buy this game as it's worth your time and a spot in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2007
My son bought this game and he loves it it is great as it is four player co-op and you have a choice of over 20 characters, from people like the Thing, Wolverine, Spiderman, Ghost Rider, DareDevil and lots more. But this game is not only for boys there are also five women characters aswell so even a girl could play.

This game is one of the best co-op games around and this is coming from someone who loves co-op games!!!!! THIS IS A MUST BUY!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
Playing it is awesome with all the different characters like Fantastic 4 and X men.I've got to admit that people say you can't get Daredevil but you can.It takes some money though about £8.50 to download special characters like Docter Doom etc.YOU CAN EVEN UNLOCK INCREDIBLE HULK.

35 Super heroes at least!

Playing it is awesome you can use speciaal attacks like Y attacks

My favourite world is Murderworld

GET THE GAME
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2007
'Marvel Ultimate Alliance' is a game that comes close to being the ultimate superhero action title. You can control 4 heroes at any one time from the Marvel action cannon including Spiderman, The Invisible Woman and Thor. You take these 4 heroes on a series of quests that are essentially top down button mashing levels similar to 'Baldur's Gate'. It is by no means a sophisticated title but if you can get another person to play with its great fun.

As well as being a game you can play four player at home you can also align yourself online meaning that you can get together and tackle the game from start to finish with random people, or those on your friends list. The action is quite repetitive, but the graphics, gameplay and sound make up for this making it an enjoyable, if simple, title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
First of all:
I played the second part at first, because I had just finished reading the Civil War campaign.

The game is okay, but if you played the second part, you'll miss the use of the havoc engine and the outstanding graphics. This game is a port and wasn't ment to be on the xbox360 - and you'll notice.

But this title isn't just limited to the civil war and therefore it's exciting to play too. Some characters haven't made the jump to the sequel - what a shame. The Character-Roster is pretty decend and I miss a couple of them ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)