Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best WWII FPS
As a big fan of COD2 Big red one, i couldn't wait for the sequel, and io was not disappointed.

Call of Duty 3 is an outstanding game, featuring many challenging levels, with a well written storyline. It combines all the best parts of a WWII film and any other FPS around.

It leaves current versions of medal of honour standing, i've just completed...
Published on 17 Feb 2007 by M. D. M. Paxton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CoD 2 was legend, this, this is boring.
I tried publishing a review before, last year, but it didn't publish it, so i'm back for a second shot. I played call of duty big red one and loved it. It really brought that feeling to you that call of duty games do. The graphics were decent as well. This, I have to admit, is a big leap, graphics wise, from call of duty 2, the story isn't to bad either, but it's just...
Published on 25 Feb 2010 by Mookster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best WWII FPS, 17 Feb 2007
By 
M. D. M. Paxton "Mr D.M.Paxton" (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
As a big fan of COD2 Big red one, i couldn't wait for the sequel, and io was not disappointed.

Call of Duty 3 is an outstanding game, featuring many challenging levels, with a well written storyline. It combines all the best parts of a WWII film and any other FPS around.

It leaves current versions of medal of honour standing, i've just completed MOH:Frontline, having borrowed it from a friend to compare it to COD3. While the story was good, in terms of gameplay and graphics, it can't compete with COD3.

The selection of weapons is authentic, and the control of vehicles is much better than it was on COD2, now when driving jeeps, rather than using the anaolg stick, you have different controls, which make it a lot easier and more fun to drive.

And for all the people who say it's too short and can't be bothered to play it again on medium or hard, play it on medium or hard from the start, and you'll get at least double the time it takes to do it on easy, as you can't just run in, all guns blazing on hard.

Definately would recommend this game to any fan of FPS war games.

Great story, gameplay, graphics, weapons, hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very entertaining, 20 April 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Some people have been complaining about this game, saying that it is too short. Personally, I think the general length of the game is not short at all... however it is easier to complete than many other titles. It's main rival probably being either being the "Medal of Honour" series or the "Brothers In Arms" games; I would have said this is by far the best. Being slightly easier than these titles, it means that you honestly don't get bored until you finish working through all 14 campaign levels due to the fact that you dont constantly keep dying and restarting missions.

The story guides you through the WWII Normandy Conquest, after D-Day in June 1944. The main importance being that the character you play varies, due to you following the American, British, Canadian and Polish forces - all of which are closing down on the town of Chambois.

The graphics are some of the best I have seen on the PS2, and now that the PS3 has been released this is definately one of the games that I would recommend if you cant afford one (like me). Great game and thoroughly enjoyable - Definately worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 28 Nov 2006
By 
E. Hollingworth "E V V O" (Tonbridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Now I'm sure you've read the xbox 360 reviews of cod3
and thought, well thats all very well but i own a ps2.
well i did.
so this review is for the ps2 version because i have not played the 360
version.
as im sure you already know the game based on the normandy breakout
after d-day. There are 14 campaign missions, which are really fun.
Yes it is a bit short(10 hours for me)but the main focus i think on
this game is the net play. Multiplayer is awesome.
With vehicles and new weapons, the multiplayer could not be better
in my opinion.

Another cool new feature of this game is the hand to hand combat.
It really gives the AI a sense of realism.

Graphically this game is amazing, with some of the nicest grahics on the ps2.
the gameplay on this game is awesome. in my opinion better than cod2
big red one
the only snag i have with this game is that its a little too short.
But that really does not matter, seeing as the multiplayer content
is my main reason for playing this game.

Overall: 9/10

Gameplay:10/10
Graphics:10/10
lifespan:8/10

This is an awesome game well worthy of your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, even with a few faults., 19 Aug 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
What an awesome game! It's hard to say whats best, the gameplay, the graphics, the realism. You start off as an American soldier, then move onto a scottish soldier than you play Polish and Canadian.

**** Graphics: Very good, especially as a 2006 game. Though there mouths move randomly, sometimes not moving in sync with the talking, the smoke, enemy, allies everything else is very well done. Sometimes you get the odd gun or arm sticking through walls, but otherwise is very good.

**** Enemy: Except for a German or two coming and kneeling 3 ft in front of you and attempting to shoot you with a rifle, only to get shot first, enemys are genrally challenging, especialy on the hardest level. They take cover behind walls, boxes, trees ect. So make the battle fairly realistic.

*** Allies: Better than most MOH but still rather pathetic. Except for the mains like: Dixon, Guzzo, Huxley ect, the other allies seem there more to just die than to fight. You get one or two average allies who kill a few Germans before getting shot. But the mains like I said above don't die (if they do it goes to a movie) but arent very good shots either, Dixon seems more involved in yelling at you than shooting and Huxly, when using a trench gun, uses it like a rifle. Wasting ammo on Germans over 200 - 300 ft away! Thats why we have riflemen! Guzzo is the best of the bunch. But the most dissapointing thing is, when you go into the battlefield, (you have to go in first for them to follow most of the time) while you're killing Germans and getting shot, you get no cover at all! No one covers you while you're doing most of the work!

**** Weapons: You soon find your favourite weapons, I like the: Thopmson, Sten, FG42, Gewrh42, Lee enfield, MP44, and M1 garrand. The MP40 is a little bit of a slow firer compared to the sten. The range is very good. But the range of weapons you're given at the beggining of levels are small, the best and most weapons are in the Germans armoury, rather than in the Americans or Polish ect.

*** Vehicles: The range of viecles you drive is small, but when you do drive one it is fun, but not when you drive a tank. When you drive a jeep, you are properly looking through the drivers eyes (your eyes), when you drive a tanke the controls are horrible, the views are horrible every thing about driving a tank is horrible!

Overall the game is an awesome one, though I said the allies were not very good, the game is still a brilliant play. The graphics are very good, allies average, vehicles ok, weapons very good, everything is good.
I highly recommend this to any shoot em' up fans, call of duty fans, anyone interested in war games.
Overall 4 and a quarter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd time lucky, 15 July 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
The third game in the COD series on PS2 is another leap forward. This is a very entertaining FSP.

The graphics are impoved compared to No2 as is the sound. Controls are much the same and work fine. There have been some enhancements to the gameplay. You get smoke grenades, auto pick up of ammo and yes, rechargable health. The HUD is much the same.

The 14 levels are very big with multiple objectives as you progress through them. Fortunately there are frequent checkpoints and some save automatically. This game is less story based, more of a journey through war torn Europe from Normandy to Paris. The game is quite cinematic with cut scenes between each level. It is a bit easier than its predecessors and the structure significantly reduces the need to retry large sections. One criticism might be that the game has less variety of missions compared to The Big Red One.

Overall, I though this was a very enjoyable FPS. Well worth a play through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CoD 2 was legend, this, this is boring., 25 Feb 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
I tried publishing a review before, last year, but it didn't publish it, so i'm back for a second shot. I played call of duty big red one and loved it. It really brought that feeling to you that call of duty games do. The graphics were decent as well. This, I have to admit, is a big leap, graphics wise, from call of duty 2, the story isn't to bad either, but it's just... boring.
When I first played this round a mates on his Xbox 360 I only got up to the third level but decided to get it for my ps2. But after getting into the game, even though it consisted of only 14 levels, I found it repetitive and boring. Your teammates are the worst i've seen in call of duty (except, obviously, the following games), they just stood out in the open getting shot to pieces, but of course not dying. At least in cod 2 they hid behind walls or whatever. They hardly kill anyone, in fact, the troops put around just to die kill more people than them. The enemys are pretty rubbish too.
As for the levels, the American ones get boring, the Polish ones are the same, the Canadian missions aren't too bad, same goes for the sas missions. The guns aren't anything special, not as good as the other games, and, I know this is a weird thing to bring up, but the guy you play as can really re'load quickly, too quickly. Whenever you plant a charge you have to go through the whole procedure, moving the analogue sticks around to screw pieces in. I found that good and was disapointed that they scrapped it in cod 5.
It's not like i'm comparing it to cod 4 or 5 i'm comparing it to cod 2, and that is a hell of a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great game!!! but...., 30 April 2007
By 
Iain (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game recently and really enjoyed it!! It seems really realistic with much better graphics than COD2 and the whole gameplay is fantastic, a definate buy if u like these type of games.

The only small bad point is that yet again; the British missions are all SAS convert missions which, while really good, is a bit annoying to those who would like to see missions were the British army fights on a big scale out in the open as in the American/Canadian missions - there was more to the British's contrabution to the war than just the SAS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still online! Great fun., 15 Mar 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is great. The story mode is brilliant and really involving, but there are plenty of war games around that are equally so. For example the medal of honour frontline and rising sun games were superb from beginning to end on the PS2. The difference is that this game is still alive and kicking online at the moment, and whilst I do not know how much longer this will last, I wanted to review this game mainly to let PS2 owners know that this is still the case, as this still influences me as to whether I buy a game or not for the additional challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 May 2007
By 
J. Davies "TheCritic" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Having recently bought and played through all the Call of Duty games for PS2, I would have to say overall this ranks first. The graphics and details in the game are a vast improvement on Call of Duty 2, and the gameplay is much improved.

That said, I feel the campaign in CoD 2 was a lot better than CoD 3s. This one is too easy, and its too hard to really get to know the characters. Yes, it is very fun to be able to play as the SAS, but I just can't relate to the characters. Also, its kindof annoying how many people randomly get hurt and then are fine again straight away afterwards. It's a bit unrealistic. But, if you don't mind that, then fine.

Overall, a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars game play brilliant, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. G. Porteous (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
brilliant game but at only about 14 levels quit short. the graphics are brilliant and my favourite part is on the third level where you have to sneak up behind a german and hit him in the back of the head. the best gun is defiantly the mg34 because you can set it up on anything and it shoots really fast. the variety of driving missions is amazing, whether your driving an SAS jeep or a half-track. At the end your stuck in chamboix and have to use 50 cal. machine guns. My favourite world war two game. Beats medal of hohor any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 3 (PS2)
Call of Duty 3 (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews