Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but you need to persevere
I'd bought this game for the PS2 and loved it, so was eager to find out just how more interactive it would be on Wii. To begin with it was very frustrating - the actions needed to get the super heroes powers to work takes a bit of getting used to. After a while though, it all starts to come together, and if you really can't be bothered with the physical movements, you...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by Anthony Mcgowan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could have been better
There's not a lot of depth here. It's great fun wandering around whacking away at the Marvel Villains and their henchmen but there's no problem solving really to speak of (not so far anyway). If you want that for the wii then you'll already have Zelda which is stunning.

I've not owned a console since a Sega mega drive because it seemed the focus was on better...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by Ian C. Rawlinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could have been better, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Ian C. Rawlinson "ianr" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
There's not a lot of depth here. It's great fun wandering around whacking away at the Marvel Villains and their henchmen but there's no problem solving really to speak of (not so far anyway). If you want that for the wii then you'll already have Zelda which is stunning.

I've not owned a console since a Sega mega drive because it seemed the focus was on better and better graphics and more and more complex controls rather than fun games that you can pick up easily. The wii looked like fun in a way the PS2 and xbox never did. So for me the controls make this game. They take some learning but you can keep going beating villains to a pulp without knowing all of the jiggling and swiping combinations. I'd much rather beat off a villain by swinging the stick around at it rather than trying to master some obscure combination of buttons. I'm sure it makes it less precise but I really couldn't care. I just want to enjoy playing the game and the physical exertion really draws me in.

I'm giving it three over all because it doesn't really have the depth I would have hoped for. I'm sure my love of Marvel heroes is what makes me so happy while I play it, and if it had just been X-Men i'd have been happier. If it was DC heroes i'd probably think it was half as good! The graphics aren't up to Zelda standard, but they're good enough. Overall, as a Marvel Fan, i'd give it 4 out of 5. If you're not you'd probably want to save your money for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but you need to persevere, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Anthony Mcgowan "antmcgowan" (Dumbarton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
I'd bought this game for the PS2 and loved it, so was eager to find out just how more interactive it would be on Wii. To begin with it was very frustrating - the actions needed to get the super heroes powers to work takes a bit of getting used to. After a while though, it all starts to come together, and if you really can't be bothered with the physical movements, you can revert to button control.

You can tell this game wasn't designed with the Wii in mind, but having said that, it's good fun once you get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME IS GREAT!!!!!!, 9 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
When I first read the other reviews on Amazon.co.uk I was in two minds as to whether I should buy this game, however this game is the best game I have for my Wii and this is why.

This game isn't as challenging as Zelda or Red Steel. It isn't as skillful as Splinter Cell or Sonic, but it is the most fun.

This game is something which wont blow you away with it's graphics or confuse you with it's ridsles. It is fun. This is the sort of game you can pick up and play. It is pretty simple, but by no means easy.

I not a major fan of any marvel characters (except the X-Men) but that isn't important this game give something no other Wii games can. The right compination of unique controls and real smash'em up game play.

When you come home from a long day at work or school it isn't easy to sit and plough through Zelda's puzzling dungeons or be bothered to work stealthily through enemy bunkers in Splinter Cell it is however easy to pick up this game and have a great time.

Many critics say this game doesn't have enough depth and I disagree. With 16 levels and plenty of side missions so should you.

I really would advise anyone and everyone to buy this game. Regardless of who you are and how old you are this game is enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, slow delivery, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Eileen McMurdo "Eileen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
This is a really good game, my son loves it. There are loads of different levels and characters so he will be able to play it for a long time.

It arrived packaged well and was in pristine condition but the delivery did take a while, over 2 weeks which is too long for a Royal Mail delivery so it mist be at the distribution warehouse that the delays are caused.

Nevertheless, it was a really good price compared to other sites so the delay was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great game, 23 Jan 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
Marvel Ultimate Alliance is a good game, i liked how you can construct you 4 man super hero team featuring Captain America,DeadPool,Blade,Iron Man and wolverine and many others, there is around 25 differnt characters you can play as,each with thier unqiue moves and sayings.It definatly has re-playability, especially how you can unlock new superhero's throughout the main game by searching levels or helping other superhero's. Also being able to unlock new fighting moves for you characters and costumes for your superheros such as the old retro one's and the up to date costumes gives the game new levels for replay. Also a great touch is the way that if you do or dont do missions it affects the way the story pans out in the end which is a good touch, this keeps you playing.

The only gripes i found for this game was the fact i was looking for a game where i could stand in front of my tele and use the wii remote to use cool moves, such as maybe thrusting the remote to punch, etc,but in the end your usually end up sitting down playing it just button bashing, which is a bit of a let down. Also the levels are a bit samey, dont get me wrong there are some cool levels such as Askard,carnival and a level underwater, but the rest just seem to be castles,bases and fort's which all look the same and its just like the set's in the levels just repeat over and over.

Overall a great game but the only reasons i gave it 4 stars is just the Wii stick and the levels. I would easily pay 15-20 for this game but no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun game - very enjoyable, 7 Jun 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
I got this game while browsing through the games available for the Wii. I dont like violent games but enjoy action . This game has had alot of work put into it . The graphics are very polished and feels well tested. The amount of characters is very impressive and theres quite a bit of role play throughout .

Very enjoyable game recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 8 April 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
Before I bought this game I was not sure what to expect from it.I did not know if the graphics would be good considering this game is a few years old.I then found out that the graphics are pretty great.The controls take a bit of getting use to but after a while you start to get the hang of things.After you master all the moves the game gets a bit easier,it's fun running around fighting all of the bad guys henchmen but when you get to the boss's you really have to up your game.Each time you get to a boss it's not just a matter of hitting them until they die,you have to find a different way of defeating then instead of just hitting them.Anyway you may think that this game is just about running around fighting bad guys but you also have to solve small puzzles along the way.Overall I think this game is great but I think the price could be lower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Alliance game for Wii, 9 Dec 2012
By 
W. Mcgauchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is excellent.

It has you thinking of what to do and where to go, remembering ways, etc.

Looking forward to any of the next revisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ULTIMATELY not very MARVEL-OUS, 28 Dec 2006
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
We all have a favourite super hero, (or at least a favourite set of super heroes) so the prospect of playing with the likes of Wolverine, the Fantastic 4, Spider-Man, Thor, Captain America etc had me salivating at the prospect. Alas, the much anticpated Wii controls disappoint and ultimately ruin such a promising game, but before I talk about that, lets clear a few things up, starting with the graphics.

Despite being released across current-gen and next-gen systems, Ultimate Alliance looks surprisingly good, although the Wii version is far closer to the PlayStation 2 version than the Xbox 360 game. On the features front the Wii version is actually the runt of the litter, as it lacks the online cooperative play of the other versions, making the four-player mode offline only. You'll often be treated to cutscenes to develop the story, but these can be pretty poor. The game's opening movie looks great, but others throughout the game look very ropey, and appear to be made using in-game assets.

Secondly, the sound; being based on comic book characters the over-the-top voiceover work used in the game fits really well. All the lines are delivered with a straight face, but they're so forced it sounds like you're watching an 80's children's TV show. The voice work combined with some excellent super hero music (if there is such a genre), makes for a brilliant sounding game.

Also, although there are more than 140 Marvel heroes in the game, the actual playable list isn't nearly that big, and comes in at just above 20.

Ultimate Alliance is essentially a fairly simple beat 'em up with some basic RPG elements thrown in. You, and the rest of your four-man team, kick, punch and super power through a series of levels, taking out generic goon after goon, and then tackling bigger boss-like characters (which are particularly good) who are working for Dr. Doom.

Sounds good doesn't it? well unfortunately on the Wii version a lot of the combat now uses gesture controls, while some basic combat can be carried out by simply hammering the 'A' button. There are five gestures (swipe, lift up, push down, prod forwards and shake) and the result is a game that takes a while to get into. On other platforms Ultimate Alliance was a very simple game to pick up and play, and this made the four-player mode great for playing with friends, but the Wii version is a chore to play by comparison. All the more advanced moves and special attacks require a gesture, and considering the amount of enemies you'll face it soon grows tiresome. By contrast, Basic controls like jumping, blocking and character movement are all handled on the Nunchuck, and work well. The Nunchuck also doubles as camera control, with a tilt to the left or the right rotating the camera in that direction. It's not great if you happen to hold the Nunchuck at a slight angle, but it's a clever use of the controller nonetheless. As with most games that have been ported over to the Wii, the motion controls are a decent effort, but simply don't work as well as the standard controls found in the other versions of the game.

If you're a fan of the X-Men Legends games that have appeared over the last few years you'll know what to expect from Marvel: Ultimate Alliance, but on the Wii the simple formula has been tinkered with to the detriment of the game. The new gesture controls simply don't work well enough, and in a game that promotes button bashing the constant use of the Wii-mote is more than a little tedious. Ultimate Alliance is one of the best dungeon crawlers of the year, but don't look to the Wii version for that experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment, 4 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) (Video Game)
I was looking forward to this game, but it just isn't very good. While I realise people aren't looking to the Wii for its graphics, the Ultimate Alliance ones would look dodgy on a Gamecube. They're so indistinct tat it can make getting around or fighting difficult. The combat is repetitive and the control system has been badly mapped onto the Wii controller.

I thought being a marvel fanboy would be enough to make me play through this game, but after one days play i returned it for Zelda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii)
Marvel Ultimate Alliance (Wii) by Activision (Nintendo Wii)
24.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews