Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the making
In the summer of 1984, the world rocked to 'Live Aid' (a hugely successful 'fund-raising' event that was broadcast 'Live' around the world). Many thought that this was the first time that such a daring feat had taken place. Not so!
For some 10 years earlier, on the 14th January 1973, Elvis Presley gave a show at the Honolulu International Centre (in aid of the...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by philly80

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what do I really hate about Aloha From Hawaii?
The fact that amazon have taken all and any reviews about the film and put all of them together.
The people on the reviews are obviously speaking about other versions of the concert as they describe full uncut concerts.
The official information however states quite clearly that certain songs originally broadcast in the live show have been cut because of...
Published 7 months ago by Michael Crowe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in the making, 2 Aug 2004
In the summer of 1984, the world rocked to 'Live Aid' (a hugely successful 'fund-raising' event that was broadcast 'Live' around the world). Many thought that this was the first time that such a daring feat had taken place. Not so!
For some 10 years earlier, on the 14th January 1973, Elvis Presley gave a show at the Honolulu International Centre (in aid of the 'Kui Lee Cancer Fund', that would be beamed around the world, via satelite.
Seen by nearly one and a half BILLION people,the 'Aloha from Hawaii' show was THE Elvis show of the 70's.
Here, finally released on an official DVD, is a 2 disc set that gives accounts of both the the originally aired 'live' show, the rehearsal (shot a day before) and the edited version that aired in the US. some 3 months later (This is the version that was released on VHS in the mid 80's).
Added to this are the additional songs that were added to the US. version - seen here totally uncut, as well as the full footage of Elvis' arrival by helicopter to the Centre (also edited for the US. version).
What does the 'Aloha' release mean to Elvis fans? It means seeing him in his 'finest hour', wearing THAT suit. It's also about when he took off his belt and threw it into the audience at the end of 'An American Trilogy' (as well as his $1000+ cape after 'Can't Help falling In Love'), His mention of Jack Lord (of Hawaii 5-0 fame) sitting in the audience and introducing Charlie Hodge as his general 'flunky' - All the things that have never been seen or heard before (unless you were privilaged to see the original broadcast).
Trust me, whether you watch the dress rehearsal, the original aired version or the US. 'edited' one, you'll be in awe as 'The King' rocks his way through favourites such as C.C Rider, Burning Love and Suspicious Minds. The tribute to Kui Lee (an Hawaiian songwriter who penned 'I'll remember You), and Peggy Lee's 'Fever', are particularly special.
Make no mistake, this DVD release is THE one to own for both Elvis fans, musical historians and lovers of pure entertainment.
There was only one King - There still is!
Long live the King!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the definitive Aloha from Hawaii, 20 Jun 2004
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
2004 will go down into history as one of the years that Elvis fans were spoilt by a stream of remarkable releases. One of the highlights (along with the '68 Comeback DVDs) is definitely the "Elvis, Aloha from Hawaii" Deluxe Edition double DVD-set which assembles about everything connected to Elvis' historical television special in January 1973, at the time beamed throughout the world by satellite.
In fact, this new set brings 3 full length concerts: the rehearsal concert filmed on January 12, the actual concert from two days later, and that same concert as it was edited for the US television broadcast in April 1973. All are finally presented in their complete form and unlike previous home video issues none of the songs are missing.
Soundwise the set is a marvel. The remix is absolutely thrilling, with enhanced clarity and detail, and there is choice between Dolby stereo and Dolby 5.1 - why no DTS? Even though it surpasses all previous video efforts, the image quality is slightly less satisfying, especially in the rehearsal concert where the horizontal bands gliding over the screen bottom to top, are at times still quite visible. The completely re-edited January 14th concert fares a whole lot better, though, with superior lighting and more vibrant color. In matters of picture sharpness we have never seen better either.
As a bonus we get 17 minutes of the raw, uncut "Elvis arrives" sequence, part of which opened the TV broadcast, as well as the five post-concert insert songs, often in different takes. I wonder though if we needed to have disc 1 started with the "Elvis arrives" sequence, as this is material for die hard fans only. (There is an error in my disc as the image jumps after a few minutes to the beginning of the concert).
All in all, a fantastic set, nicely packaged in a three-fold digi-pack and including an informative booklet, which no Elvis aficionado can (or should) live without. Bound to give more than a few hours of listening and watching pleasure. Thanks BMG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha for the last time!, 23 Nov 2006
This review is from: Elvis - Aloha From Hawaii (Special Edition) (1973) [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this is 'The King' in his concert prime making history performing the first worldwide televised via satellite rock concert with over 1.5 Billion people having viewed this classic masterpiece.

If you are a first-time buyer of this version of the show you certainly won't be disappointed. The more avid fans will no doubt have already purchased the two-disc deluxe edition DVD set from a couple of years ago.

But, Sony/BMG/EPE - how many more DVD versions do we really need in our collections??!!

What will it be in a few years time - "Elvis: Aloha From Hawaii...The Ultimate 'Super-Dooper', Re-remastered all-time definitive 4-Disc DVD Box Set"??!!

I love this show, but when you think about it Elvis only performed 2 shows for this special event - the rehearsal on January 12th and this the telecast on the 14th...how many more times can you attempt to re-vamp 2 classic concerts that had already took place nearly 34 years ago.

The 'Elvis Well' appears to be running a little dry...don't try and be creative with something that has already been created!

New fans - enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Elvis DVD I've Ever Watched, 27 Jan 2005
By 
Real Music Fan (Folkestone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Elvis gave this concert in January 1973 just before he began his descent. This is your chance to see Elvis at his best, especially in the rehearsal concert which is also included on this DVD. Having seen the VHS video of the concert a few years ago, I was expecting a grainy picture with the 'montage' effect so typical of Elvis productions in the early 1970's. How wrong I was. The re-mastering of picture and the inclusion of Dolby 5.1 sound is truly amazing (even for a hardened Elvis fan), and it's just like being there in the hall, the picture and sound is so clear. The montage effect (picture within picture) has been almost completely removed, leaving just one clear and sharp picture. The re-mastering of this classic concert is a true tribute to a great star, and anyone watching it will understand why Elvis was called 'The King'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Elvis, 1 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - Aloha From Hawaii (Special Edition) (1973) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the image of Elvis that I have grown up with, on the edge but still brilliant this is a real must for all Elvis fans. He sings many of his classics but also songs he wants to sing he had a true affinity with Hawaii and that's shown on this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Elvis 100% Brilliant, 12 July 2004
Well we've waited long enough for this! Aloha From Hawaii was a ground breaking concert back in '73. Boradcast LIVE around the world form Hawaii. Personally I thought we would of seen this release last year in time for the Aloha 30th anniversary but they kept us waiting. Aloha has been avaliable on VHS and CD for some time now only as the edited US TV version. The US did not get to see the concert live as it coincided with the release of Elvis: On Stage, A film documenting his 1972 Tour. The US version was televised some months later with some extra footage recorded behind closed doors after the concert.
Included on the DVD is the rehearsal concert, released as Alternate Aloha as audio only. Now we get to see this concert in FULL! As satellite technologhy in the 70's was not as advanced as today this rehersal concert was recorded to be screened in the event of a technical faliure with the live event. In this concert we see Elvis in a much more relaxed mood, no pressure. In Aloha he seems more tense at the though of being seen live by around a billion people! Musically the rehearsal seems much looser too with more flamboyance from Ronnie Tutt on the drums and water being thrown at Glenn Hardin the piano player. We also get to see the huge stage show that is Elvis, not just the man himself but his backing singers, the fantastic J.D. Sumner and the Stamps quartet, The Sweet Inspirations female backes, Kathy Westmoreland's High Soprano voice. The Elvis TCB Band James Burton, John Wilkinson, Ron Tutt, Charlie Hodge, Glen Hardin and Jerry Scheff, all fantastic musicians in their own right, AND a full orchestra!
Elvis at his best. Buy it now before its too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's still King!, 8 Dec 2004
By 
P. J. Parker (Bristol, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD set is nothing short of fantastic! From the impressive box and detailed insert to the end of the show. Set of 2 dvds which you just cant stop watching-and watching-and watching. I first saw Aloha from Hawaii as a teenager in the 70s and watched it 3 times in a month-it transfixed me then and it still does. This set is an investment in enjoyment for Elvis fans. Its the way most of us remember him, his beautiful voice, the pantsuits, the white towels, the jokes-everything we all loved about the King. Some of his most beautiful ballads, which I must admit, I preffered, to the rock n roll. A fantastic selection of songs which is sure to add something to your collection-and the joy of watching Elvis perform. What more could you wish for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha from Hawaii via Deluxe!, 14 Sep 2007
The world's first satellite-transmitted musical event, which was also in aid of the fight against cancer, gets a remarkable assembly makeover in this special deluxe compilation of material.

Elvis looks fabulous from the moment he first sets foot out of the helicopter on the beach on January 9th to his final bow on stage of the worldwide telecast concert in the early hours of January 14th. There are also some wonderful goodies on view in between, such as the complete rehearsal show that took place on the evening of January 12th and the specially recorded numbers for the US TV version of the show.

This is such a wonderfully historic occasion and you can bask in the glory of the fantastically remastered sound and picture. Elvis is in fine form as he manages to settle into the proceedings with consummate ease (almost 40 countries were tuned into this!) and his focus is totally on the dramatic repertoire of music. The faithful 'TCB Band' are in attendance backing him to the hilt along with Joe Guercio and his Orchestra.

This is Elvis in his second TV special, his first being almost five years before in the groundbreaking rock 'n' roll revival of the '1968 Comeback Special'. However, "Aloha from Hawaii" is another groundbreaking moment from another time in Elvis' monumental career - a time that saw 'The King' develop as the ultimate polished showman.

A very poignant moment during this concert comes before Elvis' rendition of the late Kui Lee's "I'll Remember You", just after he introduces one of his favourite actors in the audience:

"As you're aware we're going out live and we're doing it for the Kui Lee Cancer drive...they asked us to raise twenty-five thousand dollars, and tonight we have seventy-five thousand...so Thank YOU!"

Magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound will blow your mind!, 12 Mar 2006
Maybe this is not the best Elvis concert, but it's the BEST SOUNDING Elvis concert E V E R!!! Forget BMG/RCA sterile sound on their 1998 cd reissue, this is the real thing. Ronnie Tutt on drums is (first time ever) up front and loud in the mix, together with James Burton on guitar. Sound is perfectly balanced, crystal clear and rich. 10+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what do I really hate about Aloha From Hawaii?, 13 May 2014
The fact that amazon have taken all and any reviews about the film and put all of them together.
The people on the reviews are obviously speaking about other versions of the concert as they describe full uncut concerts.
The official information however states quite clearly that certain songs originally broadcast in the live show have been cut because of contractual issues.
The reviews for Elvis On Tour are as equally confusing.
Until such times as the 'Elvis Bandwagon' and Amazon reviews get their act together so that we the customers know what we are really getting my money is staying in my pocket.
I will most gladly pay for a proper professional uncut copy of both concerts.
Is it just me or does anyone else notice very amatuer and shoddy videos and mp3s starting to creep onto Amazon?
The picture quality is poor. The mp3s are badly recorded by someone using a home stereo.
These cannot be proper professional video or record companies issuing these materials as they have all the signs of youtube home copies.
I bought a Faron Young mp3 a few months back 'Release Me' and it actually has a record scratch and jump noise right at the intro.
All these new covers all of a sudden and Elvis compilations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis - Aloha From Hawaii (Special Edition) (1973) [DVD]
£14.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews