Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2008
I'm not normally that keen on live performance films, but seeing Elvis here has blown me away. The power of the voice, the songs, the sheer passion he pours into it all (especially the finale 'If I can dream') have to be seen to be believed. Elvis looks better than ever throughout. It's as if he's liberated from the dreadful movies/movie soundtracks after all those stifling years, and is singing his heart out again to show the world he still can. Utterly awesome. A great talent.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
what to say about this stunning set of DVDs that hasnt already been said?
This is a must have, not only for Elvis fans, but for any serious fan of music.
over 7 hours of the king - picture quality is superb, as is the sound and sitting through many takes of parts of the show you honestly begin to feel is if you're actually there yourself.
lots of goofing around but also a glimpse into just how hard Elvis worked when he had to, no real tantrums, no primadonna behaviour just a guy determined to get everything just right.
No need to spend youre time and money surfing the net looking for duff copies of this show on bootlegs, this time you get everything, the two sit down shows and the two stand up shows which ive never seen before in their entirety and are my personal favourites.
to cap it all you get 4 versions of 'if I can dream' one of which i think is actually better than the one that was used for the show (Elvis forgets to say 'thank you and goodnight' into the mike rendering the take unusable)
miss this DVD and you ARE missing out
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
This has got to be one of the greatest DVD releases ever - all that unseen footage and all those out-takes that combine to present the development of an historical musical production.

When "Elvis" was first screened in December, 1968 the original broadcast (included on this set) had a total running time of approximately 50 minutes. However, with everything available here on this 3-Disk set it makes you realise that 50-minutes was never going to be enough for this landmark TV Special.

So, whether 'The King' is sitting down, standing up, playing his guitar or not all these performances will fill you with sheer delight - deluxe delight!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a truly remarkable DVD and essential viewing for all Elvis fans and anyone else for that matter, particularly those who have never considered themselves fans. Here the `King' shows why he was and continues to be a global phenomenon: the so-called `sit down' sequences are almost literally electrifying with Elvis reprising some of his early hits dressed in tight black leather and looking the very image of youthful health and vitality and made all the more poignant in the light of what happened less than ten years later. Although the energy of this performance manifests itself only a miniscule notch below the raw power of the earlier years he is here, arguably, at his best in terms of the quality of his singing and the sheer magnetism of his presence. His rendition of the last song, If Can Dream, is truly moving and demonstrates what an actor he could have been if he'd managed to escape from the Colonel's fetters: he makes you truly believe in what he's singing. The bonus is that you can watch each of a succession of takes that director, Steve Binder, obviously - but mysteriously - felt were necessary.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
This is the moment re-connected with a live audience for the first time since 1961. Elvis was clearly shaking at the start, but then you see him smile as he realises he has what it takes and history is made.
The full versions of the stand-up shows are seen for the first time and for me this is more special then the much fabled "jam" sessions.
This is a must have piece of rock 'n' roll history.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This DVD is the one where Elvis shows where his roots are truly from. For every follower of Elvis this is a must to see and own because despite what the critics had said about the King of rock 'n roll this performance of Elvis returning to live shows endorses every fan's belief in their idol.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
If you are only going to buy one Presley DVD this is it. Just like the early Sun recordings.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
This was a fantastic concert, and I am delighted to have it in my collection.

There's not much else to say really, other than see the king doing what he does best in possibly his greatest performance!

With clear audio and picture, there's not much more you could want. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes Elvis at all.

Just adding my voice to the crowd really
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
This is genuinley a musical Master at his best, this is the as good as any musical artist can get. It gives an overall round up of the genuis music of the firat 12 years of Elvis' carrer. It displays the begining of a new Elvis. It is vital to not just Elvis fans but to all interested in music as it was the opening gate of what was to come for modern day music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2006
Yes, it is 'The King' in all his black leather-suited glory ushering in his return to the stage, and television for that matter. If you are a new fan and buying this edition of this landmark TV Special for the first time you will be a bigger fan after viewing this!

Now, no doubt, the avid fans amongst us will already be the owners of the Deluxe 3-disc DVD set from 2004, which features over 7 hours of mostly unreleased material from the taping of the show. So, why do we now have a Single Disc Special Edition? Apparently, the powers that be had left out a number of takes of a particular sequence on the Deluxe set and so they have decided to market this package around that, hence this re-vamped DVD edition.

But how many more DVD 'definitely the ultimate edition' sets we are supposed to buy, we'll never know...

In the end, I suppose it's our decision - to buy or not to buy!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)