Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!
This was Elvis's first live concert for 8 years, played before a small audience of fans and friends. It is a live impromptu gig which shows beyond doubt that Elvis was the greatest raw natural music talent of them all.

From the amazing Lawdy miss Clawdy - to the ripping One Night With You and

great Ballads he holds the audience spellbound. The band...
Published on 1 Oct 2006 by J. Canavan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but .....
I found this as with the Aloha special edition to be cut very short and missing a lot of material but joined with the deluxe edition its a little better, had I of known about the deluxe version I would only have bought that.
Published 15 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 1 Oct 2006
By 
J. Canavan "Die Hard" (Staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Presley - '68 Comeback Special (Special Edition) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This was Elvis's first live concert for 8 years, played before a small audience of fans and friends. It is a live impromptu gig which shows beyond doubt that Elvis was the greatest raw natural music talent of them all.

From the amazing Lawdy miss Clawdy - to the ripping One Night With You and

great Ballads he holds the audience spellbound. The band are all in their with him demonstrating their huge individual talent and havin a great time with the Boss. Magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King of Rock 'n' Roll at his very best, 27 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elvis has never looked or performed better in my opinion than in the 68' Comeback Special. If you loved the sit down performances (my fave parts), then you're in for a treat, the first disc both on show, and they are great!!
You are not going to see the King in a better mood than this. He laughs, jokes through the songs, plays about with the lyrics.
There is just so much on here, and when you get to DISC 3, believe me when they say it's all on there, they mean it. All the incompleted takes, stops and starts. Just a fantastic package.
5 stars easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Genius!, 25 Aug 2004
By 
There is always the stereotype of Elvis in the white jumpsuit however this show was recorded before his Las Vegas years and Elvis never looked better!
This show was recorded after Elvis had finished his movie contracts and he really showed the rest of the world what he was made of.
The first disc shows Elvis' original NBC television special in it's entirety. This has some brilliant songs on it with Trouble/Guitar Man being amongst them.
Later in The disc it shows just the sit down shows with old friends Scottie Moore and DJ Fontana playing an unplugged set and talking to a small intimate audience.
The second disc shows Elvis performing on his own and blasting out some classics.
This really is worth every penny for the show which put Elvis back onto the map. This along with Elvis: That's The Way It Is are the greatest Elvis shows you can buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, 27 Jun 2004
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sensational is the word that comes to mind while browsing through the new "Elvis - The '68 Comeback Special (Deluxe Edition DVD)". This 3-disc set assembles all the footage related to the famous '68 Comeback Special. A great deal of the material shown is released here for the first time in its entirety, or released for the first time pure and simple.
While some parts, delightful as they are, will definitely be for Elvis fans only (the takes and raw components of the production numbers on disc 3), the bulk of this set is essential watching for any rock enthusiast - the two sit-down shows, the two stand-up shows, and the adapted NBC TV special as it was originally aired on December 3, 1968, represent not only some of Elvis's finest moments of his whole career, but are nothing less than some of the most exciting rock gigs ever filmed. Watching these shows now, in great remastered sound (there's choice between Dolby stereo and Dolby 5.1) and unseen picture quality, and realizing that they have been in the vaults for more than 35 years, one can but wonder why it took them so long to release them. In his almost frightful effort to reinvent himself, Elvis continually transcends the limitations of space and time, revealing along the way as only he could what rock 'n' roll is all about - and we have a true classic performance on our hands.
You can now watch some 7 hours of it. Not to be missed.
(In the European issue of this set "It Hurts Me" has been erroneously left out on the Original Broadcast Version of the Comeback Special.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at the peak of his powers, 1 May 2000
Ten years had passed since Elvis had performed live on a regular basis and seven since he had faced an audience at all during which time the music scene had changed so dramatically that he was seen as a has been. However, the evidence all too clear on this video is that this is a man of supreme talent that had been suffocated by Hollywood. Aside from the production numbers the highlights are Elvis dressed in black leather looking as good as anyone can on a small square stage belting out all his most famous songs up until that point. The video version is extended as to what was seen in December 1968 and is a must have video for anyone who likes pop music to see its most important catalyst give us versions of songs such as Jailhouse Rock and Hound Dog with all the energy and rawness that was evident in the originals ten years earlier. In hindsight one forgets the importance of the timing of the special for Elvis career letting the viewer just soak up the charisma bounding of the screen and how on earth can it be that nine years later he was gone. This just maybe was as good as it got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Boss Man, 30 May 2008
By 
Mr. C. M. Humphries (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Presley - '68 Comeback Special (Special Edition) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm not normally that keen on live performance films, but seeing Elvis here has blown me away. The power of the voice, the songs, the sheer passion he pours into it all (especially the finale 'If I can dream') have to be seen to be believed. Elvis looks better than ever throughout. It's as if he's liberated from the dreadful movies/movie soundtracks after all those stifling years, and is singing his heart out again to show the world he still can. Utterly awesome. A great talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the movies.........ELVIS IS BACK!!!, 9 July 2004
Well at long last the 68 Comeback Special is given the royal treatment it so rightly deserves.The picture quality is superb.The sound,while not in DTS,is in either stereo or Dolby Digital 5.1. and is much improved to any VHS release.So should you buy this if you have a previous DVD release?.....oh yes!!Here we have for the first time EVERYTHING,uncut,including all the outtakes,that was captured during the shooting for the TV special.The 2 "sit down" shows where Elvis beats everyone to the MTV Unplugged format by 30 years and in the process gives us some of the most raw and powerfull Rock 'n' Roll you're gonna hear.Joined by his old band members in a little circle with a couple of guitars and the drummer using his sticks on a guitar case they play the music they love.Loose and free Elvis just plain and simply ROCKS.At times when the music takes over him he just can't sit down any longer and lets go with some unscripted movements,guitar in hand singing his god damn heart out.At points in the performance you almost feel the electicity in the room,the very same charge that started Rock 'n' Roll in the first place.But for me it's the 2 "stand up" shows that top this disk set.Alone on stage Elvis here proves he's no has been.He takes his old songs and breathe's new life into them.With a full orchestra and choir offset to the side of the stage,the new arrangements mixed with some of the finest singing he ever did,combine to a powerful and rockin' experience.It's all here,the moves,the look,the voice,the sheer talent.He literally stalks the stage like some kind of Rock 'n'Roll animal that someone just happened to let out!!This is musical dynamite.Also included is the original broadcast version of the 68 Special.This is the only let down on the set.The makers of the DVD "missed out" a whole section with the song "It Hurts Me".This blunder should have been spotted before they released it.Very poor.0 out of 5.When they re-release this set with the mistake corrected are they going to let us punters who bought this version have a replacement disk at a cheaper price??.....No,I didn't think so.But that aside this set captures Elvis at his very best.Watching this for the first time makes you understand that when he wanted to,Elvis really was the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis How He Should Be Remembered, 17 July 2004
By 
S. Bradnam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only now, with the purchase of this DVD, watching Elvis perform to a small intimate, studio audience, ("Unplugged" way before the term was used in the 80's and 90's), do I actually get it....I really do. This man and his music is ELECTRIC...the performance is outstanding. I now understand my parents when they talk about the influence he had on them, and all teenagers at the time.
He looks and sounds great, he plays to his influences (gospel and blues), as well as the classic hits he was famous for, and he performs like a true professional.
I now realise what a great loss he was to the music world. Forget what he became in the 1970's just before he died...this is ELvis as he should, and I'm sure will, be remembered.
A fantastic set, with outakes and all....Very Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 18 Oct 2008
By 
Dr J (United States) - See all my reviews
I grew up in the era of arena rock--if you can pack in ten thousand fans, why not 20, or even 30 thousand? I could never understand why, by the early 80s, so many bands were 'going back to their roots' and playing in small clubs. Well, I had seen the Comeback Special years ago and never appreciated it. Finally, I figured it out: in the big arena, half the time you need binoculars even to see the band and you are just rockin' out with some guy next to you. The band is irrelevant. Well, with the Comeback Special, Elvis nails it--he's the center of attention, and, good grief, he has real charisma that a small audience can *feel*! That's what rock n roll is all about!

More or less, there are three main parts to this show. The first I'll consider is the production numbers. Well, these are all forgettable and really unnecessary. I guess the 'Big Boss Man' number might actually be the prototype for the MTV videos. So, they might be interesting from that perspective.

Let's turn our attention to the 'sit-down' sessions. This is where Elvis really shines. He's sitting with his buddies in a very loose atmosphere. The producer wanted to create on stage what the boys did at their jam sessions--sit around, talk, joke, sing--and it works. It's not the greatest music ever recorded, but it works perfectly for its purpose. It's rough, it's raw, but it's from the heart, and it's cool. Elvis puts on some great performances. NO ONE could sing rockabilly or rhythm and blues like Elvis does in the sit-down sessions. Here, he looks good, he sounds good, and he's at the top of his game. ('Tryin' to Get to You' is an RnB masterpiece!)

Next, there are the 'stand up' sessions. Here, Elvis is alone on stage--to sink or swim on his own. The band is no where to be seen. Elvis paces the stage (a boxing ring without the ropes) like a caged animal. He exudes energy. He's dressed in black, he looks good and he's hungry. HUNGRY. ("It's been a long time, baby"). He cuts into some of his old hits and it's great.

The only problem with his performance, especially in the 'stand-up' segments, is that we already see some of the elements that would become part of the 'cheesy' Elvis of the 70s--a bit of self parody and the huge retinue of band members and back-up singers that took the focus off him. This DVD, ironically, shows the two paths that Elvis could have taken--the 'sit-down' with Elvis as the focal point with a small band and the 'stand-up' with Elvis as an ornament with an army of back up people. Well, he unfortunately chose the latter.

Since this CD set has nearly every scrap of filming for the Special, including mutiple takes, it's really only for the serious Elvis fan. If you just want the final product, get the non-deluxe version.

For a few days in 1968, Elvis was king again. But had this been the '1963 Comeback Special' and had he been able to keep up this level of energy, maybe we would not have needed a British Invasion to reintroduce us to rock n roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Wears Leather, 31 Oct 2008
By 
John Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis Presley - '68 Comeback Special (Special Edition) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Like a cat prowling the stage Elvis was back and on top and once the nerves had gone there was no stopping him. From Guitar Man to If i can Dream and not a bad song or performance inbetween. Elvis was indeed back sadly only for a few more years.

Mr Rochette i suggest you remember it was recorded in 1968 and originally in mono so do your homework before slating something that is historical rather than cutting edge soundwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Presley - '68 Comeback Special (Special Edition) [DVD] [2006]
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews