Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2008
This is a truly amazing box set. The 3 discs are divided into separate categories: Rock, Blues and Live. Although there are some duplicate tracks on Disc 3, (Parisienne Walkway and Empty Rooms for example), it doesn't matter since the live versions are an absolute must, even if it's just for the amazing guitar break in Parisenne Walkway.

Each disc can be listened to in its entirety without feeling anything is missing. But if you listen to all 3 you get a great sense of completeness. There are also a couple of great bluesy tracks with Albert King and Albert Collins.

Gary Moore's version of "Wishing Well" is even better than the original "Free" version. There's not a duff track in this box set. It's a really well-thought out collection of his work. The only thing I can think of that's missing is his version of Roy Buchanan's "The Messiah will come again", but to be truthful, I've always thought Roy's version could never be bettered.

Finally, the sound quality is way above average. In these days of poorly mastered CDs, it's quite a novelty to find a good recording!
11 comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
Nicely presented CD set with good literature, it's a must for all Gary Moore fans.

The quality of the recordings is excellent (re-mastered) ~ lots of bass if you have a decent system.

If you have never listened to any Gary Moore, id definitely recommends this CD set.

Only criticism; The flip design 3 CD case is a little fragile, so just check it over ~ mine was cracked (good old Royal Mail)!
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
i have always loved gary moore. His guitar playing is out of this world. This is a great collection of his work, if you just want a best of, you will not go wrong with this one. Shame it did not include victims of the future, but all in all a great collection. I have never forgot seeing gary moore in 1985 on the run for cover tour, hammersmith odeon 28/9/85. To top the icing on the cake, phil lynott came out for the encore, and played out in the fields, and parisienne walkways with him. It was the one and only time that i saw phil lynott before he died, god bless him, gone but certainly not forgotten.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
I love Gary Moore's music and was not disappointed with this album. It has lots of his really great numbers on it, have played it and played.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
I really like this collection.
Although I knew a couple of Gary Moore tracks before, I didn't realise how much of his stuff was so good.
Definitely good stuff for fans of Eric Clapton and Peter Green, and would also appeal to many hard rock and metal fans.
Being a triple CD it is great value for money.
The first disk is generally what I would call hard rock (parisienne walkways excepted) - with some great melodic elements too.
The second is a bluesy disk - it has really good stuff on it, but for those less inclined towards the blues can feel a bit OD
The third, live recordings, is a good mixture reprising rock and blues (I play it in the car a lot).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
The sad death of Gary Moore inspired me to check out his musical legacy.
I knew of his work from Thin Lizzy. And Parisienne Walkways was a noteable track of his, also featuring Phil Lynott.

This compilation is excellent.

I didn't realise that Gary Moore had such a wealth of truly excellent music to his name. Most of the tracks on this 3 CD set shine out.

His loss is felt by many, I'm sure.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
this is a truly must buy for any kind of rock and roll or blues enthusiast, i have always been a fan of gary moore's music although i hadnt really heard all that much about it and what this cd collection shows is the pure skill, raw talent and versatility that makes this the best cd set i own,
product arived promply as advertised and in good condition, good seller would use them again
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2006
This album is brilliant, a necessity for any Gary Moore fan. Since buying I don't think there is a single person I have not recommended this too. I wasn't even born when half these songs were released and I absolutely love it. Only downside is that it's made me realise I'm never going to be good at playing the ol' 6 string. I can't imagine anyone not liking this album.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This has got to be the best album showing the versatility of Gary Moore ever. I only used to buy his rock albums but now I am blown away by his blues and cannot stop playing the 2nd disc of this 3 disc set.

Would recommend it to everyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
A great 3CD selection of songs charting the career of rock/blues guitar legend Gary Moore.
CD1, includes such gems as, Parisienne Walkways, Out in the fields, Over the hills, Empty Rooms, After the war, Wild Frontier,Shapes of things, and other classics by GM.
CD2, covers the blues work he did, solo as well as the work he did with Albert King and BB King.
CD3,features tracks he did live, solo as well as the live work he did with the likes of PHIL LYNOTT, ALBERT COLLINS and ALBERT KING.
This is a must have 3CD album to grace any rock music fans collection.
Gary Moore a rock/blues guitar legend that will be much missed, RIP Gary - and thanks for the pleasure you brought to rock/blues fans everywhere !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)